Question YSP 5600 setup/placement

Discussion in 'Soundbars, Soundplates & Soundbases' started by RavenLiquid, Jan 11, 2017.

  1. RavenLiquid

    RavenLiquid
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I'm looking into getting a YSP-5600SW as a replacement for my (not kidding) Logitech Z5500 set that is currently hooked up to my LG B6. As I moved last year my new room setup lacks the practical space to place separate speakers in the rear for starters as wires currently run everywhere and the dog has managed to take one of them down on more than one occasion (I also may have helped once or twice).

    So I want to go for the one big black box fits all solution and this one seemed the best for my needs (well, wants is more like it).

    But there are two issues that I'm trying to solve:

    1: The case of the missing HDR
    2: The placement of the whole thing.

    So the HDR question: as there is no HDR pass through and it sounds like it is technically not possible to patch it in can I use my current solution:
    I have everything hooked up to the TV, and use the optical out to pass the encoded bitstream directly to the Logitech set. Is this possible or does everything need to be hooked up to the soundbar via HDMI?

    And the second question:
    The thing is huge and I like the clean look of just the TV panel, so I was hoping to place it in something like this:

    [​IMG]

    Looking at the angle the up firing speakers are placed on the Yamaha site I think it might work if placed directly up front but I'm not sure.

    So, anyone has any experience with these issues?
     
  2. Skynet5

    Skynet5
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Messages:
    323
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +45
    Hi mate.

    Using optical or hdmi arc to pass sound to the bar only gets you basic dd 5.1 and dts. If you want HD and DolbyAtmos etc you will need to plug straight from source into bar...then bar into TV.

    As for the upwards firing speakers...I doubt that would work in a covered cabinet. They are at an angle...but you would still lose some directional control needed by the beam steering to get it right. But this is only my guess...I don't have atmos.
     
  3. RavenLiquid

    RavenLiquid
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +0
    Too bad about the HDR, is there a reason why the DA signal is not passed over optical?
     
  4. Skynet5

    Skynet5
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Messages:
    323
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +45
    Bandwidth. So basically a limitation with the spec. HDMI 2.1 ARC support HD audio and that comes out in 2018 likely.
     
  5. digitalqurter

    digitalqurter
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have both ysp 5600 and lg b6. My issue is that I cannot confirm ATMOS or DTS X is working. Any ideas?
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice