1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Yamaha HTR5540rds

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by harpal, Dec 20, 2004.

Tags:
  1. harpal

    harpal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    66
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    South Tottenham
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

    All I have the above model amp and I believe I have blown the muting transistor on this amp I have no warranty on amp and have gone to yamaha website to find repairers this has come up with my local curries and they wanna charge £55 plus parts is this something simple that maybe I can fix myself or plz can some recommend a place I can get this done have heard this should be an in-expensive repair on av forums.

    harpal
     
  2. thfccambs

    thfccambs
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Messages:
    18,769
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    White Hart Lane
    Ratings:
    +4,812
    Hallo m8,
    i have just brought a yam 750 and will be selling my yam 5540,let me know if your intrested?It's yours for £70 + delivery excellent condition only problem is remote only works when it wants to.
    Could work out cheaper for you.
     
  3. harpal

    harpal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    66
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    South Tottenham
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hunts,

    cheers for the offer I think it will work out cheaper to get it repaired as the amp has actually had little usage I am sure some1 in this forum must know some1 who can help get this amp fixed for me.

    Harpal
     
  4. Mylo

    Mylo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,541
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +372
    How do you know it's the muting transistor? What is the fault?
     
  5. harpal

    harpal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    66
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    South Tottenham
    Ratings:
    +0
    mylo,

    please have a look @ the following thread this was posted by me will hopefully explain things, also when I bought the amp from richers I got the extended gaurantee for a further 2 years which cost £19.99, unfortunately richer won't fix it cause I can find the paper bit I got when I purchased the item which I think it rather out of order since I can give them a cc statement, but there argument is that they know I have bought it but they still won't repair without this supercare reciept oh well, any help would be gratefully accepted.

    Harpal
     
  6. harpal

    harpal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    66
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    South Tottenham
    Ratings:
    +0
  7. Mylo

    Mylo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,541
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +372
    Sounds like a similar fault to one I had on my Yamaha DSP which was indeed caused by the output transistors. If it uses the same transistors as mine, I can send you some FOC but you would still have to find some to do the repair for you.

    Cheers, Mylo
     
  8. harpal

    harpal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    66
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    South Tottenham
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mylo,

    Nice to see and hear from geniunely nice ppl who try there best to help out I not sure how I will find out if the transistors are the same as your yamaha but hey I guess it worth a chance I was think of just taking it down to my local repairer I am sure he would be cheaper then the rest I guess just annoyed richer did not see fit to honour there warranty how much did it cost for you to get urs repaired ?
     
  9. Mylo

    Mylo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,541
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +372
    I fixed mine at work with the help of two other engineers during a rare quiet spell. The actual repair only takes five minutes but the fault finding took us a while, as we had no drawings. The most time consuming bit is taking the unit to pieces and re-assembling it. The transistors were only about 10 pence each. See if your local repair guy will give you a free quote for the repair.
     
  10. harpal

    harpal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    66
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    South Tottenham
    Ratings:
    +0
    mylo,

    How much in your opinion should I pay to get the amp repaired I mean it works perfectly other then the thumping sound. I am pretty handy with repair I guess I could try repairing myself how do you go about locating the fault is it something easy or do you need the right tools?
     
  11. Mylo

    Mylo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,541
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +372
    Unless you have an electronics background and a proper antistatic workstation set up with access to the test equipment it could be quite difficult.

    As to how much you should pay, my colleague estimates we could have done the repair in about 1.5 hours if we had known where to look, it depends how much they charge per hour for labour.
     
  12. harpal

    harpal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    66
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    South Tottenham
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mylo,

    cheers for your input on this issue I think I will take it down to my local shop and pretend I know what I am talking about let the guy know I think it the muting transistors etc and hopefully he can get it sorted for me without taking me for a ride.

    cheers
     
  13. thfccambs

    thfccambs
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Messages:
    18,769
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    White Hart Lane
    Ratings:
    +4,812
    Good luck m8 hope you get it sorted ok. :thumbsup:
     
  14. harpal

    harpal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    66
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    South Tottenham
    Ratings:
    +0
    mylo,

    just remembered my misses has an uncle who used to have a repair shop and repaired telly's videos etc gunna get him to have a look if he finds out what transistor it is do I have to order the transistors directly from yamaha?

    Harpal
     
  15. Mylo

    Mylo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,541
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +372
    I got mine from www.cpc.co.uk, they are part number: 2SC2878 (50volt NPN)

    If it turns out they are the same, drop me a PM and I will happily post a couple over to you.

    Cheers, Mylo
     
  16. harpal

    harpal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    66
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    South Tottenham
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mylo,

    there out of stock typical hey just my luck
     

Share This Page

Loading...