1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Yamakawa 365 and AE100 help

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Timh, May 3, 2004.

  1. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    4,805
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +128
    I am thinking of going for the Yamakawa dvd player and connecting it to my Panasonic AE100 projector but I am sure the Yamakawa does not have componant out. Does it output componant from the scart socket? if so where would I get an adapter from? Or is it possible to connect via dvi to vga?

    If anyone uses the Yam via componant could you give me your views on picture quality.

    Thanks

    Tim
     
  2. SamirP

    SamirP
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,232
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    South Of The River
    Ratings:
    +32
    Yes it outputs YPbPR via scart.

    if so where would I get an adapter from?

    TVcables do a scart to component cable


    Or is it possible to connect via dvi to vga?

    The Dvi only outputs dvi-d signal

    If anyone uses the Yam via componant could you give me your views on picture quality.


    I only used mine for a short time (2hrs) before i got my dvi cable, but it produced a very good pq at 720p :D
     
  3. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    4,805
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +128
    Thanks for the info Samir :)

    Has everyone that ordered the Yam from Germany been stung by Customs, if so how much was it.

    Cheers

    Tim
     
  4. gjc-ortho

    gjc-ortho
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bridgend
    Ratings:
    +44
    Ordered form Germany; no problems with customs. Better service that most UK online sales!

    Cheers all
     
  5. ebury

    ebury
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,250
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +12
    I thought any goods purchased in Europe were exempt from customs,or am i talking bull'??
     
  6. Singh

    Singh
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    362
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    sort of correct... goods imported from the EU have no tariff charges
     
  7. Family Guy

    Family Guy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dixons do a scart to component cable for £12.99. 1 metre long, and ideal to run to the amp and then from the amp to the PJ/plasma...
     
  8. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    4,805
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +128
    Thanks all, i will keep it on my short list :)
     
  9. simey

    simey
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Wales
    Ratings:
    +1
    ebury, you are right, there are no Customs Duties between members of the EC. Although if you're not VAT registered and able to give the supplier your VAT number then they should charge you their domestic rate of VAT. (nothing extra to pay when the goods enter the UK though).
     
  10. popeckia

    popeckia
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2002
    Messages:
    59
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    I order the Yamakawa 365 from computeruniverse.net. Was a bit of a pain as you have to fax credit card and second signature, and not everything on the site has yet been translated to english.

    In addition, my player broke after 1 dvd :( I get no video output and no audio, and after discussion with Yamakawa it appears to be dead.

    CU said they would pay for return shipping and would in fact come and pick it up, which is pretty good service from Germany I think.

    Incidentally, the 1 film watched over DVI looked great with AE300... and much less hassle than my rather fragile HTPC. That said, if I was going component I would probably get something else... it's not exactly robust build quality, and without the DVI how good would the picture really be into the AE100?
     
  11. alancolledge

    alancolledge
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2004
    Messages:
    518
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Middle England
    Ratings:
    +5
    I didn't have to do that! I have a Visa card and did all my ordering over the net. The player came a week later...:confused:
     

Share This Page

Loading...