YAMAHA RX-V6A

Shaunotto

Novice Member
I am new to AV and compatibility between products and so fourth so bare with me.

I have a problem and I would like some advice before I make a purchase decision. I have a 2020 Samsung QLED Q95T, Bose 700 soundbar and a ps5 + Xbox series X. The problem I have is that the TV has only one HDMI 2.1 Port and I need more ports to support the newest features of the next gen consoles and swapping the cables from the port is tiresome and not easily accessible. I have done a lot of research and there are no HDMI 2.1 switches on the market and I was looking to purchase the Yamaha RX-V6A basically as a glorified switch to handle all of my inputs and support 4K120/HDR/VRR/ALLS etc. I am aware of the HDMI 2.1 bug and that Yamaha will provide a fix later down the road and that's fine with me.

So is it possible to run the soundbar from the Yamaha as the receiver without any issues? And just use the receiver for my HDMI connections? The Yamaha does not have optical out so not sure if it will work. I'm assuming the receiver will have to be connected through the TV's HDMI 2.1 to pass through 2.1 features and soundbar through ARC? If you can provide advice on my issues and hopefully the Yamaha can be a solution? Any meaningful advice would be truly appreciated.

PS: I know its not conventional to buy a AV receiver with a soundbar but these are the products I have and I want to make the system work the best I can.

dante01

Distinguished Member
There's a prexisting owners thread on the board for this receiver here:

The XBox is unlikely to be able to pass its 4K/120Hz output through the Yamaha AV receiver due to the inherent flaws with the new HDMI version 2.1 chipsets that have been employed within the new receivers:

As to a fix, Yamaha cannot promise you one or gurantee that they can actually fix this issue.