Yamaha YSP-30D & YSP40D Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by onkeh, Sep 5, 2007.

Tags:
  1. thfccambs

    thfccambs
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Messages:
    23,968
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    White Hart Lane
    Ratings:
    +6,898
    Pictures please.

    Could someone please take a picture of the 40 from the side?

    Has it got the step behing the speaker?Mines slips into my alpherson stand perfectly so need to know distance from botton to top of the step behind speaker? Hoping it's the same as the YSP-1:lease:

    [​IMG]
     
  2. josefritz

    josefritz
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Newbie, so not sure how to attach photos :oops: .

    If things work, hopefully there are a few useful pictures here. Some (the good quality ones ;) ) are taken from a very detailed review on a German website which I found on the yamaha site. The review is in German (!), but is nevertheless worth checking out for the wide range of photos - I have only included a few.

    http://www.areadvd.de/hardware/2007/yamaha_ysp4000.shtml

    Cheers

    JR

    
     

    Attached Files:

  3. louisg

    louisg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,470
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +72

    sorry to pick fault but do you not find that with the ysp being that low you dont get a good surround sound?

    i had to lift my ysp 800 to near ear hight to get the best sound

    Louis
     
  4. onkeh

    onkeh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,441
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +369
    Can a mod please change the thread title to "Yamaha YSP-30D & YSP40D Discussion Thread"?

    Thanks.
     
  5. thfccambs

    thfccambs
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Messages:
    23,968
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    White Hart Lane
    Ratings:
    +6,898
    No ,think it's fine to tell the truth. Only way i can go really so will have to do.:D
     
  6. thfccambs

    thfccambs
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Messages:
    23,968
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    White Hart Lane
    Ratings:
    +6,898


    Thank you will have a measure up over the weekend.:thumbsup:

    Looks like the inputs are a lot better positioned then on the YSP-1.
     
  7. louisg

    louisg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,470
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +72
    just to advise people about buying from america and ups delivery.

    most get hit for import duty seems scootz got a mega bargain but be aware your more than likely going to have to pay for import duty which is a rip off

    Louis
     
  8. thfccambs

    thfccambs
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Messages:
    23,968
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    White Hart Lane
    Ratings:
    +6,898
    Thought scootz price included import taxes?:confused:
     
  9. ruffage

    ruffage
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,007
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    near the powercore
    Ratings:
    +4,585
    I would like to know what settings YSP owners have chosen, whether leaving them on the auto-setup ones or having tweaked them after? I was thinking about getting the tape measure out and adjusting the sound beams.

    Also which do ppl think is best out of Pro Logic or Pro Logic II? I can't notice any difference imo.
     
  10. onkeh

    onkeh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,441
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +369
    I've updated the first post with the latest info and added an FAQ. Hope you all find it helpful.
     
  11. scootz

    scootz
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep - my price included VAT and Import Duty plus £11 UPS handling fee.
     
  12. Lesmor

    Lesmor
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,679
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire
    Ratings:
    +3,481
    Seen this question asked twice now with no reply.
    I have been waiting for YAMAHA to produce a soundbar that does support the latest HD audio and feel that they have missed a trick by not implementing it on the YSP30/40.
    Hoping there will eventually be one released , but it looks like price might be prohibative if the YSP 40 costs £1100.00.

    Anyway does anyone have a soundbar set up in a normal corner configuration,if so how does the surround field perform?
     
  13. ian4c

    ian4c
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    Regarding the
    I have just set up my YSP 40D in the corner position with the YSTFSW050 connected. The Autoset up failed the first time. I was not surprised as my listening position was well to the right of the centre listening area. But I move the mic about 12" to the left and this time the setup worked fine.

    As many reviewers have said, the sound projector does not give true 5.1 nor did I expect it to give true 5.1. I think in a rectangular room with little furniture and no drapes the sound projector would produce the effect.

    Of my many friends, not one has that sort of room. Without exception all have TV's in a corner. None have a TV in the center. All have lots of furniture and heavy curtains etc.

    So is this unit over the top in terms of cost. Yes! but for me it gives what seems to be an endless variety of sounds to suit what you are watching or listening. The iPod dock works well. DAB radio is really good. And, on top of that the YSP40D fits unabtrusiviley into my TV stand. I just need to raise my Sony 40" up an inch or so. I will post a picture or two later.

    Regarding the YSTF WO50. I have a problem with this unit. Well 3 actually. I arrived damaged. And it was not until I unboxed it that I found a nasty gash on the side. Seems a forklift has penetrated the side of the box. Spoke to Peter Tyson http://www.petertyson.co.uk who immediately agreed to swap it over in the new year.

    Second if the unit is turned up more than half volume it hums!

    Third, when the System Connector is connected a sound like a spark arcing is heard, not loud, but annoying. Also when it is connected altering setting via the remote, the TV remote or any remote for that matter, a loud clicking sound is heard. I am not happy with that. This clicking is sounds like a relay.

    Overall I am delighted with the Sound Projector and for me money well spent.

    Happy Christmas all.

