1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Yamaha RX750 video-up quality.....

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Kamakazie, Apr 4, 2005.

Tags:
  1. Kamakazie

Kamakazie

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +22
    Right im looking at using the video-up capability of this amp/reciever to send all my signals to the TV via a component lead.

Now if i use a certain setup I will have to go from RGB scart on my digibox to the amp.... i was thinking i could use a scart to svideo + 2 phono lead..... this signal would then be upscaled by the amp to a component source and sent via that.

My question as im not very technical with all this stuff... will the scart to svideo and phono be able to carry the RGB source? Will the phono plugs retain a decent sound quality? and After upscaling to the component source and uses svideo in will the picture from the digibox still be pretty good or is it going to look shoddy therefore making it better to just rgb scart to VGA or component on my display using a JS converter??

thanks

2. Zacabeb

Zacabeb

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +9
    The RGB signal cannot be sent via S-video unless using a signal converter. Using a SCART->S-video adapter would feed the composite signal from the SCART into the receiver, along with the red signal from RGB on the color pin. The result would in this case most likely be a black-and-white picture with visible patterning.

Using a JS Technology converter for turning the RGB signal into YUV component would be a better choice. Then you can either bypass the receiver or use it for video switching.

The RX-V750 does not upscale any signals. S-video and composite video are merely decoded and output in their native resolution through the component output.