Yamaha RX-V781: connection of notebook (or PC) doesn't provide proper Audio unless HDMI 1+2 is enabled - WHY?

ferion

Novice Member
Reaction score
Hi, everyone,

After studying the manual for several hours and (un)plugging cables and changing settings on the AVR, I am desperate and hope for a hint as to what I'm doing wrong here.

I've been using the Yamaha RX-V781 for several years.
The TV (via HDMI 1) and a projector (Epson EH-TW7000, connected via HDMI 2) are connected to the two HDMI outs of the AVR.

Up until now, the HDMI INs were used to connect an Amazon Fire TV Stick and a Blue Ray Player, (among other devices). Watching movies/shows (alternatively via TV or projector) with the corresponding audio output via the loudspeakers connected to the AVR has always worked without any problems.

I now want to connect my notebook to one of the previously unused HDMI inputs of the AVR for the first time via HDMI cable, so that I can also see its image via TV or projector, with audio output via the loudspeakers connected to the AVR.

The output of the video image works fine, but I have simultaneous audio output ONLY IF I activate the HDMI option HDMI 1 + 2 on the AVR. Meaning: in order to have an audio signal watching with the projector, I also have to switch on the TV! If TV is turned off or if I pull the AVR/TV connection I have no sound!

How can that be or why is that so? I definitely don't want a parallel image on TV, when watching on the projector.

On the notebook (Win 10), the AVR is recognized perfectly when the HDMI cable is plugged in. I don't have any other setting options. But I'm also sure that the cause has to found in the AVR, ie. which setting is wrong or missing ???

The HDMI cable is definitely ok (I tried different ones) and in my opinion it is not the problem with the HDMI input of the AVR (I plugged the HDMI cable from the notebook into different inputs on the AVR with the same result)