1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Zoomplayer & TheaterTek

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by MarkHudds, Apr 2, 2003.

1. MarkHudds

MarkHudds

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4
    I'm new to Zoomplayer and I'm after a bit of advice as to how to get the best picture and SPDIF sound from it.

The 2 Players that I've got available at the moment are PowerDVD XP 4 and the ATI player (came with my AIW 8500DV). From what I can gather, the ATI player is best for picture quality and PowerDVD is better for sound options.

Should I therefore be looking to do a ATI/PowerDVD filter mix in Zoomplayer to get the best performance or is there something else I can get? How do I do this mix/selection :confused:

Second question relates to TheaterTek - has anyone gone from PowerDVD to TheaterTek and seen a massive picture improvement? Also can anyone confirm that TheaterTek can play a DVD from a hard disc by file association with the main VIDEO_TS.IFO?

2. JohnS

JohnS

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +33
    Me!!!

I was never happy with the PQ from my HTPC untill i tried Theatretek. It is a very notceable improvemnt.

3. MarkHudds

MarkHudds

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4
    John,

Have you tried playing a DVD off HD with Theatertek?

4. Donnacha

Donnacha
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3,404
    I moved from PowerDVD 4 to Theatertek - and yes the picture is better. Not massively but better. Besides the aspect ratio control is great cause you can increase images so that they fill the screen exactly and then save all your preferences (video settings, sound and aspect) per disc.

There is a way to play DVDs off your hardrive, but I haven't done it yet. Have a look at the forum in the Theatretek website - there is plenty of discussion on that topic.