1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Zalman ZM80-HP VGA Heatpipe Cooler

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by ReTrO, Mar 4, 2003.

  1. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    Just installed one of Zalmans ZM80-HP GFX card heatpipe coolers. I can now hear no nosie from my PC at all and the heatpipe seems ok so far, only been running for 5mins.

    Very happy at the moment.

    I am using a GF4 Ti4400 128Mb, also Zalman flower (with Zalman 92mm fan) on an AMD Athlon XP2000+, Seagate Barracuda IV 80Gb HDD, generic 350W Aopen ATX+12V PSU and 2 case fans directed at GFX and other PCI cards (both 80mm, one QuietPC and one Papst).

    The noiseist part of my PC is now the Pioneer DVD-Rom drive (106S).

    I am happy.:clap: :smashin:
     
  2. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    I've found the noiseist part of my PC to actually be the PSU when it's running after a while, the fan can be quite a noisey sod. Not loud by any means, probably under 23dB or somewhere like that.

    Just have to get my off-board PSU built, and put in a nice quiet 80mm Papst fan.

    Does anyone have a link for suppliers of the trailer/caravan power/light connection plugs and sockets?

    I'll nip into Halfords tomorrow and have a look.
     
  3. Zig

    Zig
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Halfords or Motorworld etc. should sort you out ok. Normal lighting sockets and plugs are 7 pole, is this enough for you?
     
  4. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    I'll probably have to use 2 of the caravan type if I go that way. If there's enough room.

    I've enquired on the Naim forum about the sockets they use on the NAP 500. They look ideal.

    Any other suggestions welcome.:smashin:
     
  5. Zig

    Zig
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can supply you with a normal socket and plug if you want, save you a few quid. If you need to use two I would suggest you use the aux. type socket used to feed power to the Caravan for fridge etc. as these are a different colour and pin configuration which will ensure you don't plug in the wrong lead. I think I may have a plug somewhere but not a socket.
     
  6. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    I may take you up on that offer.

    I'm hoping to either fit all the neccessary connection down one lead, or if down two split them into the ATX MB connection and the AUX power connections.

    Hoping the Naim connections come good.
     
  7. nutcase_1uk

    nutcase_1uk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    479
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Essex, unfortunately
    Ratings:
    +3
    What about a multiway plug/socket combo from Farnell or RS? They both supply the publicm and the range is massive! You'd probably be better off gettign one which has solder terminals, as teh crimp tool scan be rather expensive.
     
  8. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    I've ordered a 26 pin connector from RS, not cheap but very good build and will do the job. Each pin can take 7.5Amps, so power handling is not a problem.

    Crimping and soldering is not a problem. A lot of these crimp types you can crush on with a pair of pliars and then solder onto.
     
  9. nutcase_1uk

    nutcase_1uk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    479
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Essex, unfortunately
    Ratings:
    +3
    Cor! Don't let the ppl at work see that :D They might start bodging too :p

    Should be ok, if you're careful and don't crush them too much.
     
  10. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    I think the crimp tool for this plug is £110.

    I'll definately be soldering!:D
     
  11. nutcase_1uk

    nutcase_1uk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    479
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Essex, unfortunately
    Ratings:
    +3
    Which one is it? We might have the tool at work, and if you asked nicely and it was practical, to do so, I could run off your needs :)
     
  12. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
  13. nutcase_1uk

    nutcase_1uk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    479
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Essex, unfortunately
    Ratings:
    +3
    Blimey, MILSPEC! You thinking of going to war with it? :D

    I'm pretty sure we do use those connectors for our emergency stop line outputs, so you might be in luck. Send me a PM with your email address and we can go through exactly what you're trying to achieve, and I'll see if it's practical for me to sort something. No promises tho' :)
     
  14. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    You've seen the industrial build quality of Naim gear, built like a very nice black tank! And what with war due on the 11th I just had to be extra safe.

    It's going to be a 2m long 26core cable using the 20AWG (I think that's the largest) crimps. Male to female. At each end, on the PSU and PC case will be a socket, male PC end and female PSU end (for safety reasons). I'll have to crimp these myself at least.

    :clap:
     
  15. nutcase_1uk

    nutcase_1uk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    479
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Essex, unfortunately
    Ratings:
    +3
    You don't fancy posting me an entire PSU then? :D Sounds ok. What's happening on the inside of the PC case? Would you need the drive plugs and motherboard power plug rewired? Again, we use theose crimps, so no probs if you'd like that done too.

    Probably best to go over to emails before someone else wants something done too :)
     
  16. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    I'm going to wire the HDD power leads etc. and the MB power leads into the male socket on the back of the PC. Shouldn't be too hard to do.

    Gonna be fun.
     
  17. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    My plugs and sockets were delivered on thurdsay at 12:30 lunchtime. They were signed for by someone, but not at my halls.

    I wonder who has got them? It's not me.

    I checked with the staff at the halls who accept parcels etc for us students, none of them took it in. Securicors parcel tracking site is down at the moment so I can't check who signed for it. I'll be contacting them to see where it was actually delivered to.

    Aaaargh!:mad: :confused: :(
     
  18. nutcase_1uk

    nutcase_1uk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    479
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Essex, unfortunately
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hmm, that's not good :( Hope you find it ok.
     
  19. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    Very good news!

    The package was delivered to my Uni along with all their RS orders. It arrived at the halls today having been sent on by them.

    Very small plugs they are, good build quality though, just gotta wait for some pins to arrive this week now. Hope they come straight here.
     
  20. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    I've got pins for the plugs now, and I thought I'd best order a extractor tool also. Well worth it!

    I'll start messing around with all the bits at easter when I've got some time.

    Will update when I have more news.
     

Share This Page

Loading...