Z3 Picture Quality

C

CyberJockey

Just recieved my Z3 on Friday - firstly thankyou to everyone for their recommendation - it was a great deal and I am really happy with it.

As a Newbie, I have a couple of questions:

I am really happy with the picture quality playing DVDs through my existing Sony player. However, through the threads their is a lot of discussion around enhanced picture quality with progressive scan DVD players and ones with HDMI out put (the Samsung 850 seems a potential good buy). I know it's a tough question, but how much improvement would I see?

PS2 Connection. I have also connected my PS through the standard connectors provided. Again the picture quality is good, but I notice some blurring or colour bleeding, especially around stationary icons e.g. the country flags on Pro Evolution Soccer. I have tweaked some of the settings and have improved this slightly. However, I anyone out there has any tips, I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks

You would be far better building yourself a home theater pc, the quality you can get from a pc is amazing and can only be rivaled by the most expensive dvd players, you can knock a shuttle system together for about 350 quid and use it to play all your media (windows media center edition is a very good front end). As far as the ps2 is concerned for the best image you need to get a ps2 component lead (about 10 quid from ebay)

I use the smasung hd850 with my Z3 and the picture is very good via HDMI and upscaled to 720p.
I also use the ps2 via component leads and again the picture is way better that with standard composite leads.
I also use colour filters on the Z3 to remove the blue from the blacks and this makes a big difference.

Thanks Gingerone & Fallwood - I will try the PS2 Component leads. Do you have any tips on the settings, or shall I leave them pretty much as standard?