1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Z2 On Component , Not Great !

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by PATRICKDORAN, Feb 16, 2004.

  1. PATRICKDORAN

    PATRICKDORAN
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I recently bought a sanyo z2 and had it projecting a 6ft image from 10ft away , but the pic quality wasnt great , i even tried the award winning supra component lead , and it didnt improve much
    also i had to watch two towers on ntsc to get a picture ,
    any ideas ?
    please , im really thinkn of sendin it back !
     
  2. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    Are you feeding progressive or interlaced? ... the Z2's de-interlacer in the Z2 is pretty mediocre IMX.

    What do you mean by "I had to watch two towers on ntsc" .. I have both PAL and NTSC versions and the Z2 is fine on both.
     
  3. PATRICKDORAN

    PATRICKDORAN
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for replying
    im not sure think but think its progressive ,
    how do i check ?
    im using a toshiba sd43 home cinema ,
    for me to watch the two towers i have to change the setting on my dvd player to ntsc , on pal the screen constantly scrolls
    and it is a uk pal disc ?????

    sorri , im new to projectors
    :confused: :confused: :confused:
     
  4. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    if it was prog scan its likely the dvd player would have that plastered all over it. I have the feeling you may well be doing interlaced (i could be wrong of course). The internal procesing of the Z2 does leave something to be desired, but its a budget machine so its not what you could call awful.

    can you try another player? I could suggest a few things but without being able to try some other machine they wont be much good

    ad
     
  5. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    Hey, don't apologise .. it's hard to know the level of knowledge a new poster has, either one can reply in words of one syllable and risk talking down, or else one can use a bit of jargon and wait for the questioner to look bemused. :D

    Your having to set the DVD to NTSC in order to play a PAL DVD is most odd ... do you have to do this for all your DVDs?

    Unfortunately I don't know the SD43's specs, but if it can't sync to the DVD player when the player is set for PAL it seems to imply it's expecting NTSC.

    What sort of connection do you have between the player and the screen/whatever ... I presumed component before, which wasn't a good thing to do ... are you using component, or perhaps s-video?
     
  6. PATRICKDORAN

    PATRICKDORAN
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for the replys ,
    i hav'nt tried it on another player , unfortunatley ive sent the projector bak as i wasnt that happy with the picture having
    fiddled lots with the picture,
    but i would consider getttin it bak if i thought i cud improve the picture , i original sent a hitachi pjtx10
    bak as they told me the pic with the z2 wud b much better , but the picture was better on the hitachi if a little more pixely ?
    the dvd player is multi region but still don think that xplains why ?
    i have a standard component to component vivanco lead connecting the dvd to the pj .
    thanks again
     
  7. net_team1

    net_team1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    AFAIK the Toshiba SD43 isn't a progressive scan machine,does have component connections though, if this is of any help?
     
  8. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    did the dvd player work ok format wise with the hitachi?

    ad
     
  9. PATRICKDORAN

    PATRICKDORAN
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah thanks buns , it worked fine , very strange ,
    mayb the projectors is american ?? wud it make a difference
    bought it from nexnix..co.uk
     
  10. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    In the unlikely event that is was a US model, it shouldn't make any difference. It's definitely an €U/UK model anyway - Nexnix.

    I'd suspect a player problem/setting or settings on the Z2 are at fault.

    :smoke:
     
  11. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    ditto to kramer, i cant think what settings it could be that are the problem though.....

    ad
     
  12. Quatermass

    Quatermass
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Gamma?

    Do you think pq is poor because picture is too dark?

    Scrolling thing sounds like a player problem - but it worked ok with the hitachi :zonked:
     

Share This Page

Loading...