1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

yummy yammy

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by shodan, Oct 23, 2002.

  1. shodan

    shodan
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    10,308
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    shoeburyness
    Ratings:
    +4,691
    Hi all,

    So, I have had my RX-V730RDS for a few days now and what can I say... WOW-FLIPPING-WEE!!!!!!!!!!!

    Now please bare in mind that my real forum name should probably be Budget Boy ( I like that idea....) so this is like the most expensive thing I have ever bought!!!!!

    Before this I had the RX-V595a which I thought was pretty good in it's range but the new one just blows it away!!! Seperation, sound quality, power, features, looks (ahem), remote control (universal), user freindly.. The list just goes on and on and it only took me about 30 mins to plug it all in and get it set up!!!.

    So I guess I'd like to start a thread dedicated to my new best friend (ahhh sad bloke) and I'd like to advise anyone who has a b udget amp/receiver to pop along to **-**** (I guess I'm not aloud to say the name of the shop???) and get one for the amazingly cheap price of £399


    I love it.
     
  2. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    :D

    another happy cinema geek! :D glad you are happy!

    ad
     
  3. shodan

    shodan
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    10,308
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    shoeburyness
    Ratings:
    +4,691
    OI!! Thats Mr Geek to you...

    :D
     
  4. joshua_bond

    joshua_bond
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    342
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    Know how u feel...got the 630se and it kick *** Waiting on my 6th speaker for a complement set!!!
     
  5. shodan

    shodan
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    10,308
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    shoeburyness
    Ratings:
    +4,691
    I have a spare pair of Wharfdale Modus kicking around (I'm sure they are hideous!) so I might just try....

    Dunno how much worse it can sound as I have baby Kenwood's across the back. And no, they aren't food mixers... :rolleyes:

    I have really been bitten by The Bug and need to spend even more money I don't have on things I can't afford!

    Mind you, as my girlfriend has left me and I have to move back in with The Folks (groan, dad and I will probably try to kill eachother...), it might be a good idea to NOT SPEND anymore than I have to and save for my own place.

    But unlike the Murphy's, I AM BITTER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  6. Splinter

    Splinter
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    What's the difference between the 630 and 730? Can't see any difference in power between the two.
     
  7. shodan

    shodan
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    10,308
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    shoeburyness
    Ratings:
    +4,691
    Completely new power supply, I haven't heard the 630 but the 730 is VERY smooth and full sounding in comparason to my old 595a.
    New remote which has an LCD display on it and (again, dunno about the 630) now controls my tv, video and dvd player as well.

    Just a guess but I reckon it weighs more than the 595a too....
    Hope this helps,

    J
     
  8. Oli

    Oli
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2002
    Messages:
    274
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hmm, I currently have a 595a, and it can sound a tad harsh, still not sure what to go for though...
    either..

    Marrantz 5300, Denon 1803, Yammy 630 or 730, or the sony 1080?????

    Marrantz and Denon currently at the top of my list...

    Then speakers... either Acoustic Energy Evos or B&W 601s3...
     
  9. ditton15

    ditton15
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
    Messages:
    535
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am on the same Yammy quest as you, and perhaps also the same type of speaker quest.

    I have the Yamaha RVX 660 (ProLogic) and am considering how to go 5.1. The details of my present set-up and the speaker options are set out in the 'Speakers & Subwoofers' thread, under '4 stage AV upgrade ..',
    but I repeat:

    My existing kit, with the 'at risk' components maked *, are:

    TV: 21 inch Sony Tinitron *
    VCR: Panasonic NVF55
    Digital cable: Telewest

    Yamaha RXV660 Dolby ProLogic Receiver (65x2; 25; 25 x2) *

    Yamaha CDX-670 + KX-650 + Systemdek
    Speakers: Celestion Ditton 15s .

    In passing, Pointon, Pre-humerous, said: "Nice choice with the receiver if you ask me" to the proposed Yamaha 530, which I can get for about £260.

    However, this seems the right thread to pose the question:

    What are the price/value calls on the Yamaha 530, 630 and 730? That is, why go for the 630, or even the 730? Is this the time to future-proof 6.1?

    I have another question, does this latest Yammy range have the right input for vinyl?

    Diiton15
     
  10. ditton15

    ditton15
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
    Messages:
    535
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have just been able to read through the Yamaha Spring 2002 Catalogue, so I can answer some of my own questions :)blush:).

    In particular, it seems that only the 730 has a phono input, for my vinyl.

    I would like to know how good the remote is at controlling non-Yamaha stuff, like the TV, & VCR, and in my case the Tosh DVD player.

    cheers

    Ditton
     
  11. Splinter

    Splinter
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well after looking over the Yamaha website I can't work out the why they made both the 630 and the 730. The only difference i can see is the 730's remote has a LCD display, i'm not paying the extra just for that.

    Shame they didn't up the power rating on the 730, as I'm still wary of only 75 watts.
     
  12. GrahamC

    GrahamC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    2,258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Morecambe, U.K.
    Ratings:
    +67
    Hi all,
    Have been into Hi-Fi, AV for 2o years and if I have learned anything at all its rated watts mean absolutely diddly
    :)
     
  13. shodan

    shodan
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    10,308
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    shoeburyness
    Ratings:
    +4,691
    Hi all,

    Ditton, as I haven't auditioned the other Yammy's it wouldn't be fair to express an opinion on them but as you have probably gathered by now, I do love me 730 and will recommend it to anyone who has a budget of up to £500. It should retail at £530 I believe but obviously the price goes down....

    The remote is pretty good and after I took a few minutes to re programme it I now use it for all the normal/basic funtions for my amp, tv, video and dvd player instead of using my Cambridge Audio M1!
    It isn't backlit but it does have glow-in-the-dark buttons and it has all the pre programmed codes for other equipment and the LCD glows the same colour and shade as the display on the amp. Nice touch.... Also as you can rename input's on the amp, you can do the same with the RC eg. Aux now says PSX 2.

    I think you should audition a few different units as it all comes down to personal preference and obviously it sounds different in my lounge through my cables and speakers than it would in yours.
    Nah sod it, go out and buy one!!!!

    Hope this helps..
    John
    PS don't "do" vinyl so I don't know how good the input is....
     
  14. ditton15

    ditton15
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
    Messages:
    535
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +0
    As I dont have a all-in-one remote, and you imply (dont you?) that the one supplied with the Yamaha 730 is as good (if not better), then that's worth a few bob. I have a growing proliferation of zappers, and that's not helping WAF-wise.

    Vinyl: maybe its not better sonically but its a generation thing. That may be the decider. My present RXV-660 ProLogic has a phono.

    That means I'm drifting towards spending £400 on the upgrade of AV Receiver/Amp to 5.1, and I suppose I ought to be open to other than Yammy at that price ...

    :rolleyes:
     
  15. shodan

    shodan
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    10,308
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    shoeburyness
    Ratings:
    +4,691
    Happy hunting!

    See you at the Yammy club....;)
     
  16. joshua_bond

    joshua_bond
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    342
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    Shodan,

    you mention psx2...does that mean you r using 730 remote to control playstation 2? and to what extent can this remote handle other components e.g sky-D.

    Joshua...
     
  17. shodan

    shodan
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    10,308
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    shoeburyness
    Ratings:
    +4,691
    Joshua,
    I'm not using the remote to control the PSX 2 only named the (auxilllary) socket it was plugged into and the remote PSX 2. Although it may be able to as it has 3 spare sets of buttons for controlling units not attatched to the Amp..... I may just check it out... Curious now....


    J
     
  18. joshua_bond

    joshua_bond
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    342
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    I am assuming u have a ps2 ...so do let us know to what extent the remote can control the ps2.:rolleyes:
     
  19. ISHANTY

    ISHANTY
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2002
    Messages:
    534
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +58
    HI I'M WAITING FOR THE DSP AX630SE AND NOW IVE HEARD WHAT YOU HAVE TO SAY ABOUT THAT MODEL IT PLEASES ME TO THINK IVE MADE THE RIGHT CHOICE IN BUYING YAMAHA I CHOSE THIS MODEL BECAUSE I DONT NEED A RADIO I HAVE IT ON SKY+ I HAVE ALSO GOT B+W 602S3 SPEAKERS SHOULD BE WICKED STILL NOT SURE ON THE DVD PLAYER BUT THAT WILL COME .ALL I REALLY WANTED TO SAY WAS TY FOR MAKING MY MIND UP
     
  20. shodan

    shodan
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    10,308
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    shoeburyness
    Ratings:
    +4,691
    Ishanty,

    Glad to know my post's have helped!!! Ahh, a warm fuzzy feeling inside... Could be wind..:eek:

    Joshua,

    You have a PM...


    Regdz
     
  21. ISHANTY

    ISHANTY
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2002
    Messages:
    534
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +58
    HI I HAVE JUST GOT MY YAMMY DSP-630 SE AND I'M PLEASEE WITH THE LOOK OF IT,I'M IN THE PROCESS OF GETTING ALL MY GEAR TOGETHER B4 I SET IT ALL UP,I HAVE B+W 602S3 FOR MY FRONTS,LCR-60S3 CENTRE AND THE REARS TO COME END OF THE MONTH I CANT WAIT.NOW WHAT IT WANTED TO KNOW IS ON MY AMP FOR THE FRONTS AND CENTRE IT HAS TO SETS OF PLUG INS FOR THE SPEAKER CAN YOU EXPLAIN WHY THAT IS,I REALLY AM NEW TO THIS AND YES MY SPEAKERS ARE BI-WIRABLE WHAT EVER THAT MEANS
     
  22. shodan

    shodan
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    10,308
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    shoeburyness
    Ratings:
    +4,691
    Err, if I'm reading you right, you are referring to what is actually 2 sets of speaker plugs (binding post's) for the front and 2 for the centre.

    With your amp you can run 2 pairs of speakers from the front channels. You could use these for running a pair of speaker's in another room or a different pair of speakers if you had a pair you preferred to music. My advise, just use speaker terminals "A" and depress the relevent button on the front of the amp.

    With the 2 sets for the centre speaker, I think you may find that one is for the Centre (front) and one is for the centre Rear which sits between your rear speakers.

    I may be barking up the wrong tree in which case I apologise!

    Hope all this helps
     
  23. joshua_bond

    joshua_bond
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    342
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    Ishanti,

    Like what Shodan mentions, the 630 is 6.1 amp so u have RC (rear centre) for those "fly around effect" in DVDs. You should note that the 630se has the screw caps (red in colour) on the terminal not banana plugs; you will need insert the bare cable into the port at the side. A bit of patience is in order. I haven't tried to remove these caps from mine to expose the banana plug (if there is one). For birwing... you will need two runs of cable for each terminal (connecting the speaker terminal to the amp terminal + to +). I would hold off to birwire etc till you gets to grips to sound. Also on the speakers there is bridging metal connecting the terminals (+to+) of your speakers. Keep these on if you are not birwing. Also ensure that your impedance selector (back of amp) is selected according to your speakers ohms.
     
  24. ISHANTY

    ISHANTY
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2002
    Messages:
    534
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +58
    thank you very much guys this does make sense now
     

Share This Page

Loading...