Yamaha YSP-30D & YSP40D Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by onkeh, Sep 5, 2007.

Tags:
  1. Floob

    Floob
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Messages:
    364
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +22
    I have the YSP-1100, and what seems weird is that the PS3 seems to support more audio systems (dts, Dolby etc.. ) when using optical than using HDMI - you can see this when you select the audio out in the menu on the PS3.
    I have PS3 (HDMI) TV (Optical Out) YSP-1100
    But I listen to sound via PS3 (Optical Out) YSP-1100
     
  2. STEVENM1000

    STEVENM1000
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    130
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    As I do not want the hassle of a 5.1 system with rear speakers/cable sorting I have been looking at sound bars and 2.1 systems.
    From the few reviews available the Yamaha ones appear to be the best.
    Does anyone own one or listened to one as I do not want to spend the equivalent of a decent 5.1 system if all you get is glorified stereo.
    I appreciate they will never be as good as a decent 5.1 but if they are say 80% as good I would accept that to avoid the rear speakers issue.
     
  3. Floob

    Floob
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Messages:
    364
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +22
    I'm happy with mine, but best results are made from using the manual settings. They have just brought out a new HDMI based model, shorter at 61cm but probably still a good performer.
    Have you read the YSP-1100 review?
    http://www.yamaha-uk.com/pdf/YSP1100 What Hifi Jan 07 5 star41.pdf

    There are a lot of settings, and I'm still playing around with mine.
     
  4. STEVENM1000

    STEVENM1000
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    130
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Thanks Floob - I do want HDMI capability as intend getting a blue ray player and Sky HD if the price ever comes down.
    Would you say you do get some surround effect then and not just the simulated poor quality effect you get with TV's.Not many places seem to sell the sound bars, could this be due to the relatively high cost compared to 5.1 systems or the quality of the sound?
     
  5. louisg

    louisg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,470
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +72
    i have a ysp 800 and the effect is very pleasing in the right shaped room.

    I would reccomended them and i will one day uopgrade to a 1100 or hopefully a 40D

    Louis
     
  6. Subversion

    Subversion
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    So is there a definitive answer on the multichannel PCM over HDMI question? Does either the 30D or 40D support it?
     
  7. Black-Adder

    Black-Adder
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    Messages:
    465
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Peoples Republic of Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +32
    According to our chums on the AVS Forums it's seems that multichannel pcm over HDMI isn't supported by the YSP:thumbsdow

    http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/archive/index.php/t-928552.html
    I may try a optical cable but so much for investing in a 1.3 special hdmi cable where it's all supposed to go down the same "pipe".
    Still love the YSP though...very pleasing.
    PeBe :hiya:
     
  8. Black-Adder

    Black-Adder
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    Messages:
    465
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Peoples Republic of Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +32
    I highly recommend you go to a local retailer and ask them for a demo (the yamaha website provides a list of local dealers). We had our demo in a square room, where the walls were littered with other bits of kit. The sound effects in this 'imperfect' listening environment were superb (I even checked the wiring just to make sure there was no real speakers behind us).
    The impression I had was the sound did seem like it bounced off the walls to your ears and whilst it didn't quite seem like having a speaker behind you I can't think of anyone who has forward and backward facing ears. To me it seems more natural to hear the sounds coming from the front and sides.
    Bit of a ramble i know but it's always subjective to the room layout, how clean your ears are, what the visual and audio source is, etc.
    It's well worth the cash layout and now it's plugged into the PS3 I find my Harmon Kardon speakers are collecting dust...
     
  9. don.juan

    don.juan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    With Firmware 2.30 for PS3, the following is available:

    "Today, SCEA announced that the latest PS3 update, 2.30, would bring the ability to decode DTS-HD Master Audio and DTS-HD High Resolution Audio tracks, that is to say, Blu-ray audio at variable bit rates up to 24.5Mbps, and 7.1 streaming of 96K/24-bit tracks. Does this make PS3 the best Blu-ray player ever? If you've got a receiver that can take an uncompressed audio stream of that magnitude via HDMI, then we think it does. UPDATE: To be clear, this decodes the DTS formats—plus Dolby's formats, including Dolby TrueHD—and outputs all channels via HDMI to a receiver that can take a 5.1 or 7.1 PCM stream. It won't do 5.1 or 7.1 analog output. Also, as some of you have noted, it does NOT bitstream the DTS or Dolby data to a decoder inside a newer decoder-equipped receiver."

    I'm I safe to believe that with a PS3 running firmware Version 2.30 connected to the YSP-4000 (YSP-D40) via HDMI that if I could get LPCM 5.1 on the YSP-4000 (YSP-D40)?
     
  10. don.juan

    don.juan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Please browse to this site...Yamaha states that it is not possible to update an existing HDMI interface to a different specification.

    http://hotline.yamaha-online.de/index.php?action=artikel&cat=11&id=43&artlang=de

    Using Google Translate this is what I get:

    "
    Can a HDMI interface update?

    An update (better upgrade) of an existing HDMI interface or the subsequent installation is not possible.
    This is not only a new software necessary but it is an adaptation of the hardware.

    Among the versions of the HDMI interface some details:
    Which version which supports sound formats?

    * HDMI 1.0: PCM, Dolby Digital, DTS, MPEG
    * HDMI 1.1: in addition DVD-Audio
    * HDMI 1.2: additional SA-CD
    * HDMI 1.3: in addition Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby TrueHD, DTS-HD

    What is the difference in the video?

    * HDMI 1.3: greater bandwidth, Deep Colour, high signal solutions (1080p), new color standard xvYCC

    Which version is supported?

    Basically you will find the words to the version used in the technical data of related equipment.

    Are the versions?

    The versions are backward

    Last update: 2008-04-01 13:01
    Author: YAMAHA Hotline".
     
  11. msephton

    msephton
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    Messages:
    757
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Cornwall, UK
    Ratings:
    +54
    Two new Yamaha sound bars have been released, both around £500

    YSP-600
    http://www.yamaha-uk.com/sound_projectors/?product_id=211

    HTY-760
    http://www.yamaha-uk.com/sound_projectors/?product_id=212

     
  12. don.juan

    don.juan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Q. Do I need v1.3 HDMI to hear the new Dolby TrueHD and DTS Master HD audio content on HD-DVD or Blu-ray players?

    No. The Dolby TrueHD, Dolby Digital Plus, and DTS-HD Master Audio can be decoded by the playback device into multi-channel Pulse Code Modulation (PCM) digital audio streams, which is an audio format standard that can be sent over any version of HDMI. In fact, all versions of HDMI can support up to 8 channels of PCM audio at 192kHz, 24 bits per sample.

    To do this, consumers should ensure that their playback device (such as HD-DVD or Blu-ray player) is capable of decoding these new lossless Dolby & DTS audio formats into the PCM format on the HDMI output, and that the audio device (such as an A/V receiver) is capable of receiving multi-channel PCM audio over the HDMI inputs. Consult your user manual/product specification sheet to determine whether your device supports such PCM capabilities (we believe that nearly all HD-DVD and Blu-ray players will, but users should confirm this). Devices that support HDMI v1.3 and higher may also offer the option to transport the high definition audio formats as a compressed, encoded stream over HDMI so that the decoding function can be performed by the A/V receiver (whereas the above transport method has the playback device performing the decoding).

    PLEASE, WILL SOMEONE CONFIRM THAT THIS IS THE CASE WITH THE YSP-4000 AND PALYSTATION 3 USING FIRMWARE 2.30 (or higher)?

    I do not see a reason, now that PS3 is able to decode DTS-HD, for it not to work with the YSP-4000!!!
     
  13. don.juan

    don.juan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been sending e-mails to Yamaha using this link:

    http://www.yamaha-service.de/index.php?lang=e

    Just pick your country (and some others...I've sent to Portugal - my country, Germany and Great Britain) and ask about LPCM 5.1 over HDMI...maybe if enough of us complain we will get an answer...
     
  14. Pete

    Pete
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    62
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Emailed Yamaha UK re the 5.1 over PCM and got the following reply, today. No mention of firmware upgrade, unfortunately :(


    Hi,

    Thanks for the email
    Yes you are correct the YSP will default to a 2ch pcm audio signal when it
    receives HD audio, sorry.
    With any blu-ray disc you can select from the discs own menu to select
    other audio options (ie 5.1)
    Many thanks
    Steve
    Product specialist
     
  15. don.juan

    don.juan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, I thing that does it for me...I will not be buying the YSP-4000!
     
  16. scaper

    scaper
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    170
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +7
    I think the ysp 600 and the hty 760 are the same, just different colours. Has anyone seen a review/own one ?
     
  17. scaper

    scaper
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    170
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +7
    bump
     
  18. don.juan

    don.juan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Don't ask me how (use the web) but I got in touch with the chap at South Africa that had the firmware upgraded for the YSP-4000.

    This is what he wrote me:

    Hi Paulo,

    Apologies about the delay, your email was sent to the SPAM folder by mistake.

    Please note that you cannot install the firmware upgrade on your own (as specialist equipment is needed). For more information on the firmware upgrade, I'd suggest you contact the South African distributors of Yamaha products, at the following

    Website: http://www.balancedaudio.co.za/contact.php

    Physical Address:
    Balanced Audio
    82 Lechwe street
    Sage Corporate Business Park South
    Midrand
    South Africa

    Postal Address:
    Balanced Audio
    Postnet Suite 195
    Private Bag X4
    Bedfordview
    South Africa
    2008

    Tel +27 11 314 0760
    Fax +27 11 314 0764
    Email: [email protected]

    Good luck,
    Muneer Natha

    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------

    I Encourage you guys to contact the South African distributors of Yamaha products!

    I will be sending a Fax asking for information regarding the firmware upgrade.
     
  19. robin1989

    robin1989
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    68
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +4
    hey im looking at getting a yamaha sound bar as i have a rectangular room with blins so its perfect for bouncing sound. im considering the 40d.

    i have a ps3, wii, hdmi dvd player, skyhd and the regular tv and currently its all plugged into the tv and was wondering if i could use the digital optical audio out on my tv to take all the sound from my systems and send it to the yamaha.

    also i was wondering if you guys could tell me the difference between the 40d and the usa 4000 apart from the xm radio/dab radio difference.

    also is this price to good to be true

    http://lookangoo.com/product_info.p...=5651&osCsid=8828a145afdfa05a482da722f433ea73

    thanks for helping a new person at surround sound or semi surrond as my parents have said i can get it as long as there arnt trailing wires all over the room
     
  20. rosswf

    rosswf
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Woking
    Ratings:
    +1
     
  21. don.juan

    don.juan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
     
  22. rosswf

    rosswf
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Woking
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks don.juan. Could I instead connect the HD-DVD player via optical and get 5.1 that way? Just seems utterly crazy I cannot achieve surround sound using an HD-DVD player and this box somehow.... :confused:
     
  23. don.juan

    don.juan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Via optical it works, but you get DD5.1, no DTS-HD.
     
  24. rosswf

    rosswf
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Woking
    Ratings:
    +1
    OK, many thanks for the info. At least that's something - though why Yamaha did not include this on the spec is quite beyond me - annoying :mad:
     
  25. kevinf123

    kevinf123
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi - I'm new to this thread and hoping someone may be able to help. I have a YSP-40D with SKY HD and Apple TV working fine through the HDMI inputs. I'm trying to get a DVD player working through my component inputs (AUX2) but cannot get this to work whatever I try.

    According to the manual the YSP should upscale the component video through the HDMI link. I've tried this with several devices, made sure the upscaling settings are set right but cannot get it to work. Does anyone else have a device connected through the AUX2 component input and upscaling successfully?

    Any suggestions appreciated !
     
  26. devilhunter

    devilhunter
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +2
    I am now ready to purchase a soundbar and wanted things clarified first.
    My set up is the following -

    52" LCD TV - 3 hdmi, 2 scarts etc etc
    Virgin Media cable - hdmi
    dvd player - hdmi
    ps3 / xbox 360 - hdmi
    VCR - scart
    Laserdisc - composite L/R audio into scart.

    Now how can that lot be connected to a 40D ?
    Can I not leave the connections as they are in the tv but just take the sound from the invidual components into the 40D or since the tv has both digital audio out and RCA L/R audio out connect just the audio to the 40 D this way ?

    The cable box, dvd, ps3 and laser disc all have digital sound outputs although the dvd is the most important for surround then its the ps3 then cable (happy with standard 2 channel sound for everday watching) and finally the laserdisc.

    I cant see why I need take the video signal though the 40D aswell ?

    Please shed a little light guys.
     
  27. gzcunnin

    gzcunnin
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'd appreciate advice regarding which product to purchase; 30d, 40d or 600, 900, 1100.
    I have a Panasonic 42" PX70, DVD Recorder XBoX 360 and am in the process of upgrading to Sky HD. The room is appox 17 feet square.
    Usage is mostly by the childen however we will use for DVD, and Sky.
    Given the big price differences would the smaller boxes be sufficient or, given the screen / room size am I looking at the 40d v 1100? With all the discussions on HDMI I'm inclined to go for the 1100....
    alternatively I could go for a 30d for £50 more!
    Advice / help much appreciated for a novice.
     
  28. louisg

    louisg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,470
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +72
    go for the 1100. my set up is similar to yours. i currently have a 800 and will upgrade to a 1100, you could always buy my 800 though :smashin:
     
  29. djphineart

    djphineart
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello I am not sure if this is the right place to ask but Here goes. I have had the YSP1100 in a second home and was so pleased with it I decided to go for the YSP 40d with additional sub for my main home set-up.

    I am teaming it up with a Samsung 63" inch 1080p plasma and the following sources so need to know if the connections I have planned will work:-

    1) Sony PS3 - HDMI into the DVD HDMI on the YSP with the
    2) Sky+ HD box - HDMI into the YSP STB HDMI
    3) Nintendo Wii - Component video into DVD/Aux2? Audio into ??? got confused at this point

    I was sold on the idea of the up-scaling of the YSP doing a job on the WII's fun but lame graphics but now I am looking on the rear panel I cannot see how this works as the two HDMI inputs I have already used will surely conflict with the component video inputs labelled STB and DVD/Aux2???

    I also wanted to be able to plug my MP3 player into the soundbar via the aux 1 RCA inputs (its not an ipod so I don't want the dock). Have I got this horribly wrong as I really wanted to put all four sources into the YSP but am beginning to think it only does two?

    I need to know as I am about to start sinking cables into the wall and I am confused.

    Any help much appreciated :lease:
     
  30. jelly_belly78

    jelly_belly78
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    I have the old YSP-1100 because I'm renting and can't hang speakers on the walls or chase out the plaster and I think it's pretty good. If you don't need HDMI just yet I'd go for one of these old models.

    In my setup I have a 42" Panasonic plasma, with the YSP mounted below, and a Sony sub, PS3 for Blu-ray replay and it sounds mint for Blackhawk Down and associated war film sounds.

    I run the PS3 to the telly using HDMI and then from the audio out on the telly two phono leads to the YSP. It has a 5 beam and 3 beam setting and the auto setup is pretty good. Plus it's completely configurable in the settings department. In all not bad for a small house or where you need a compact setup.
     

Share This Page

Loading...