1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

You must read this

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by simon69, Apr 17, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. simon69

    simon69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    445
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +10
    Gordon came around last night to do a complete set up after the temp one he did for me a few weeks ago. I saw temp but it was far better than anything I could have done.

    He calibrated my NEC for me and updated the lumagen bios for a pal mod that he requested from the makers.

    Where to start? having tried a few scalers in the past I was blown away with the lumagen, no more just teeth and eye scenes in the Planet of the Apes! or cruched black detail.

    Gordon is an expert at calibration etc. and his mind is just a database of home cinema information.

    To summersie;
    Lumagen best scaler in price range (and you will probably have to spend a lot more to get something better)

    To get the best out of your CRT book Gordon for a calibration money well spent.
     
  2. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    I guess you have the Vision and not the Vision Pro?
     
  3. simon69

    simon69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    445
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +10
    I think the vision is the only model offically avaliable in the uk at the moment.
     
  4. Leon Rees

    Leon Rees
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Out of interest, what was the BIOS mod on the Lumagen?

    Are they end-user upgradeable?
     
  5. simon69

    simon69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    445
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +10
    The bios upgrade was so that different memories could be used for 50 & 60 Hz on the same input, I think, but Gordon would be able to comfirm this.
     
  6. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,998
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,802
    First off: Simon, thanks for the kind words.

    Next: The Vision is the only one from Lumagen with CE approval. We're looking at getting Pro CE'd though so watch this space.

    Last: The Vision was not deisgned to be user upgradeable, although it is very simple if you have the tools. The Pro has RS232 port on back and is probably user updateable.

    The firmware upgrade was to sort out minor bug with the ability to LOCK settings being lsot sometimes and to add the functionality I asked for. Which is described below.

    The Vision has two assignable memories for each input. MEM a and MEM b. It can output at 48Hz up to 75Hz. The original firmware meant it would be set to (say) 60Hz all the time (although this is changeable by remote control very easily). I wanted them to make it possible to get the thing to auto switch to MEMA when receiving 60Hz incoming and MEMB when receiving 50Hz. That way end users from countries like ours (that have NTSC and PAL software) can set it up each input for an optimal setting (on mema and memb) and then leave it alone.

    Gordon
     
  7. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    Good;) This baby looks like Tag ain't going to be arriving here

    are you free to meet up this week? I have at least one order for you :D PM me if you can make something.

    Hearing NOTHING but good things about this Lumagen. :clap: :clap: A Quadscan with steroids (well Sil anyway)
     
  8. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,998
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,802
    Bee: I have to go see a client one day during week but should be around if you want to pop in.

    Gordon
     
  9. Miron

    Miron
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,419
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Ratings:
    +50
    Cheers Gordon,
    two questions from me:

    1. Why is CE really so crucial. :)

    2 (real question)
    On your site there is following line:
    Programmable output resolution from 480p to 1080p in scanline increments + 1080i
    In what steps can you select output ?(What does it mean "in scanline increments") my english is not native - so I do not get this one . (I guess those resolutions marked on remote only.)
    Asking this because most chips have that damn computer 768 resolution today (nomatter if used in dlp, lcd or plasmas)

    thanks
     
  10. uncle eric

    uncle eric
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I installed one of these in Bob T's dedicated room last week with superb results. Best bang for buck on the market.
    Also, WSR has just given this scaler the thumbs up big time.

    Well done Gordon.
     
  11. Roland @ B4

    Roland @ B4
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2001
    Messages:
    2,238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading.
    Ratings:
    +32
    It is more a leagal requirement to ensure that equiment conforms to saftely and emmision standards.
    Companies selling non CE approved equiment stand to receive very heavy fines even a prison sentance.
    Trading standards office can be very hot on this.
     
  12. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,998
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,802
    Thanks Roland. Don't know how I missed this continued thread...

    Scanline incriments...

    It can output the resolutions on the remote PLUS

    481P
    482P
    483P
    484P
    485P.......ZZZZZZZZ
    768P
    769P
    770P
    771P
    772P
    773P......ZZZZZZ
    1051P
    1052P....

    IE Adding one line at a time from 480-1080. This is useful for CRT projectors more than anything.

    The firmware mod allows it to do different tricks dependant on incoming scan frequency.

    Gordon
     
  13. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    What sort of price is the Vision Pro going to be?

    £1,500-2,000?
     
  14. Roland @ B4

    Roland @ B4
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2001
    Messages:
    2,238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading.
    Ratings:
    +32
    Prediction post here soon

    "I can see scan lines at 959 lines but not at 960 what is wrong with my system?" :devil:

    I would have thought that the line at a time thing was more suited to the fixed pixel displays.
     
  15. Paul Smith

    Paul Smith
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,041
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +142
    The Lumagen Vision certainly looks very interesting/tempting.

    Just a quick question for anybody who might know, can it process HDTV signals?,

    i.e. Convert to 1080p? or even change frame rate to 48hz? or 72hz?.
    Or does it just process standard signals?
    Cheers,

    Paul.
     
  16. CogPaul

    CogPaul
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hdtv can be handled as a pass thru input. It also outputs from an interlaced input whatever you want between 480p and 1080 at any rate between 48 and 72 Hz.

    cogpaul ( aother paul smith!)
     
  17. Paul Smith

    Paul Smith
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,041
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +142
    Quote: "hdtv can be handled as a pass thru input".

    So does this mean, as it's 'a pass thru input', no processing can take place on a HDTV signal.
    Is this right?

    And as such it wouldn't be able to return a HDTV film from 60hz (3:2) back to a 48hz frame rate.? or be able to make a HDTV signal progressive?
    Just looking for clarification,
    Cheers,

    Paul.

    p.s. Great name you've got there Cogpaul.:)
     
  18. CogPaul

    CogPaul
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes- the pass thru input is not processed in any way.

    In its present form the vision takes interlaced input and outputs 480-1080. However, jim petersen and the team at Lumagen seem so responsive to customer needs that I suggest you speak to Gordon F if you have any particular requirements - they have already made changes to the lumgen vision and vision pro - who knows what the capabilities the next generation of lumagen products will possess.

    I am at work and don't have the manual to hand but if you go to the lumagen website they have pdf copies of the manual which are well worth reading. Its a great little scaler .and I cannot recomend it highly enough.

    the other paul smith
     
  19. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,998
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,802
    It's a SD Upscaler. IE it can only process standard definition material and upscale it. Which it does pretty well.

    You'll have to look hard to find anything that is going to de-interlace 1080i to original 24FPS and then output at 48Hz. The HD-Leeza, when it appears, should be able to do this but we need to wait and see when they are in the country. In about 14days incidentally (as long as customs don't keep hold of them for too long)


    VisionPro has passed CE testing. The retail has been set at £1799 INC vat Details going up on site soon.

    Gordon
     
  20. Jonesthegas

    Jonesthegas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    630
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Newcastle upon Tyne
    Ratings:
    +18
    Gordon,

    Would the Vision Pro be a better option than a HTPC with the Holo3D card for a CRT pj? If so why?

    I see it has BNC output connections. Will getting quality cables be a problem?

    Martin
     
  21. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,998
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,802
    You would need to do that dem for yourself to work out which is better. You should remember that not all HTPC's are the same performance, even those with same parts.

    Having BNC's is BETTER. You are more likely to get quality cables and higher quality image if you use BNC.

    Gordon
     
  22. 008

    008
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    400
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    kent
    Ratings:
    +15
    Gordon
    does the Lumagen input SDI ?
     
  23. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    Nope.

    Which is a shame, but then it's not really to be expected, as it's not hugely expensive.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Loading...