1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Yamaha RX-V650 Receiver

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by DLP-FAN, Mar 5, 2005.

Tags:
  1. DLP-FAN

DLP-FAN
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am planning to buy either a Yamaha RX-V650 or a 450 Receiver, but not sure what sort of speaker package I need to buy with it. Do I need to buy a speaker with a subwoofer included or do I just need to buy a set of speaker e.g. set of five that includes a centre speaker. If I need to buy with the subwoofer included, do I need a Active sub or a Passive sub.

What I need is a good quality sound from my TV as well as watching movies from my DVD player. I am not an expert in this area so will appreciate some help from you experts.

Thanks in advance.

2. ehayde

ehayde
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    :hiya: Hi m8
    can u give us a little more detail?
    How much is your budget approx, what size is your listening area / room. do you also require this system to be a good music playback or purely movies and tv.

3. DLP-FAN

DLP-FAN
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Ehayde,

Well I will not like to spend more than £200 on the speakers, but I may be prepared to pay slightly more than that if I am getting better quality. My living room size is 11" by 10", just a standard room.

For the moment I would like a good surround sound purely for watching movies and TV but would later be connecting my music system (but this is not important as I am not in listening music). As I have mentioned that I am intending to go for the Yamaha Receiver (budget around £290), is there another better receiver you suggest that will give me a better sound quality. I will be connecting this to my new Sagem HD-45 TV.

Thanks again

4. Llanowar

Llanowar