Yamaha DVDS540 or Cambridge Audio DVD57

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by ChickenDevil, Jan 13, 2004.

  1. ChickenDevil

    ChickenDevil
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +0
    After checking through the forums, I was going to get the Yamaha as it seemed to have everything I was looking for at a good price, and I also have a Yamaha decoder.

    I went to Richer Sounds, but the salesman tried to persuade me to get the Cambridge Audio DVD55 or 57, which he said was a better player.
    He showed me reviews of these players which were good, but I understand that Richer Sounds owns Cambridge Audio, therefore you would assume that the staff are told to push their hardware.

    Can anyone advise me of which is the better player in their opinion, or recommend a decent sub £150 player.

    The Richer Sounds guy also recommended a Pioneer, but I can't remember the model number now.

    I also intend playing my CD's on it, so I need good sound quality.

    Thanks in advance.

    (Newbie)
     
  2. Ed Selley

    Ed Selley
    AVF Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    10,930
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,298
    I say 'till I'm blue in the bloody face CA is owned by Audio Partnership PLC who are independant of RS but are distributed solely by RS in the UK but not the other 38 countries where the product is sold.
     
  3. upallnight

    upallnight
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,683
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    watford
    Ratings:
    +77
    i agree stick with the yammy ,very good player for the money
    i was unfotunate enough to be talked in to buying a cambridge audio dvd57.could have been a great player but flawed.
    subtitles come on all the time which means constantly turning them of manually, which in turn stops subtitles that should be displayed -being displayed(extremely annoying to which RS had no answer to)so i took it back.
    so get the yammy
    great player
     
  4. ChickenDevil

    ChickenDevil
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for your advice guys - Much appreciated!

    Tons of Fun - I assumed CA was owned by Richer Sounds as the photocopy of the review that the guy gave me states: "...Cambridge Audio is an altogether different beast, owned by Richer Sounds' Audio Partnership" which suggests that Richer Sounds owns Audio Parnership??? if that makes sense.

    Anyway, Thanks again.
     
  5. windfall

    windfall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,330
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    LFC Kop End
    Ratings:
    +58
    Christ guys

    I had exactly the same issue today - posted further up.

    I ended up leaving with a DVD-55, which I said I would try. If I dont like it I will be taking it back next week. I reckon there must be a lot more profit for them to sel lthe CA brand, because every RS shop I have been to the push those HARD!

    I hope my DV-55 is not problematic with the subtitles, but it is annoying to know now that a newer range is to be release soon.

    Thanks for the info.

    Tony
     
  6. ChickenDevil

    ChickenDevil
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tonetrainer - Let me know your opinion on the dvd55.

    I still haven't bought the Yam, but found a shop selling it for £99.95 (multiregion), so I'm going to go for it tomorrow.

    Cheers.
     
  7. bonzobanana

    bonzobanana
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    3,446
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Yeovil
    Ratings:
    +219
    The Cambridge Audo dvd player looks so much like a generic chinese design. Perhaps they've fine tuned them or been manufactured with higher quality components or alternately perhaps they haven't and its just a huge profit margin for Richer Sounds. The DVD55 is very similar to the Compacks DVD5000 as sold in safeway for as low as £35. It may not be identical but it ain't far off.

    Given the choice between the Yamaha and the Cambridge I know which one I would go for.
     
  8. ChickenDevil

    ChickenDevil
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +0
    Bonzobanana You're right about the Chinese manufacturing.
    - Extract from Hi-Fi World & Computer Audio, July 2003:

    "The 1990's saw the company (CA) being relaunched under the auspices of Richer Sounds' Audio Partnership, and a product range pitched in more affordable climes thanks to low-cost manufacturing in China."
     
  9. bonzobanana

    bonzobanana
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    3,446
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Yeovil
    Ratings:
    +219
    I don't mind if Cambridge Audio have designed a dvd player from the ground up using high quality components and in order to sell it at a competitive price had it made in China. However I suspect whats really happened is they've just rebranded a completely chinese design which can be had for a third of the price under a different name. Most of the japanese brands at least have some design input on their models even if they are assembled for them in china using low cost chinese components.
     
  10. windfall

    windfall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,330
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    LFC Kop End
    Ratings:
    +58
    Guys

    The verdict

    Good sound/vision PAL progressive is weird as the player keeps reporting its an NTSC if I recall PAL pics are 625 lines and NTSC are 525??

    My PJ reported both PAL/NTSC disks in 525 lines regardless of interlaced or P/Scan. So I am confused.

    Your comments about the chassis are correct. It looks CHEAP sat next to my existing Pioneer 414 and Yamaha amp and Sky+ box.

    I really hate the display - it is unreadable because of the brightness and the display is a garish light blue that is unreadable beyond 5 feet where at 15 ft my Pioneer display is excellent.

    whats the coulour of the Yamaha? The guy - Tim in Leicester branch of RS was slagging off the build quality of the Yamaha - does anyone own one of these?

    Where is the yamah selling MR for £100 - As I am tempted to just buy one and ignore RS, this issue is beginning to get on my T*ts now.

