Yamaha RX-V530 Pre-outs

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by jock2, Oct 4, 2002.

Tags:
  1. jock2

jock2

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was looking through the forum today and I came across the thread (3/9/02) about the Yamaha by Chucky. As I am new to receivers I have just ordered my first one from QED the Yamaha RX-V 530 can you explain what is meant by pre-outs, without getting to technical, I thought that if I connected the new Sony 200cd multi changer which I have just bought I would be able to listen to my cds with the sound coming through all 5 speakers + sub if I was in Dolby pro logic11 mode. Is this not possible?
    Looking forward to your reply as I am a novice at this

2. Electric Mayhem

Electric Mayhem
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,030
    You will be able to connect it up and listen to the 5 speakers and sub. By default PL2 doesn´t have a sub channel (.1 LFE) but if you set all speakers to small and all bass to the sub the sub will handle all bass below a certain frequency (i.e 80hz) and the other speakers will handle everything above.

Pre-Outs are for connecting to a seperate Power amplifier should you want to connect one up. The subwoofer is connected to the Sub Pre-Out, assuming your sub is powered (active).

3. jock2

jock2

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have ordered the Mission FS1 speakers to go with the Yam 530
    How do I set this all up?
    Please remember that I am a novice to all of this

4. Electric Mayhem

Electric Mayhem
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,030