1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Yamaha RXV 495 and DTS/Dolby Digital

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by -, May 14, 2001.

Tags:
  1. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Steve

    Have you checked the Sony menu system to check that the digital out is not restricted to PCM?
     
  2. stevegreen

    stevegreen
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2001
    Messages:
    8,727
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    in my Hymer
    Ratings:
    +984
    ermmmm, no i haven't

    I suppose that is in the audio settings menu. Would that also be the reason that the DTS logo does not illuminate when DTS is selected on Gladiator? The other thing is that the X Men disc illuminates the Dolby Digital logo but the amp still displays Pro Logic......or am i wittering now?? (you canm tell i'm upset about it can't you!) ;)
     
  3. Nike

    Nike
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2001
    Messages:
    654
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    bournemouth, UK.
    Ratings:
    +17
    Steve,
    In the DVD players audio menu, select output 'bitstream'. The amp should now automatically setect DD/DTS.
     
  4. stevegreen

    stevegreen
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2001
    Messages:
    8,727
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    in my Hymer
    Ratings:
    +984
    I just realised, it's a Yamaha RX-V496RDS, not 495....DOH, maybe if i put in the correct info it may be easier for you all....I'll have a play tonight on that one Nike

    Cheers All, hoping for 5:1 til the early hours!
     
  5. stevegreen

    stevegreen
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2001
    Messages:
    8,727
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    in my Hymer
    Ratings:
    +984
    This may be in the wrong forumn but i'll give it a go anyway.

    I have a Yamaha RXV 495 coupled with a Sony DVP 335, both of which have DTS and Dolby Digital symbols on the display. I'm sure the amp has a decoder for both DTS and DD but i just can not seem to get this working. I'm using a digital lead to transfer the audio. When i put in the Gladiator disc and select the DTS soundtrack it just reverts to the normal pro logic setting and X men displays Dolby Digital on the DVD display but the amp just Pro Logic. This is driving me mad as i SHUOLD be able to decode both of the required formats. Can someone help me?? :confused:
     
  6. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Welcome aboard. Prepare (possibly)
    for a narcotic like addiction to
    take hold.

    Regards

    SteveEX

    --------------------------------
    And he just stand's there waiting
    for me to drive my truck straight
    through him..... with light coming
    out of his mouth!!!
     
  7. Reiner

    Reiner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    3,315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +13
    The unit has DD/DTS decoding, that's for sure.

    Try using a different (digital) input after checking your DVD players setup (bitstream must be enabled for DD/DTS) - if no success.

    As well check if the auto-decoding is set to "on", else try to switch manually to DD/DTS.
     
  8. Stewart C

    Stewart C
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The Yamaha has an auto format select, similar to Sony amps and a manual select. Check that it is set up as automatic or it will not 'see' DD/DTS.

    Regards :)
     
  9. stevegreen

    stevegreen
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2001
    Messages:
    8,727
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    in my Hymer
    Ratings:
    +984
    Thanks Guys, with your help and a chat with Techtronics re: RCE i've got everything working now, DTS, Dolby Digital, Charlies Angels (R1), the whole shebang......

    I feel like i've just had my system delivered again, that DTS is utterly superb.

    What Joy!

    Cheers again

    Steve ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...