    Ian
     
  14. ian4c

    ian4c
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    Here are some photos re previous message

    Ian
     

    Attached Files:

  15. louisg

    louisg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,470
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +72

    bloody good price that is then

    bet your well chuffed.

    louis
     
  16. Lesmor

    Lesmor
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,679
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire
    Ratings:
    +3,481
    Thanks for the feedback , just need to find out if they are ever going to release a HD Audio version.
    Also DENON have released a soundbar ,have to see if there are any reviews
     
  17. mjoseph

    mjoseph
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    Was thinking of getting a ysp900 as they are nice and cheap now. But for a similar price I could get a US ysp3000. My only concern is the voltage converter, in my experience they are big buggers that buzz. Have things changed can anyone reccomend a good one?

    Cheers,
    Mat
     
  18. Lesmor

    Lesmor
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,679
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire
    Ratings:
    +3,481
    I got a converter some years ago, it was very compact and ceratainly not noisy think I got it from MAPLIN
     
  19. mjoseph

    mjoseph
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Another quick question for those who have one, is the Black version a shiny 'piano black' or is it the usual matt.

    Ta
     
  20. devilhunter

    devilhunter
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +2
    I am seriously thinking of getting a YSP 40D but I am worried about the positioning.
    The way my room is set the LH wall as I sit facing the TV consists of a large window whilst the right is further away and has the stairs wall on it.
    My question is does it matter.
    I am not expecting perfect 5.1 but as long as it is good then I could live with it.
    My other option is to replace my old 3090 with a Onkyo 875 but have the agro of speakers and wire etc.
    Since we are going for a wood floor and a minimalist styling the 40D seems actually perfect but some advice would be helpful :lease:
     
  21. ian4c

    ian4c
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    The finish is Mat black and the front grill is a Satin Black.
     
  22. ian4c

    ian4c
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    This unit has replaced my previous system and separate speakers

    My unit is in a corner in front of a 40" Sony V2000. I listen from the other side a few feet from the corner. Surprisingly the Auto set up works. But I have to be honest and say the I have not heard very much 5.1 sound. Having said that, I am delighted with the sound and many settings and adjustments with the YSP 40D.

    As well the unit has replaced my DAB radio, and my separate iPod Touch speaker system.

    I have the YSTF WO50 as well and overall the sound is great. But as I said, don't expect full 5.1 sound. I would expect in an rectangular, ideal room with little furnishing 5.1 would be good. But how many of us have those rooms?

    Ian
     
  23. rico929

    rico929
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Good, morning this is a question for all those frustrated 40d owners (like myself). Recently purchased said item to run my new Sony HDMI DVD recorder, XBOX 360 and commercial Satelite system through my Panasonic HD LCD. Have connected DVD via HDMI and then HDMI out to the LCD. XBOX connected via optical and component. My problem is that only the xbox is displayed on the YSP as utilising or supplying a 5.1 configuration in the YSP window. Everytime I play a DVD or utilise the inbuilt digital freeview I only get an indication of L and R speaker utilisation. I know it is undoubtedly down to my limited knowledge in the setup area, but its starting to annoy me that the best sound is coming from my 2 year old 360!! Please can someone direct me to the menu setting I need to change

    thanks
     
  24. Black-Adder

    Black-Adder
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    Messages:
    465
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Peoples Republic of Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +32
  25. spc1972

    spc1972
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi there,

    Just got a YSP-40D and connected it to a SkyHD and a Pioneer plasma screen.

    I'm trying to find a code that will enable me to control the volume of the YSP via the Sky remote control. I've done some searches and tried some generic Yamaha codes as well as ones for older YSPs but with no luck.

    Has anyone on the forum got their YSP-40D working as described above and if so what code worked for you?

    Many thanks in advance
     
  26. Floob

    Floob
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Messages:
    364
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +22
  27. Black-Adder

    Black-Adder
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    Messages:
    465
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Peoples Republic of Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +32
    Never heard the 600 model but the YSP-30D is an aweseome piece of kit!

    The only issue I have at the moment is that I have a Tosh HD-EP30 plumbed in via HDMI, but when it's outputs the sound it only shows as 2 channel with HD-DVD's. Older DVD's come out with 5.1 sound...
    I am currently trying to get upto speed on all the formats but when I send blu-ray through a PS3 via optical the YSP outputs in 5.1 glory. Very confusing :confused:
     
  28. defbase

    defbase
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello all new member here. Up-dating my aged system and am cutting down on speakers - selling over a grands worth of kimber and nordost ;) Definate answer needed please people.

    I have a ps3 which I will be using for movies and games.

    I have a new Sky HD box.

    I have a Panasonic VIERA tv with 3 HDMI inputs

    I have a YSP-40D.

    Now (HDMI not existing the last time I got new cables!) should I be connecting the ps3 and sky box to the 40D via HDMI and then HDMI out from the 40D to the TV? Or should I be making use of my optical outs? I'm sure I've read somewhere that Sky HD doesn't like HDMI via the 40D for some reason? Could be mistaken... Just a definative answer please, HDMI cables x3 required or another combination ;) Just incase anyone cares I have read the whole thread and asked the question - I'm not just being lazy! Thanks everyone.
     
  29. louisg

    louisg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,470
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +72
    i would be intrested in anyone who could answer the above post and also the one regarding the ep 30 sound problem

    Louis
     
  30. STEVENM1000

    STEVENM1000
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    130
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Apparently the 600 is the latest model

    http://www.yamaha-uk.com/sound_projectors/?product_id=211
     

Share This Page

Loading...