1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

yuv,vga or scaler for samsung lcd tv

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by thering, Jul 4, 2005.

1. thering

thering

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

bear with me i have a lot of knowledge on home cinema and pcs but none on scalers so for once im a newbie.

I have a samsung dvd player which has prog scan output via component leads, in samsungs infinite wisdom my new samsung lcd tv has only a dvi-d input.

so no link there, ive seen leads for component to vga (pc currently link via this) but take it these arent worth anything.

so question is is the quality from a dvd player using prog scan that much improved over a good quality scart lead and if there is an improvement in quality is it worth the cost of purchasing a scaler to handle this input and output via dvi-d (keene electronics have a couple). if the scaler is worth the money would it improve the signal from my freeview box (stable signal) as opposed to using the direct scart option,(as their blurb states it does)

any help would be appreciated as im starting to get a migraine :clap:

dvd is http33
    lcd tv is le32a41b
    media center built around dvine 4

2. Welwynnick

Welwynnick

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +837
    Hi thering,

So you have a de-interlacer in your DVD player, a de-interlacer in your LCD TV, and you are now thinking about getting a de-interlacer in a scaler as well. It may be the best way to get the best picture, but it does seem like a waste of resources. I could never really understand why DVD players had de-interlacers, as that is the function that need to be done at the display, as there are usually several other interlaced sourced that need to be converted. Ah well, can't change the world, and your situation isn't atypical.