Yet another newbie 'What shall I buy' question

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by purds, May 2, 2007.

1. purds

purds
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all

I am a more or less a complete novice with HD kit although was interested in reasonable hi fi audio kit many years ago. I am in the process of converting my ex double garage into a cinema room and must admit to being completely at a loss as to which plasma to buy. Timescale - anytime from now to say end of the summer.

Looking for something 50" minimum which will be wall mounted and mostly used for DVD viewing. Most will therefore be SD although played on a decent (circa £1000 - 1500)upscaling player (I think I just about understand the basics of upscaling). Seating will be around 10 to 12 feet from the screen.Eventually I would intend to buy an HDDVD player but not until things settle down in the HDDVD vs Blueray battle. In any event the many DVD's owned will mean that upscaled SD will continue to make up the vast majority of viewing in the immediate future. Maybe also get sky hd at some stage although DVD viewing is a definate prority.

First question - what screens should I be considering? Budget is prob around 2 - 3 £k ish. Have read quite a bit about 1080p which makes my head ache. Am I right in thinking that for the above screen size and viewing distance 1080p would likely be worth waiting for - or have I just fallen for the sales pitch? I am not interested in changing kit every 12 months so what I buy now needs to be as 'future proof' as is possible.