YSP-1600 or YSP-4000

Discussion in 'Soundbars, Soundplates & Soundbases' started by Mech0z, May 4, 2016.

  1. Mech0z

    Mech0z
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    Denmark
    Ratings:
    +0
    I currently have an old setup with a none-hdmi surround receiver, and now I need HDMI input to get proper sound from my Raspberry Pi 3.

    To save space I considering getting a proper soundbar, and then I can either buy a used Yamaha YSP-4000 or a new Yamaha YSP-1600

    The used YSP-4000 cost is 2000dkk
    The new YSP-1600 cost is 4500dkk

    I will use my old sub-woofer SVS PB10-NSD which should be plenty

    So do an old 4000 have better speakers than the new 1600 ? I like the connectivity on the 1600, but if the sound is much better on the 4000 then its the better (And much cheaper) choice
     
  2. Clem_Dye

    Clem_Dye
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,247
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +413
    I have the slightly newer 4100, and, like the 4000, the overall connectivity and feature set wins hands down for me. If I needed a replacement and both the 4100 and 1600 were still available it would be the 4100 no question. I haven't heard the 1600 but the 4100 has, like the older 4000, a better speaker array, and using a sub may not even be necessary.

    Clem
     
  3. Mech0z

    Mech0z
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    Denmark
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do you use an external sub in your setup? Also there is an Used 5100 for sale, might be able to get that one for cheap, should make it much better
     
  4. Clem_Dye

    Clem_Dye
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,247
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +413
    I do use an external sub, a Yamaha unit. I don't recall the model number offhand, but the combo works a treat. A separate cable remotely powers on/off the sub as required. Neat.

    Clem
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice