1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Z1 v Z2 demo - first impressions

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by saturday, Nov 25, 2003.

1. saturday

saturday
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Had a demo today.

I'm still wavering on which pj to buy for my first hc experience. On price and reviews the Z1 is looking best but now there is the Z2 to consider! To help me choose, I had a demo of both today. As you will see, I'm no expert and I don't know whether the following will add anything to other posts on the forum but here are my views:

The demo room was good and dark with the projectors set up 14' from the (110") screen. Seating was about 12' from the screen (pj on a stand just behind the seating). This is pretty close to my room size. I think the DVD player was a Denon and it was connected via component. Both pjs were out of the box (default settings).

First up the Z1. At this seating position I think I was too close to the screen for this projector. Screendoor definately apparent. Not terrible but too much for me - slightly defocussing certainly helped. Colours were good, if a little warm. Contrast was good. Brightness was good too even on low bulb setting. All in all a very watchable picture. Fan noise from just behind my head was a little louder than I would have liked. Moving to stand behind the pj improved things greatly. Screendoor disappeared. I did notice though that there was quite a lot of light spill out of the back of the projector. If it was on a low table in front of the seating position I wonder whether this would be annoying.