1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

YUV to VGA cable query

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by GAmbrose, Jul 16, 2003.

  1. GAmbrose

    GAmbrose
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    Messages:
    836
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +76
    I just purchased a 3 Phone to VGA cable from Lektropacks. Not sure If I have been conned or not.

    I was expecting to recieve this:
    http://www.lektropacks.co.uk/dept.asp?Hash=611&dept_id=32
    (Search code: SS15D3P)

    Which shows a rather funky purple cable with metal interconnects and 15 pins in the VGA plug.

    What they actually sent me was this:

    [​IMG]

    Note the cheap plastic connections and only 6 pins on the vga plug.

    Is it suitable for high quality YUV -> VGA? Should it not have the full 15 pins?

    Regards
    Gary A
     
  2. dazzer123

    dazzer123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Messages:
    400
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Stoke-On-Trent
    Ratings:
    +3
    I considered ordering one of those but I wont now what a shower I would be sending those right back mate.
     
  3. GAmbrose

    GAmbrose
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    Messages:
    836
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +76
    Thats what I'm thinking.

    But often you don't actually need all the pins, just wondered if their were any experts here who would know if a YUV -> VGA cable would usually make use of all 15 pins?

    Gary A
     
  4. EffTee

    EffTee
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    196
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +5
    A bit off-topic, but I don't use these lot any more. My last order involved them emailing all my personal details, credit card info (including the 3 digit validation code), address, etc around the internet for all to see. They blamed their order processing company, never gave me an apology or offered me any compensation. I had to cancel the card on advice from the card company.

    Was very unimpressed!

    EffTee
     
  5. jmack

    jmack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    vandamme vga leads only have 14 pins ,john sim did explain them all to me once but dammed if i can remember.
     
  6. GAmbrose

    GAmbrose
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    Messages:
    836
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +76
    They were quick, and the 3x phono to 3x phono YUV cable they sent me does appear to be high quality.

    But that VGA thing just looks shoddy to me. Funnily enough the T&C's on their invoice say:

    "Unless otherwise confirmed. Nothing in our catalogue or advertising is to be taken as a representation of the source or original manufacture of production of the goods or any part thereof."

    Gary A
     
  7. GAmbrose

    GAmbrose
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    Messages:
    836
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +76
    Aha:

    http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=59074&highlight=VGA+pin

    "You don't need all 15, infact soldering all 15 is just about impossible !

    RGB HV and their grounds are all you need. The plug and play data pins (monitor ID bits) are not usually needed for a projector, infact maybe best left out, unless you want windows to take control of refresh rates etc when it finds the projector, IMHO."

    Whats HV stand for?

    Gary A
     
  8. vonhosen

    vonhosen
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,835
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +13
    Horizontal & Vertical
     
  9. GAmbrose

    GAmbrose
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    Messages:
    836
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +76
    Which this doesn't have wired up.

    It's going back then.

    Gary A
     
  10. vonhosen

    vonhosen
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,835
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +13
    It's not a RGB cable though :confused: so H&V are not going to come into it.

    It's YUV to VGA (giving YUV output out through VGA (not RGB output). The cable doesn't convert the signal)

    The problem that causes is that if you have a panel like Panny 5 the VGA only accepts RGB thru VGA in (So this cable would not work)

    But a Panny 6 has a configurable VGA in for either YUV or RGB so it would be OK

    I think that's right.
     
  11. dazzer123

    dazzer123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Messages:
    400
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Stoke-On-Trent
    Ratings:
    +3
    Well gambrose the cable they seem to have sent you look's no better than the one supplied with a product i recently bought and i was considering getting one from lektropaks to replace it, based on the picture on thier website well wot u see certainly is not wot u get i suppose van damme it shall have to be.
     
  12. rsamdal

    rsamdal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Messages:
    43
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Norway
    Ratings:
    +0
    Supra have a cable that might be better.
    I got this one from Eltek in Norway today.

    [​IMG]


    Roger
     
  13. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    I was looking at that cable a few months ago. They told me they had a problem and it wasn't available yet. You only need 6 pins wired for YUV by definition, that's how many connectors there are in the plugs at the other end! As to cheap'n nasty well I'd have to agree! But as you say their other stuff is good, some of it very good. I've used them a lot, but always phoned my order.... Lucky me by the looks of things! Never had any trouble from them, quite the reverse, even the women on the phones know the products completely.


    BTW that supra cable is RGB not YUV!!!!! Will not do the job, different pins will be wired. Vandamme here we go then.

    ...except they don't seem to list one either. What I'd do is get that one copied by a specialist cable maker, I know of one in New Malden, maybe if you put it about here what you are doing, we could all have one and buy you a beer or two, to help pay for the original?
     
  14. rsamdal

    rsamdal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Messages:
    43
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Norway
    Ratings:
    +0
    >BTW that supra cable is RGB not YUV!!!!! Will not do the job,
    >different pins will be wired. Vandamme here we go then.

    The label on the package is saying VGA to 3 RCA
    Component Video Interconnect Cable.

    This is the pin config for the Supra VGA to 3 RCA:
    Red wire to VGA pin 1 (pin 6 GND)
    Green wire to VGA Pin 2 (pin 7 GND)
    Blue wire to VGA Pin 3 (pin 8 GND


    If it turns out the pin configuration is wrong, I'll have to find my solder iron then :)


    Roger
     
  15. rsamdal

    rsamdal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Messages:
    43
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Norway
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've just checked the Supra catalogue.
    The VGA to 3 RCA is listed as a "Component Video" cable.
    Other cables are listed as "RGB + Sync" and "RGB + V/H Sync"

    Check out: http://www.jenving.se/image/cat01-02.pdf
    Page 22

    Roger
     
  16. GAmbrose

    GAmbrose
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    Messages:
    836
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +76
    I kept it in the end, it actually works fine and gives a stunning picture.

    It just looks tacky.

    Gary A
     
  17. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    24,426
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,593
    Hello Gary

    There's no way of knowing if the cable you've had delivered is in any way degrading your signal - it sure doesn't look like the cable on the web site; and certainly looks more like the sort of 'freebie' the manufacturers tend to supply..

    We supply VanDamme, Supra and BetterCables - all three of whom offer 3RCA or 3BNC to HD15 wired for YUV.

    The cables used by these manufacturers only have three or possibly four lines so all 15 pins on the HD15 will never be wired.

    Personally I'd send that one back and ask for something of similar quality to the RCA cable you've received.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  18. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    You'll find that whether a cable is wired for YUV, RGB, RGBHV or any other type of RGB and sync - the red, green and blue connections will always be the same so any of these cables will work for YUV.
     

Share This Page

Loading...