Quantcast

Question Yamaha HTR-3065

Sparky1970

Hi, I've have the Yamaha HTR-3065 for around 6-7 years now, I'm now in the process of upgrading my tv to an LG oled. It mentions 4k pass-through on the specs of the av receiver, I take it thats 4k pass-through for audio only ? If so how is it generally connected to allow 4k pass-through ? Also does my Yamaha upscale for 4K because if it does I would disable it to allow the tv to do the upscaling ? I was considering upgrading the receiver but at a later date for Dolby Atmos but I dont know the difference in quality of sound to compare. I have mentioned in another post about connecting my system together and received some excellent answers but I thought that a new thread would be better suited here. i'm trying to get the best possible connection without losing image or sound quality. As I'm new to setting this up I'm getting a little confused 🤔

I will be connecting the following to the new tv -

Sky Q 2tb box
Yamaha HTR-3065 5.1 surround av receiver
Fire TV | Streaming Media Player (Previous Generation–2nd)
PANASONIC - UB820 Smart 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray & DVD Player

gibbsy

4K pass through refers to the video not the audio. There is no such thing as 4K audio. The audio on 4K is the same as that found on standard blu ray discs, ie Dolby TrueHD and DTS MA. The receiver should pass through 4K video. Whether you'll get any HDCP issues I don't know as I can't find out what level of HDCP is onboard the receiver. If you have no problems then connect all the units up to the Yamaha via HDMI with just a HDMI connect to the TV.

As for upscaling you will have to go into the HDMI set up and turn off all video upscaling if indeed there is any onboard. If you do get any issues with image then connect all your equipment up by HDMI to the TV and use the TV's optical out to the receiver for 5.1 sound.

dante01

Distinguished Member