1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Your Dream Home Made PC?!

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by kmhtkmhtkmht, Oct 7, 2005.

  1. kmhtkmhtkmht

    kmhtkmhtkmht
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you had an Unlimited Budget, what kinda spec. PC would you build yourself with parts you could purchase now that would fit?

    I use my PC everyday and while my 3.2GHZ 478 is adequate I am thinking about going REALLY over the top and building a ridiculous set up.
     
  2. T0rNaDo

    T0rNaDo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Messages:
    6,814
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +546
    If you had an Unlimited Budget, what kinda spec. PC would you build yourself with parts you could purchase now that would fit?

    I do.....

    and im currently getting ready to build my new pc.
    but im waiting for the new ati gfx card to arrive

    but..


    EZ Cool Alpine Silver -
    7105H with LCD display ( got already )

    K8N Diamond Socket 939 nForce 4 SLI ATX

    Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 4400+ Socket 939 1MB BOX (4800+ is silly price )

    psu ( not desided yet )

    ATI Radeon X1800 XT pci-e

    2 x 1gb corsair memory

    1 x wD 74gb raptor hdd ( boot drive )

    2 x 300gb sata's raiding ( got already )

    tv card ( got already )

    Creative Audigy 2 ZS Platinum ( got already )

    dvd rom ( got already )

    dvdrw ( got already )


    specs may change why awaiting some parts...
     
  3. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    2x Raptors raided for the OS :smashin:

    :smoke:
     
  4. kmhtkmhtkmht

    kmhtkmhtkmht
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is that AMD Dual Core chip REALLY the daddy these days?
     
  5. kmhtkmhtkmht

    kmhtkmhtkmht
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Isn't it the oldest story in the world that most people don't know that Raid (Striping) gives no real world performance benefits whatsoever?
     
  6. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    17,651
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +4,562
    If you had no budget limit, you'd use a DFI Lanparty m/b, and 2 x 7800GTX in SLi, rather than the ATI effort.
     
  7. OneEleven

    OneEleven
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    but the at effort can be had passivly cooled out of the box. tEh 7800GTX isn't AFAIK

    edit:
    re read it right doofus :oops: : the x800 is passive - this is the X1800.
     
  8. Werner

    Werner
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I feel it depends where you want to put it...if it is going in a loft/cupboard then your choice of components will differ greatly from something that sits in a rack/under the telly.

    I know it sound slike I am stating the obvious, but none of the above mentioned parts appeal to "my" idea of a htpc...I want/need something small and quiet with high WAF. Others may want a beefy "man" setup, with hundreds of tuners:) There is no 100% correct htpc spec right now, apart from the cpu which should be an athlon anything supporting cool 'n quiet if you are going to do it yourself. For intel chips, to keep the quiet takes more effort and some custom parts to eliminate the noise totally.
     
  9. Monty Burns

    Monty Burns
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    3,864
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Londoner living in Doha, Qatar
    Ratings:
    +139
    Sorry dude, Im totaly with Kramer and I put my money where my mouth is :D
     
  10. Monty Burns

    Monty Burns
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    3,864
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Londoner living in Doha, Qatar
    Ratings:
    +139

    Eh? Thats either VERY bad English or your very wrong or I just don't understand what your really saying :confused:


    Stripes ftw! :thumbsup: :D
     
  11. T0rNaDo

    T0rNaDo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Messages:
    6,814
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +546
    wow so many replys since i posted lol

    lets see.....

    well i said 1 raptor for boot drive coz
    i dont need loads of space on my boot drive....

    but as i did say ...

    specs may change why awaiting some parts.... :)

    and thinking about it.. it would make sence to raid 2 of them..

    the read/write speed across 2 10k raptors..... hmmmm :)


    kmhtkmhtkmht : Is that AMD Dual Core chip REALLY the daddy these days

    well for gaming they say the fx57 is the daddy of amd anyway...

    but for multi tasking..... dual core chip all the way..


    MJN : i could build quite a few top line pcs with the dearest parts of everything.. if i wanted..... but i dont.

    i dont use the pc as much as i used to...

    so i dont see the point of spending 2-3k or more on a top pc i will hardly use..

    why i not bothered with sli...

