Yamaha RXV1700 - Power Problem

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by d-roberts, Oct 22, 2011.

Tags:
  1. d-roberts

    d-roberts
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    45
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +11
    I have a Yamaha RXV1700 that had power problems. It wouldn't power-up without unplugging at the rear... this happened about 3 times before it finally packed in. A search on AVForums revealed a similar problem with the YSP-1000 (yamaha-ysp-1000-power-problem). It sounded like the same issue - a faulty capacitor.

    A quick google revealed a post on an Australian industry forum identifying the capacitor as C4 on the RXV1700 (RXV1700 1279614494). A further google found the service manual and a PDF search found the circuit board holding the C4 capacitor.

    Taking the case off, the circuit board in question is easily accessible:

    [​IMG]

    I ordered the correct Yamaha part from Charleshyde.co.uk (RXV750 CAPACITOR 0.022UF 630V) £0.99 (unfortunately postage is £4.50) and removal and refit was an easy solder job. The amp is now working wonderfully again :)
    I notice a few other RXV1700 onwers have had the same problem, so hope the following pics will encourage others to have a go:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    p.s. I removed the circuit board, but you could easily do the job in-situ.

    Cheers
    Dave
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2017
  2. late8

    late8
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +118
    amazing how all that trouble can be cause by something so small. I bet many have thrown a whole amp away all for one little thing.
     
  3. d-roberts

    d-roberts
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    45
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +11
    Yes, I considered it... I was already eying up an Onkyo replacement, but had to try having read the success YSP-1000 owners had :smashin:
     
  4. gshiels

    gshiels
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My RXV1700 amp hasn't worked for a year and I had it on sale here for spares or repair. Thankfully it didn't sell. I emailed Yamaha with a link to this page, and the Service Manager was extremely helpful. They repaired it for a very reasonable fee.

    If anyone has any issues with a Yamaha amp, I'd strongly suggest getting in touch with the Service Centre in MK. I was worried about the cost and as a result have been without an amp for a long time, and nearly sold it for pocket money!

    A big thank-you to d-Roberts!
     
  5. philpot

    philpot
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Messages:
    129
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    Just like to says thanks to d-Roberts for the above post. I repaired my daughters RX-V1700 today buy replaceing the capacitor c4. Now works fine.
     
  6. koelner81

    koelner81
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you very much for this great guideline to fix the power problem of my yamaha receiver. I just would like to add a little trick to save money when ordering a new capacitor. It must not be the original one from Yamaha, which is about 20 Pounds. I ordererd just normal 22 nF 630 V capacitors (five pieces cost me 2 Euro) and it worked out very well.

    So thank you again for this great posting.
     
  7. Kyser

    Kyser
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you very much for this tutorial :thumbsup:
    I bought a capacitor (RXV750 CAPACITOR 0.022UF 630V) for my Yamaha RXV1700, and I hope to have good news when I have changed.
     
  8. phatboytim

    phatboytim
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    168
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    I have just followed this guide on a RX-V3800 and got it working again, so this issue affects multiple models!

    Thanks for the guide, I bought the amp. faulty for £50 so I'm well pleased.
     
  9. jumbomkd

    jumbomkd
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you so much for detailed instructions,
    My RXV 1700 is working again, I bought the capacitor locally according to your specifications.
    Thanks again
    Vladimir
     
  10. bolz

    bolz
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Ratings:
    +0
    i just pulled my amp apart but my c4 does not look damaged as per you picture could there be another fault
     
  11. phatboytim

    phatboytim
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    168
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Mine did not look damaged either, but was still faulty :)
     
  12. bolz

    bolz
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks ill give it ago
     
  13. d-roberts

    d-roberts
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    45
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +11
    My c4 looked fine... The black marks are just rubber from when I removed it. Replace it with a new one
     
  14. bolz

    bolz
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks thanks thanks just saved $2500 australian dollars on a 55 cent part. love this forum
     
  15. Shimmyhill

    Shimmyhill
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Messages:
    638
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +19
    I fixed my 2700 with this part, did as all of them and started to not come on then totally died - bought the cap and IT at work soldered it and cleaned the dust out - working perfectly now :D

    Mine also looked fine, again lots of money saved but i was looking forward to 8 hdmi inputs...
     
  16. CrazySwan

    CrazySwan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    108
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +11
    Hi - do you know if it's the same part for an RX-V1900? I'm having similar issues, and although I'd love an excuse to upgrade it's not a great time for me financially!
     
