1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Z2 & 10m DVI cable

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by scooter, Feb 4, 2004.

  1. scooter

    scooter
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    183
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Leics
    Ratings:
    +66
    Just thought I'd share with you my experiences with trying to get a long (10m) DVI cable that worked with my Z2.

    First off I tried a generic one but that was totally unwatchable - but at least I got a visible picture.

    I therefore decided to gamble on one of the expensive ones, considered the bettercable design but I think I remembered zAndy1 having problems a while back. Did a web search for dvi cables & discovered Cobalt Cables in the US, anyway long story short took the plunge & ordered last week.

    Well arrived today - 1st impressions was that this was a big diameter cable for DVI-D only (dual link) & so flexibility is a bit of an issue (I had to move the rear PJ mount support off centre to accomodate). Fingers crossed, fired up the PC & selected 1280x720, WOW is all I can say (compared to component out non-prog from Pio 515). This cable is a winner, no picture drop-outs what so ever. I can thoroughly recommend them - email response to queries was next day. They also have money back guarantee, so you just pay shipping. But from my experience you won't be sending it back.:D

    link here..
    http://www.cobaltcable.com/product/dvi_cable.htm?source=adwords

    There is a 10% off coupon deal too !

    BTW, this was my first attempt at HCPC, thanks to those that struggled with getting 1:1 mapping working:smashin:. For info I used the Rage 3D tweaker to add 1280x720, set Z2 to HDCP (AV) & everything hooked up like clockwork :clap:
     
  2. HEADRAT

    HEADRAT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2002
    Messages:
    219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +9
    I tried a 10m DVI from Lindy and it was useless, sent it back..

    HEADRAT
     
  3. PATRICKDORAN

    PATRICKDORAN
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi ,
    ive jus bought a z2 , am using a vivanco component lead , but wud like to improve the pic , have u a filter over your lens ?
    how did u connect the dvi , im using a toshiba home cinema
    with component outs but how wud i connect a dvi ?
     
  4. JohnWH

    JohnWH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    St Albans
    Ratings:
    +82
    10m Lindy worked perfectly for me...

    John.
     
  5. scooter

    scooter
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    183
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Leics
    Ratings:
    +66
    Headrat, if you can't re-arrange your set-up to get a shorter cable run I thoroughly recommend this cable, well worth the investment.

    PATRICKDORAN, I don't have a lens filter. I was using component but the 1:1 pixel mapping is far better in my view. Though with this route you would need to change your dvd player equiped with dvi out (there is a new samsung model available in UK, others by import from EU, quite a bit of info if you use the search facility), or go the HCPC route which I did. Initially more expensive but I have the option of adding feature. For example I plan to add a TV capture card when funds allow to watch off-air as well as dvd source material.

    JohnWH, the z2 seems to be more fussy than most with the signal strength, I have read of others having issues with 10m dvi runs. All other PJs seem to be ok with the Lindy cable from what I have read in the past.
     
  6. uczmeg

    uczmeg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,151
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +45
    I tried three sources and three projectors with a 10m Lindy. One being a Z2.

    The Z2 was the only projector to produce sparklies.

    This was rectified with a shorter cable.

    Cheers
    Marc
     
  7. Adrenochrome

    Adrenochrome
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    8,761
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Babel Sensurround
    Ratings:
    +207
    Had you tried an ae500?

    Adrenochrome.
     
  8. uczmeg

    uczmeg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,151
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +45
    Sorry, no.

    LPX500 (TW100 clone), Z2 and HT1000.

    If you are worried there are more expensive cables (Bettercables?) that promise longer runs.

    Cheers
    Marc
     
  9. Adrenochrome

    Adrenochrome
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    8,761
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Babel Sensurround
    Ratings:
    +207
    Thanks Marc

    Adrenochrome.
     
  10. cj

    cj
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,457
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +74
    I also bought a 10m Dual Link DVI from Cobalt and am extremely happy both with their service and the cable. Would definitely use them again.
     

Share This Page

Loading...