    Tony
     
  11. ChickenDevil

    ChickenDevil
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can get the Yamaha DVDs540 here:

    www.superfi.co.uk

    The site says internet offer, but I rang my local store yesterday, and they're selling it at the shop for the same price (£99.95), and they have it in stock.

    You can get it in silver or black.
     
  12. windfall

    windfall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,330
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    LFC Kop End
    Ratings:
    +58
    Thanks matey will order one for delivery me thinks, although I'll await the return of the unit I have first just in case they give me grief!

    Tony
     
  13. windfall

    windfall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,330
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    LFC Kop End
    Ratings:
    +58
    ChickenDevil

    Have been checking out this SuperFi Site they also sell the latest Yamaha amps which I am seriously keen on so thanks for the refferal!

    Tony
     
  14. Family Guy

    Family Guy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've got a Yamaha 540 and have had no problems with it. It outputs "proper" pal progressive as well. Got mine from RS about 6 weeks ago. Guess what - I took back a CA DV55 for it...:rolleyes: The fact that the display stays on and say StaNDbY when it's switched off was enough for me to go running straight back to the shop...:rolleyes:

    You could always ask for a region 2 Yamaha at a cheaper price. The code to make it MR is so simple -
    Open the disc drawer
    Using the remote, enter 99990

    Hey Presto - multi region!!
     
  15. windfall

    windfall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,330
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    LFC Kop End
    Ratings:
    +58
    Army Bloke

    Nice one - I'll do that, what a star!
     
  16. ChickenDevil

    ChickenDevil
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +0
    just bought the player, and that's exactly what the bloke in the shop did:

    Cracked open the box, opened the dvd drawer & entered the code.
     
  17. windfall

    windfall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,330
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    LFC Kop End
    Ratings:
    +58
    Thats a bit of a flaming rip off if you ask me!!! Still we live in the place commonly called "rip off britain".
     
  18. ChickenDevil

    ChickenDevil
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +0
    I's still the cheapest I've found - under £100 for a Yam 540.
     
  19. bobbypunk

    bobbypunk
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    are shops actually charging for dvds540's to be multi regioned?
    Well £100 is a good price anyway.
     
  20. fdpxfunix

    fdpxfunix
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    23
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    West Sussex England
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got my S540 from Richer Sounds and the salesman pointed me towards the CA 57 too!

    After weighing up the 'What HI-FI' and 'What Widescreen Video' reviews, I decided to replace my Wharfedale 750 with the Yam.

    For the money I cannot fault it. Colours and detail from DVD's on my 36ZD26p using the component inputs are stunning.

    I'm not sure about the prog scan tho. As my TV only accepts NTSC prog scan, all my region 2 discs are being converted by the player (which I knew would happen) but I'm surprised at how much judder there is on the conversion. Running a region 1 disc (Matrix) in prog scan, NTSC, component inputs is superb, but I'm sure there's still a bit of judder .... maybe I'm being picky?

    Still a good buy for £109 I think.

    J.
     
  21. Family Guy

    Family Guy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    There will be judder mate - it's downconverting a disc that supposed to be shown in 60hz to 50 hz. You'll see judder - espicially on long pans...
     
  22. fdpxfunix

    fdpxfunix
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    23
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    West Sussex England
    Ratings:
    +0
    At least I'm not going mad!

    I presume thats on Region1 discs using Prog Scan on NTSC?

    J.
     
  23. Family Guy

    Family Guy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    :blush: Got that the wrong way round...NTSC is 60hz and pal is 50hz, so it's speeding the disc up but cutting down on lines (480 instead of 576)
     
  24. Alan_Be

    Alan_Be
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2002
    Messages:
    73
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +6
    I bought a CA-55 from Richer on Friday and swoped it on Monday, I have an AE-300 with a 7' screen. The S-video was dismal but a huge step up when I tried it with component. It is better at shadow detail than the player I with.
    However it's weakness is chroma noise...a bright backround with a dark subject and it was lost in the noise, an example is in the chariot fight in Gladiator. The scene in the tunnel is very dark and the CA55 managed to bring out amazing detail stuff I don't think I saw in the cinema!, however...when they announce the Gladiators there is a shot of them together in the middle of the arena, Russell Crowe & co were just a big black blob with horrible black lines going everywhere!
    It was like edge enhancement gone mad, the pillars in the ring had extra black bars running parallel and seperate on the right side of every one...decision to go back to the shop was made first time I saw it.
     
  25. windfall

    windfall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,330
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    LFC Kop End
    Ratings:
    +58
    I finally picked up a DVDS540 today, so I'll be giving that a blast over the next couple of days.

    I am trying not to order the new amp at the mo though - I'm desperate to hear all my speakers running - all wired up!

    I took my CA 55 back last week, when I went to buy the yamaha - sales person tried conning me into the purchase of another CA product - without going too mad I told him in no uncertain words what I wanted and that he should respect that!

    Cheers
    Cheers
     

Share This Page

Loading...