Z1 connections (danger NOOB warning)

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Pete Delaney, Feb 27, 2004.

1. Pete Delaney

Pete Delaney

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Guys I was not sure if I should post in the cables section or here. As I am asking specifically regarding this model I thought I would start here.....So bearing in mind I am a pj NOOB any suggestions with prices/links would be HUGHLY appreciated. PS don't assume I will understand all the lingo so please keep it simple!

Firstly, I will be watching DVDs with pj table mounted about 10 ft from screen. What cable should I use for best piccy quality? At the moment all I have is a long svid connection which is about 5m long and cost around £20. DVD player (pioneer 525) is located below where the screen will be.

Secondly, will I need filters? If so why, how much and where from?

Finally, I have a PC sitting only 4m from where the pj will be and 4m from my receiver/dvd. The sanyo does not have dvi input but it does have a computer input. Will I get the best pics running from my Athlonxp2600 with Geforce4 TI4200? If so why, and where could I get a cable long enough? I have read a bit on HCPC and 1:1 mapping but I don't really understand it. My sound card is an Audigy 2, could I run 5.1 sound into my sony strdb930 with it and if so how?

Thanks in advance for your patience and I apologise for the barrage of questions, I hope some of you are up for this challenge:blush:

Regards
    Pete:smoke:

2. KraGorn

KraGorn

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +27
    I don't have a Z1 so don't know for sure what connections it has, but in general these are the connection types in descending order of quality (excluding DVI which you say you don't have):

Component/RGB - progressive ideally
    S-video
    Composite

A PC connected via the VGA port is RGB. A 5m VGA cable is perfectly do-able at high quality and not too expensive.