Yamaha RXV630RDS

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Lucky Scotsman, Dec 18, 2002.

Tags:
  1. Lucky Scotsman

Lucky Scotsman

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi All,

I have a couple of questions about my new RXV630RDS receiver.

1. The base and treble knobs on the front, do these actually do anything? As I can't notice anything when I change them.

2. Does anyone know the manufacture code for an LG 3200E DVD? or where I can find out?

3. On the Yamaha site, it mentions DTS "ES-Compatible". What is the difference between this and DTS-ES Matrix 6.1 and DTS-ES Discrete 6.1?

4. There are A & B speaker terminals for the front left and right speakers. What would this be for?

I know that these may sound like simple questions, but I am new to this.

Thanks,

Colin

2. sc1977

sc1977

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +8
    the difference i think between matrix and discrete is

matrix is the rear centre channel is matrixed in to the rear surround channels
    and discrete you actually have a dedicated speaker for the rear centre

if you disable the tone bypass you should notice difference when adjusting the bass and treble knobs(not sure if your amp has this though im just going by what i have to do on my A2)

a-b means you can have 2 sets of main speakers running at the same time you can have 1 set in one room and 1 set in another room ie set 1 running off a and set 2 running off b so if yu wanted to listen to music in another room you just press the corresponding channel or you can biwire you speakers, both channel going in to 1 set of speakers enable a and b

abit long winded i know but thats the simplest way i can explain
    i hope this helps m8 :D

3. Lucky Scotsman

Lucky Scotsman

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK, so if I turn on DTS-ES now (with my current 5.1 speakers), I get matrix and when I get a rear center speaker, I will get Discrete 6.1?