Yamaha SUB 100 vs NS-SW100

Geppo

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi all, I'm trying to decide between the SUB 100 and the NS-SW100.
I've compared them on the Yamaha website (attached) but since I'm not an expert I don't know how the various numbers translate into sound quality.
The SUB 100 has a smaller cone (8" instead of 10"), but seems to be more powerful, 130W vs 50W.
The SUB 100 also has a wider frequency response range, 28-300 vs 25-180, which I guess it's another good thing.

Unrelated to sound, I also really like the fact that the SUB 100 is much narrower (25cm vs 35cm) and has auto-standy.

The fact that SUB 100 can be used also wirelessly (I have an RX-S602 Multicast) is a bonus, but not a deciding factor.

The only downside of the SUB 100 from what I can see is the price, £229 vs £149.
Do you agree?

YamahaSubsComparison.PNG

Last edited:
I've compared them on the Yamaha website (attached) but since I'm not an expert I don't know how the various numbers translate into sound quality.
The SUB 100 has a smaller cone (8" instead of 10"), but seems to be more powerful, 130W vs 50W.
The SUB 100 also has a wider frequency response range, 28-300 vs 25-180, which I guess it's another good thing.

Unrelated to sound, I also really like the fact that the SUB 100 is much narrower (25cm vs 35cm) and has auto-standy.

The fact that SUB 100 can be used also wirelessly (I have an RX-S602 Multicast) is a bonus, but not a deciding factor.

The only downside of the SUB 100 from what I can see is the price, £229 vs £149.
Do you agree?
The nssw100 is for films, the sub100 is more for music hence the higher frequency which with decent speakers you're not going to go as high anyway considering most people usually put the crossover at around 60-120.
Expect the sub100 to be more of a mid bass model and the sw100 to sound deeper which is preferable for movies.

@Geppo