Yamaha S540 Region Hack

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Player Multiregion Hacks' started by smartn, Jul 30, 2003.

  1. smartn

    smartn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    665
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +17
    Does anyone know if a hack is available for this yet? I see Superfi are selling the player ready modded so I suspect there must be.
     
  2. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    4,819
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +140
  3. Jpfahy

    Jpfahy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'll 'probably' be buying a DVD-S540 from Audio-T tomorrow.
    I'll let y'all know how I get on with the multi-region aspect, however I don't seem to own any RCE titles to try out :confused:

    Anyone know if the DVD-S530 played them ok? The chap on the telephone seemed to think the 540 would use the same remote hack as the 530....
     
  4. Jpfahy

    Jpfahy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Didn't get time to buy the s540 player today :(
    However, I've been informed that the remote hack for multi-region is as follows.........

    Open Disc Drawer
    Press 99990
    Close Disc Drawer

    and that's it.
    Hopefully I will be happily playing my Region 1 DVD's tomorrow morning when I finally get time to buy the damn thing :zonked:
     
  5. smartn

    smartn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    665
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +17
    Wow - that easy. Let me know how you get on.

    Nige
     
  6. Jpfahy

    Jpfahy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just to confirm the hack listed above does work :smashin:
     
  7. timlloyd

    timlloyd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    278
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +9
    Jpfahy

    Have had chance to test the progressive scan on this player yet?
     
  8. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    4,819
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +140
    Could you also test with a RCE title like Spiderman.

    Cheers
     
  9. Jpfahy

    Jpfahy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry I cannot help with either of these requests.

    No RCE titles :(
    No Progressive Scan TV - Display :suicide:
     
  10. smartn

    smartn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    665
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +17
    Should be getting mine in a couple of days, will be able to check RCE (Stewart Little 2, I think is RCE) and will hook up to my Panny Ae100 which will do progressive. Will let you know.
     
  11. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    4,819
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +140
    Nice one smartn, i also have a AE100, do you have St Insurrection, a good disc to test the de-interlacer for jaggies and shimmering, on the intro on the village roof tops. I'm not to bothered about the chroma bug, my sd-510 has it, but I never see it :)

    Yep SL II is RCE.
     
  12. serdar13

    serdar13
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2003
    Messages:
    90
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Will be interested in your findings 'smartn' as I am interested in this player also for PAL progressive scanning to compliment the Toshiba 42WH36 Im considering buying when it comes out, which has pal and ntsc progressive scanning.

    Also, how does it compare to the Sony NS930?
     
  13. calscot

    calscot
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    659
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +0
    Good question serdar. Those are the two on my shortlist. The Yammy is half the price though, and still has a 12bit dac but it only has half the temporal oversampling. I like the thought of SACD too, but don't know if I'll ever use it.

    I take it they are both using proprietary deinterlacing chips? Yamaha used to use Faroudja so they may have learned a thing or two from them. At least they should know what the picture should look like.

    If the 540 is any good, I'll find it difficult not to splurge this month as I'm desperate for prog scan for my pj.

    Cheers,
    Cal.
     
  14. calscot

    calscot
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    659
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +0
    Smartn,

    If you've got a dvd recorder I'd love to know what the grand prix looks like on 576p as the jaggies from the diagonal lines at the side of the track drive me up the wall!

    Cheers,
    Cal.
     
  15. smartn

    smartn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    665
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +17
    Just got mine today. I can confirm the hack works exactly as stated above, it works on RCE (at least it has no problems with Stuart Little 2, which my Tosh 330 struggles with) and the progressive scan output to the Panasonic AE100 is imo much better than non progressive from the TOSH. For £120 delivered from unbeatable this is a great deal. Calcot - sorry no DVD recorder. I would also love to know has this compares to the Sony 930.
     
  16. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    4,819
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +140
    Smartn

    Cheers... looks like my Birthday present might be the dvd-s540 then :)
    How long did it take unbeatable to deliver?
     
