Yamaha RX V375, 5.1 Surround with Passive Sub

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by Dave Pally, Feb 24, 2014.

1. Dave Pally

Dave Pally
    Novice Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,

I'm new to audio systems and have just bought the above receiver to go with a set of Yamaha 5.1 (6 Ohms, max 100W) speakers that I got cheap. As the title states, the sub is passive rather than active. I aim to get an active sub when my bank balance allows it.

I'm after tips on the ideal setup of the speakers as they are, in order to give the best sound. I plan on running the auto setup with the 5.1 speakers, excluding the sub. I was then going to connect the sub to the FR channel in order to make use of it. A salesman in Richer Sounds suggested this would be OK but did warn about overloading etc. Does this sound like a reasonable plan or should I take a different approach?

Thanks in advance for your responses.

Dave

2. Gaspode_TWD

Gaspode_TWD

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +69
  3. Dave Pally

Dave Pally
    Novice Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the reply, it certainly would. Would it be possible to connect two sets of speaker wire from R and L channels to provide 50 Watts if deemed necessary?

Also, I only have a single pre out on the amp, would I just connect it to the L port or would a splitter be required?

Thanks again!
    Dave

4. Gaspode_TWD

Gaspode_TWD

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +69
    I'd suggest just using the one channel. The power supply is not that great so although they claim 25w per channel I wouldn't assume that pairing would automatically get you double. However, I'm pretty confident you'll get enough volume from one the channel anyway.

5. dante01

dante01
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +11,058