    DFI Lanparty mobo... never had a dfi board before...
    though i never had a msi mobo before either.

    gigabtye..... epox.... only boards ive had so far..

    and i sooner stick with ati then nvidia...
    i was looking at the asus x850xt pci-e pe card.
    but heard about new cards coming out so i thought i would wait.

    but everone has they own preferences....
     
  12. Dfour

    Dfour
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Messages:
    3,992
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Bracknell
    Ratings:
    +85
    Unlimited budget equals top speed FX57 with phase chilling overclocking goodness or even better using Liqued nitrogen cooling and watch that bad boy fly :eek: :devil:

    Seperate water cooling for the graphics card and northbridge.
     
  13. iZombine

    iZombine
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    870
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +33
    My dream home PC would have to include 2 X 7800GTX 512MB graphic cards.
     
  14. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,574
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +265
    I'd go for 2 X 3.6GHZ Xeon Nocona Chips...Dual Processor all the way....
    4GB RAM
    For the OS 4 X 74GB Raptors on Raid 0....
    For Storage 4 * 400GB WD Caviar SE 16MB Cache on Raid 0
    For Graphics i'd go with an Sapphire X850XT Blizzard...
    For sound I'd get an X-Fi, the one with 64mb X-Ram
    For Display I'd go with a HP 23" 16:10 TFT @ 1920x1200
    I'd get one of them Lian Li cases, the one with good cooling for £140
     
  15. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    17,651
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +4,562
    It's been proven numerous times RAID 0 or 1, does not provide any performance benefits for the OS.
     
  16. Cable Monkey

    Cable Monkey
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    3,494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +205
    12 months ago I built the fastest machine I could in my preferred form factor. After months (years) of deliberating if wether the Shuttle pcs were what I needed, and trying some of the smaller ATX cases I opted for a Shuttle SB75G2 V2. I put in my personal preferences rather than what might have been flavour of the month at the time, so I went with Intel, ATI and Crucial for my key components, no expense spared. Final spec was:
    3.4EE P4
    X800XT @ PE
    1 gig Crucial Ballistix
    Samsung Spinpoint 160 SATA
    Pioneer DV108
    Crystalfontz 631 LCD module (Black/blue)
    Various non-intrusive mods to keep it cool and quiet.

    In my opinion the final product looked great, and the benches/game performance were blistering. In the Alienware game advisor it still comes in the top 2% of all machines scanned. That is not bad for a machine built ignoring 64bit, PCI-E, DDRII and all the other buzzwords flying about.
     
  17. -Hitman-

    -Hitman-
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,671
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Sector7
    Ratings:
    +827
    Where do you get your info?

    OS on a RAID stripe0, the OS is divided between 2 drives combining the performance from both.

    Do your own tests/benchmarks with single and raid drives and you will see that the latter is a high performance benefit to the OS and the rest!
     
  18. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    17,651
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +4,562
    The increased figures are not worth the extra outlay. Simply using 2 drives does not double the HDD performance, in fact its around 5% from what i remember. Off the top of my head one of the articles to support that is over at Toms Hardware.
     
  19. Jim_Fear

    Jim_Fear
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,799
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Caterham
    Ratings:
    +59
    Blatently Dual Opteron 252's with that dual socket 940 + SLI board that ABIT do paired with 2x 7800GTX's and 4GB of RAM put inside a customised case built by Lian-Li. For windows and games i'd have 3x hot swappable 74G SATAII Raptor's in RAID 5 and for storage i'd have 4x 500GB Fujistu SATAII drives in RAID 5 too.

    All this would be watercooled too :thumbsup:
     
  20. Monty Burns

    Monty Burns
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    3,864
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Londoner living in Doha, Qatar
    Ratings:
    +139
    THen your tests are either floored or wrong.

    Single IDE disk in my system pumps out 30meg a second. 1 Raptor pumps out 50meg a second, I then plug in another 1 and stripe to get 75meg a second.

    You first said "does not provide any performance benefits for the OS." This is entirely and utterley wrong. If this is so then why is the industry standard on servers to build in striped arrays with spare hot disks? (Note: there are various forms of stripe, the next best is mirrored but this is a lot slower)


    I don't believe anyone said double - anyone that did needs a slap on the wrist :D

    By Toms Hardware I can only guess you mean this article ? Have you seen the date on this? Notice that they are talking about disks only just reaching 200gig for the first time ever!? :smashin:

    If this is not the article you are talking about then please supply a link to a striped Raptor test that proves what you are saying and I will gladly send my entire PC to "Tom" so he can re-evaluate his testing. Another good read or me but im not striped but final read says I'm as good as SCSI stuff IDE!

    Surley the cost issue is not the point in this thread, the guy said an unlimited budget. If its worth it for cost/performance ratio for him is his choice. Buying the latest and greatest processor does not make "financial" sense but, a lot of us do it because we can :smashin:

    Being a network/server admin/Security consultant i've put my money where my mouth is with twin, shiney looking Raptors in a sexy little stripe. I'm very happy with this and will do it again and again and again and recommend it to anyone :) (In fact I have, with SCSI systems for more banks than you can shake a very big stick at :rotfl: )
     
  21. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    17,651
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +4,562
    I can only assume you're talking about RAID 0 here?!? You should never build a server OS on a striped (RAID 0) array!! What industry standard are you talking about? You'd use 2 x HDD in RAID 1 for the OS, and RAID 5 for the data.

    Well, if the budget is unlimited, why are we talking about SATA?

    Wow...i'm impressed.........guess the banks won't be though when one of their drives in a striped array (RAID 0) fails....a hot spare is going to make no difference!
     
  22. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    17,651
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +4,562
    No the article is more recent, i'll dig it out.
     
  23. Monty Burns

    Monty Burns
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    3,864
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Londoner living in Doha, Qatar
    Ratings:
    +139
    Can I suggest you go read up the definitions of raid again .... raid 0 is not the only stripe - although this is what I use at home (its only a media center pc/games box anyway)

    Stripe

    Don't recall EVER mention raid ZERO anywhere .... ;)

    Then i must be miracle worker then coz with HOT stand-bye and the right combination of stripe the loss of a disk is not an issue. :smashin: I did not and have not ever built a mission critical system using RAID 0, for data or O/S. It is however perfectly adequate for a home games PC and as the O/S is the most accessed portion of disk makes absoloute sense to be raided (and thus have the speed boosted)
     
  24. kmhtkmhtkmht

    kmhtkmhtkmht
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's a Toms Hardware arcticle I read it from also but NOT that one.

    Striping Raid doesn't Increase Performance in a Real World Scenario, but it does double the likely hood of disk failure.
     
  25. Monty Burns

    Monty Burns
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    3,864
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Londoner living in Doha, Qatar
    Ratings:
    +139
    :eek: :confused: :lease: :suicide:

    So your saying that myself and the entire IT world are wrong and that RAID does NOT give a performance boost!?

    Please refer to this for more information on the various RAID levels and the variants on Stripe - NO ONE ever said raid zero was to be used or was perfect. Raid 5 however is a stripe, offers data protection/redundancy AND with a hot standby REALLY rocks.
     
  26. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    17,651
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +4,562
    RAID 0 is striped only!
    RAID 1 is mirrored
    RAID 0+1 / 10 - the data is striped then mirrored.
    RAID 5 is striping with distributed parity
    RAID 6 is striping with 2 drives used for the distributed parity.

    The other RAID levels aren't really worth using.
     
  27. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    17,651
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +4,562
    and i can't see in that link, what other striping you're going to be using...... RAID 2? ROFL
     
  28. Monty Burns

    Monty Burns
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    3,864
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Londoner living in Doha, Qatar
    Ratings:
    +139
    :thumbsup:

    See there are three other common variations on Stripe. Why assume that im using zero in a live production, mission critical system? In such environments 5+ hotstandbye is the only way to fly. :)
     
  29. The Dude

    The Dude
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4,840
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,179
    I think it was from your post Monty.. I wondered what the hell you were doing building raid0 servers for banks too..;)


    Obviously, RAID5 in a 4+1 configuration is the absolute min any of us would consider for an array that matters... :)
     
  30. Monty Burns

    Monty Burns
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    3,864
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Londoner living in Doha, Qatar
    Ratings:
    +139
    :rotfl: I can see how someone may of "assumed" the wrong idea there. Still we all love the definition of Ass of U ME ;)

    Sadly, looks like the thread has been successfuly derailed :(

    Edit: in fact -
    :D Doh!
     

Share This Page

Loading...