1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Yellow circle at centre of image

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by kjd, Sep 21, 2005.

1. kjd

kjd

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi folks, this is my first time posting a thread. I have a Sanyo PLC SU30 which I bought off e-bay. The seller said it had a stain on the image, illustrated with a photograph, which I thought looked like a speck of dust. After several attempts at blowing the LCD's clean, and trawling through various forums , I have come to the conclusion that it's probably heat damage. The blemish is more noticeable on dark pictures. It looks like a yellow tinted circle with a surrounding blue halo effect, bang in the centre, about a 10th of the size of the image. There is also a blue blemish on the bottom of the image, more noticeable when I set the projector to 16:9 aspect ratio. Can anyone out there suggest what part of the imaging system may be responsible for this, and any ideas as how to test these theories.
    Thanks
    :lease: Keith

2. Gazz

Gazz
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    Morning Keith,
    sounds like the same problem I've got (see thread "dust blobs on Panasonic PT-LC 75E "). From what I can gather from the knowledgeable people on the forum, it appears to be the polariser (or polarizer, depending on your spelling preference) plate in front of the blue LCD panel which becomes discoloured due to high temps over a period of time.
    It seems the only choice is to replace the polariser. I can't find anyone to supply the part itself for my Panny but I don't know if Sanyo parts are more readily available.
    As for the blue blemish, I have one at the side of my image as well. Nobody's come up with an explanation yet but I have a theory.