Yamaha RX-V1800

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by charlie55, Jun 3, 2008.

Tags:
  1. charlie55

    charlie55
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,352
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Falkirk
    Ratings:
    +89
    Just bought this about 1 month ago and not used much(waiting on new stand). When stand arrived i put system in it,the amp played 2 films then started shutting itself down.
    I returned AMP to shop and they have sent it to checked out by repair centre my question is are these amps as bombproof as the shop says they are,they are telling me they have never had a Yamaha amp break down and the fault is almost certainly mine.The only place i can think of a short circuit is the speaker terminals but i always use banana plugs so this can't happen.Any idea's
     
  2. maxipax

    maxipax
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Messages:
    191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi,
    I bought one of these about a month ago as well. Have not yet used mine really cos of work. I chose this amp after a lot of reseach and it did appear to be very good..
    Hope you get on ok
    All the best
    max
     
  3. davepuma

    davepuma
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    17,520
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,505
    What speakers are you driving? If they're of a low impedence did you set the Yamaha up to match that impedence (providing it has an impedence switch on the rear)? Did you play the system loud? Was there plenty of clearance above the amp and did you have any kit on top of it?
     
  4. charlie55

    charlie55
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,352
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Falkirk
    Ratings:
    +89
    The speaker set-up is B&W MT-I's
    Shop set imp so i assume it would be correct
    No i do play it loud but not at levels to make me cringe
    Yes
    No
    Did'nt really play much before move to new stand maybe a couple of films and then 1 complete film and 25 mins. of another before it started shutting itself down!
     
  5. Bogtrotter

    Bogtrotter
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't think its safe to assume these things. I know from experience that the Yamaha AV Amps have got very sensitive protection circuits built in. I have even seen a Yamaha Amp shut down with a defective speaker which on its own sounded fine but could only be detected audibly when compared during auto setup of the Yamaha Amp with the other speakers.

    From the specs the B&L speakers have nominal impedence of 8 ohms but I also note that they quote 4.8 ohm minimum impedance.

    With the sensitivity of the protection circuits I would try setting the Amp for for 6 ohms and see if it helps. (I think with the RX-V1800 one can only select between 8 and 6 ohms.) If in doubt and problems like this happen always set to the lowest impedance and then suck it n see.

    Bog
     
  6. Helicon

    Helicon
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    5,016
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +261
    Yamaha's reliability is excellent, maybe even the best in it's class, and has been for years. It's unusual for this level of Yamaha to go faulty, but like anything, not impossible.
     
  7. charlie55

    charlie55
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,352
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Falkirk
    Ratings:
    +89
    Just recieved a phone call from the shop that sold me the Yamaha and they and Yamaha have agreed to replace the amp.
    I still have no idea what the fault was because the shop either have not been told what it was or are not saying. The only reason for the last statement was of thinly veiled hints that i was the cause of the problem!
    I have scaled back my system lately and have set up much bigger systems than the one i now have without damaging anything.
    Anyway thanks for the suggestions on what might have been the cause and i will try and keep you up to date on how the new one behaves.
     
  8. Helicon

    Helicon
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    5,016
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +261
    I'm guessing the store hasn't yet heard what the fault is and are either siding with you and agreeing to exchange the amp, or are just passing on Yamaha's decision. I don't see any reason why the store would hide the reason for the problem. If you were posing a genuine problem yourself, there would be no point in replacing the amp, so i assume it's just a one off fault.

    Do let us know if you find out.....i'm sure if you ask them they'll find out for you.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice