Zooming in ?

Discussion in 'Freeview & YouView' started by andymacfly1, Dec 21, 2006.

  1. andymacfly1

    andymacfly1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Right then i have a freeview box (obviously) and every so often (about every 20 minutes) the picture kind of zooms in/gets bigger. Also it only happens to channel 6 (ITV2). Does anybody no what this could be?

    Btw i also have the Tv set to 16:9 (also set to the same on the freeview menu options).

    If it helps it's a Samsung 23" HD Ready. (here it is)
     
  2. clockworks

    clockworks
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    3,573
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    West Country
    Ratings:
    +297
    If it was happenning on all channels, I'd say that it was a dodgy scart cable, switching between 4:3 and 16:9.
    If it's only on one channel, then the chances are it's something wrong with the transmission, not your equipment.
     
  3. andymacfly1

    andymacfly1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Ok thanks for that :)

    Btw this is off topic but, is there a HD Freeview box lol?
     
  4. Richard46

    Richard46
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2000
    Messages:
    1,796
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    London E7 UK
    Ratings:
    +120

    Yes but only testers have got them. :D
     
  5. andymacfly1

    andymacfly1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Awesome! Do you no when they will be released? :thumbsup:
     
  6. Richard46

    Richard46
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2000
    Messages:
    1,796
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    London E7 UK
    Ratings:
    +120
    AFAIK there is no informtion about when or even if Freeview will transmit HD. Best guess is it will not be until after analogue switch off in 2012. More bandwidth will then be available but it may not even be used for HD TV. I hope I am wrong but at the moment there is not even a spec for manufacturers to build to.

    Richard
     
  7. ianh64

    ianh64
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    SW London/Surrey borders
    Ratings:
    +63
    Does it happen during commercials? I find my TV will change the image during ad breaks the back again at the end of the break. This is even though the STB outputs at 16:9. I think I understand why it happens (where is a video line [23?] that is monitored and if blank, the display assumes that a different aspect ratio signal is being received ie 4:3 instead of 16:9) on the and its a minor inconvenience. Its especially annoying when watching F1 on ITV.
     

Share This Page

Loading...