  17. smartn

    smartn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    665
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +17
    Timh - They were pretty slow. About two weeks from order, but they were a fair bit cheaper than anywhere else when I ordered so I thought it worth the wait.
     
  18. calscot

    calscot
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    659
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the info smartn, looks like I may be following where you have led.

    Could you tell us if you see any jaggies on moving diagonal lines (eg chrome on car doors), moire patterns on parallel lines (eg blinds) or line twitter on thin horizontal lines?

    Cheers,
    Cal.
     
  19. serdar13

    serdar13
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2003
    Messages:
    90
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Smartn

    So the progressive scan from the yamaha is better than the tosh 330 which hasn't this function. Hmmmmm........Im very interested now!

    Have you tried PAL and NTSC progressive scanning?
     
  20. av_pete

    av_pete
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Has anyone used the zoom feature, and can comment if a 1.33X or 1.5X zoom is possible?

    The brochure states "The Multiple Zoom function lets you vary the size of the image in six steps: 1/4, 1/3, 1/2, 2x, 3x and 4x." Either it's a typo (and 1-1/4, 1-1/3, 1-1/2 was intended) or you this unit lets you unzoom/shrink the image to 1/4th of its size!

    --pete
     
  21. Jpfahy

    Jpfahy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's not a typo.
    You can shrink the image to 1/4 size, though what for I don't know? :confused:
     
  22. av_pete

    av_pete
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Drat; so whilst the S530 had a 1.33X, 2X & 4X zoom, the S540 effectively has only a 2X, 3X & 4X zoom.

    Whilst many will disagree, I find the ~1.33X zoom feature to be useful on the occasionally 2.35:1 movie, where little action is lost by reducing the black borders.

    Thanks Jpfahy.
    -- pete
     
  23. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    4,819
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +140
    Smartn

    Have you had chance to check for jaggies or shimmering yet???
    The reason I ask is I bought a pretty poor progressive pal player a while ago and it was dreadful, very bad jaggies and shimmering.
     
  24. smartn

    smartn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    665
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +17
    Timh - I haven't noticed any jaggies or shimmering. I suppose I may not be as critical as some but all I can say is I am well pleased with it. For the money I think you would be hard pushed to find anything better. Are there any other owners out there who would like to comment?

    Nige
     
  25. serdar13

    serdar13
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2003
    Messages:
    90
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    have you tried ntsc progressive scanning yet?
     
  26. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    4,819
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +140
    Smartn

    Thanks, it sounds like a good one then :)
     
  27. calscot

    calscot
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    659
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm on the verge of ordering but I just want someone to come along and say they put something like ST Insurrection in, watched it on a 7ft screen and then tell us it dealt with all the interlacing artefacts beautifully... :)

    Cheers,
    Cal.
     
  28. timlloyd

    timlloyd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    278
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +9
    To confuse things further you may also be interested to hear that AVland are selling the sony 730 pal ps fro 149 MR. I've just ordered the 930 prior to seeing this, hope I haven't paid £90 extra just for the benefit of SACD!

    http://www.avland.co.uk/sony/dvpns730/index.htm
     
  29. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    4,819
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +140
    Calscot

    Should be testing one with my AE100 next week as I know someone thats purchasing it. So it shall be run through its paces with St Insurrection R2.
     
  30. calscot

    calscot
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    659
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +0
    Argh!!! Was just about to order the Yammy today although with Timh's testing coming up :smashin: it would be silly not to wait another week anyway.

    The 104Mhz DAC of the Sony appeals as does the less prioritised attribute of being slimline - I've got one shelf on my AV unit for my AVR, DVD-R, Sky box and the new PS DVD so the DVD's have to stack on top of each other, unless I put my centre speaker off center - nah.

    I do like the jpeg feature of the Yammy though as I don't have a pc at home and so my parner only sees our photos on a 2" screen or when we print a subset of them at Jessops.

    Anyone tested the 730 yet?

    Cheers,
    Cal.
     

Share This Page

Loading...