  17. phatboytim

    phatboytim
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    168
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    I suspect it will be, considering the number of other models it fits :)

    If on doubt, open up the amp. and have a look at the capacitor for the numbers
     
  18. CrazySwan

    CrazySwan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    108
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +11
    Opened it up tonight and it's exactly the same, so just ordered a replacement C4. I'll let you know how I get on...
     
  19. CrazySwan

    CrazySwan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    108
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +11
    I replaced the C4 last night and thanks to the brilliant advice and photos from d-Roberts (and others here) I'm happy to say my v1900 is working as good as new again :thumbsup:
    It probably took me 20 mins from start to finish and is easy enough that anyone with basic soldering skills ( ie me) could do it themselves.
    Thanks again, the Denon 4520 will have to wait a little longer...
     
  20. d-roberts

    d-roberts
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    45
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +11
    Top banana!
     
  21. Rezillo

    Rezillo
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Messages:
    174
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +9
    Posted this on a related thread for an 1800 that linked here, but posted here as well to help anyone googling the same issue with an RXV1500. Yes, it's an old receiver but quite satisfying to get it working by a repar that costs very little and takes only a few minutes to do.

    I dug out from my workshop a dead RXV1500, which had been under a pile of of junk there for some years. It was useless because it would not power on but it just looked too good to throw away, and there it stayed, largely forgotten about.

    It turns out that the 1500 has a similar, but not the same, circuit board in the same position as that of the 1700. It also has one very similar looking capacitor, which I removed, tested (dud) and replaced. Switched on and the receiver burst into life - result!

    The capacitor is C6 on the 1500's circuit board, and is described in the service manual as C.PP 0.01uF 100v. PP seems to be polypropylene, given that others are described as C.MYLAR, C.EL etc. It is just below a small transformer on the board, next to the AC inlet and outlets (I think mine was a EU model with two pin outlets). Unlike the 1700, the board needs to come out to replace the capacitor but it is very easy to do this. Replacement - search on Ebay (no quotes) "0.01uF VALVE RADIO HIFI" to get higher voltage rated ones but which will work ok.

    I now have a vastly over-specced amp to play music in my workshop, thanks to the info on this thread.

    Annoyingly, only two weeks ago I threw out the remote!
     
  22. noisuf

    noisuf
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks so much for the 22nF 630V capacitor fix......I fixed my V3800 tonight!

    And here I was thinking I would be 'forced' to buy a new amp. :)
     
  23. 750ACE

    750ACE
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Australia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks so much for this information, it saved me tons of money on buying new or getting the amp repaired. I was just like everyone else here wondering 'how I was going to afford a new amp'. I went to JayCar and spent 55cents on the part and amp is working perfectly.
     
  24. Passingbat

    Passingbat
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    7,569
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1,331
  25. ku253

    ku253
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks very much for the information. It worked on my RX V 2700 as well. The costs are in 0,30 EUR in Germany. Unbelieveable!
     
  26. SJP2015

    SJP2015
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just followed this repair for my rx v3800 it also worked. The amp would not switch on a few times unless I pulled the power lead then about the third time it completely died. I ordered the C2 from Charles Hyde, be patient with there website it is not easy to find the correct part as it is not listed under a 3800. The part code is 42004BM and listed as Rxv750 0.022Uf 630V Yamaha.

    Thank you D-Roberts for the photos, brilliant.
     
  27. Mxman

    Mxman
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    uk
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anybody help.

    I did this fix a 6-8 weeks ago. And worked perfect until now.
    Went to put on the amp today and it was 100% dead.
    Replaced the capaictor again but still 100% dead.

    Anybody have any ideas?
     
  28. ollysteve

    ollysteve
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    95
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Cumbernauld
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thank you so much for this just sorted my RX-V1900 quick trip to RS and a solder in and we are all back in business.
     
  29. Decesar

    Decesar
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    Montpellier
    Ratings:
    +0
    Great pictures and explanations. I was about to give up with the rx-v2700 I baught back in 2007, cause no one would repair it. I changed the C4 capacitor today and it worked. Now I just have to reconnect everything and hope that it will hold. Big thanks from the South of France.
     
  30. Stinger

    Stinger
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,209
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +45
    Many Thanks to the OP for sharing this, got a new cap from the bay and soldered in, job took around 10 mins and now the Yammy is back to the land of the living :clap:

    Thanks again :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice