1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Z2 colorfacts calibration

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by buns, Dec 12, 2003.

  1. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
  2. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes indeed.

    Certainly not "whisper" quiet as claimed.

    It was bound to be :)

    Come on Ad, get stuck in & tweak it to within an inch of its life (or a HS10 :p ).

    BTW, haven't read how yours is with VB/FPN?

    :smoke:
     
  3. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Good news, but what "side effects" does eliminating this have? eg. reducing/increasing panel voltage/gain/bias may result in dire grey scale tracking (impossible perhaps?).

    As you say, the settings interact so maybe with the VB/FPN "tweaked", accurate calibration may be impossible?

    Why else would Sanyo, Panasonic & Epson release these PJs with noticeable banding if it's just a setup issue?

    If the banding is (as I believe) a panel issue, you may just be masking the problem rather than curing it & causing more problems in the process.

    Good work though, look forward to an update later :)
     
  4. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    Mine shows no VB that I've seen yet, either watching video or using Avia ... I'm not sure what FPN looks like but I don't think I've seen it. :)

    This is out-of-the-box, the only calibration I've done is Avia .. I wouldn't know how to get into the magical 'service menu' anyway. :D
     
  5. WeirdFish

    WeirdFish
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    881
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hadleigh, Essex
    Ratings:
    +15
    As a newcomer to the world of PJ's I'm interested to read all these different deficiencies in PQ. To me I'm so pleased with the 6ft picture I now have.

    I realise its because I'm new to it and I'm sure a year down the line I'll be pulling the latest PJ apart, but I leaves me wondering, if the Z2 is so bad what were the previous PJ's like :eek:

    BTW I'm not critising the 'tweaking', I'm very interested in it. Although a little scared of touching settings yet :blush:
     
  6. Gary Lightfoot

    Gary Lightfoot
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    12,424
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Surrey. UK.
    Ratings:
    +2,091
    Buns,

    would a filter help with the red? I think the FLD filter helps to reduce green and blue, so that should bring the red to within a similar range. Calibrating may be easier then, and as the iris only changes light output, you can open it a little to get the lumens back.

    Does that sound like a fix? I believe many other LCDs get better results with filters, and it can also improve contrast. I read a review by Guy Kuo who did a similar thing with his HT1000, so it's not just LCDs that can benefit from a filter equalising the colours.

    Gary.
     
  7. HappyLad

    HappyLad
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Errr. sorry for being a bit dumb....
    But what is FPN ???
     
  8. homethx

    homethx
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2002
    Messages:
    728
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +78
    Fixed Pattern Noise
     
  9. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    AV talk . co . uk
     
  10. HappyLad

    HappyLad
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    So, is this what is sometimes called "scan lines" - horizontal lines in area of solid colours, usually during vertical pans.
    Or the "digital shimmer" of pixel noise, again in large area of solid or very similar colour
    :confused:
     
  11. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    for ref..... i can easily get horizontal lines......

    I have been through all settings which im told specifically relate to red, none of them help me above 50 IRE...... further phone call to sanyo may be in order :D

    ad
     
  12. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    increasingly liking the idea of an alternative solution..... I just cant shift this red at high IRE values....

    ad
     
  13. Gary Lightfoot

    Gary Lightfoot
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    12,424
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Surrey. UK.
    Ratings:
    +2,091
    What kind of alternative? Filter maybe or is that going the wrong direction?

    Gary.
     
  14. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    I dunno...... what i do know is that i reallly shouldnt be up this late! :eek:

    AVS ers assured me that the red thing was all easy sorted...... certainly in my case it definitely is not. I was expecting to tweak half a dozen settings by half a dozen values..... it seems that I need to be changing twice that many and i could be altering them by upwards of 50 points..... i must be doing something wrong

    ad
     
  15. Gary Lightfoot

    Gary Lightfoot
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    12,424
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Surrey. UK.
    Ratings:
    +2,091
    lol, well, lateness is a sign of a tweaker. I'm messing with TMPGenc setings as we speak. I shouldn't be up this late either!

    Maybe you aught to get to bed and make a fresh start tomorrow, that sometimes helps.

    Gary.
     
  16. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    unfortunately the moring has not brought new life...... I will categorically state that I cannot get the red correct using any settings in user or up to 24 in the service...... so either that means that the rendition in general is pretty bad, or im unlucky!

    and before everyone chines in that their is ok...... i would have said the same but my colorimeter tells me different.

    phone call to sanyo this morning!

    ad
     
  17. Quatermass

    Quatermass
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmm, I was wondering if the "red shift" is built in on the grounds that your average punter prefers a "warmer" picture.....
     
  18. chris l.

    chris l.
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Messages:
    270
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    I always go back to the test / tuning undertaken by cine4home.de

    http://translate.google.com/transla...ch?q=cine4home+de&hl=en&lr=&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8

    They nearly got it perfect but it was the blue deviation that they could not get to grips with in the end, but they got fairly close.

    They now offer a mail order calibration service for the Z2 in partnership with projektor-tuning.de

    http://216.239.37.104/translate_c?h...ch?q=cine4home+de&hl=en&lr=&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8

    Ok they set the Z2 to optimum based on their kit and so it does not take account of everyone’s individual DVD source etc, but it shows that the Z2 can be tuned to near perfection, with the right kit.

    Chris
     
  19. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    well i would like to know how exactly they did it

    the best yet that I have achieved I attach..... note the red at the end which I cant shift

    ad
     

    Attached Files:

  20. Gary Lightfoot

    Gary Lightfoot
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    12,424
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Surrey. UK.
    Ratings:
    +2,091
    I see what you mean. A filter will bring the green and blue down, so I think that for about £25, that has got to be worth a try at least.

    Have you spoken with Sanyo yet?

    Gary
     
  21. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    sanyo dont work at weekends..... :eek:

    of further interest..... i can get things not so bad by using the service menu using 7-9...... but as soon as i move to another menu other than 7-9 or out of nmenus totally..... it all changes! :eek: yet the settings are all the same..... see attached as proof!
     

    Attached Files:

  22. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    and before i switched out of the service mode...... but identially the same settings....
     

    Attached Files:

  23. Gary Lightfoot

    Gary Lightfoot
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    12,424
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Surrey. UK.
    Ratings:
    +2,091
    Got a gun? ;)

    Gary.
     
  24. Quatermass

    Quatermass
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Interesting graphs Buns. Red goes a different way to what I thought i.e. less not more (if I am interpretating them correctly!).

    Noticed that the German site talked about calibrating the entire signal chain including the dvd player– wondered therefore if it could be your dvd player that is helping to push the red readings out?
     
  25. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    it is different to i had thought it would be too...... but there you have it!

    my dvd player shouldnt be the problem...... it is very well respected and i know it isnt the pc because i have been fiddling. anyhow..... im looking into different ways of calibrating.....

    ad
     
  26. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    gf is over and we decided to watch a film..... for once it wasnt my gf who distracted me!

    I had set it to one of the user presets with service as i got it...... eek is the only thing i can say! Needs serious tweaking!!!!!

    ad
     
  27. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well what are you waiting for? Get "stuck in" :p

    Kramer wonders if having Colourfacts is a good thing or a bad thing for Buns :)
     
  28. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    Well..... im learning alot..... for instance I know that the Z2 reds are a relative weakness, I have been told that my findings confirm the Z2 clips its reds quite easily.

    Though all said..... I have had it for 3 days and I have clocked up about 15 hours and only 2 are from watching software! :eek:

    anyhow..... Im going to go and eliminate problems down the chain (scoped pc settings etc) and have another blast. I had the red up acceptably at 30 and 100 IRE but raised dramatically in between.... I figure this is a good thing and I can get it right with gamma fiddling.

    wish me luck!

    ad
     
  29. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    wohoo..... it now looks as good as i expected out of the box! :D
     

    Attached Files:

  30. WeirdFish

    WeirdFish
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    881
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hadleigh, Essex
    Ratings:
    +15
    At last! Shame the Z2 is now out of date.......;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...