1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Yamaha DSPA2 advice please

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Jason_B, Jul 23, 2003.

Tags:
  1. Jason_B

Jason_B

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

I'm new to this section of the forums, so please forgive me if you've answered this type of question before (used search, but could find any help)

I was all set on buying a projector this month, and have been doing the demop rounds. During one demo, I was blown away by the sound, or more specifically the bass. You didn't just hear it, but you felt it - very low down - It was great :) That got me thinking about my setup, as I remember mine sounding like that when I demoed before buying, but it doesn't anymore, and I had realised unitl hearing this new demo. I asked th guy in the shop who thought I probably had it set up wrong, but didn't offer any further advice (I would have gladly paid a fair price for it)

So...here is my current hardware setup, and amp settings
    Amp = Yamaha DSPA2,
    DVD = Pioneer 717
    Front speakers = Kef Q35's
    Centre = Kef Q95c
    Rears = Kef Q15's
    Sub = M&K VX100

Settings on amp
    1.Speaker Set - All set to Small, LFE/BASS OUT set to SW, System Set = 5ch, Main Level = Normal

2. DLBY DGTL Set, LFE Level 0db(cannot increase this), D-Range = Max

3. DTS Set,LFE +8db

4. Centre delay = 0ms

5. Parameter ini = *12 (not sure what this is or how to alter it)

6. Memory Guard = Off

7. TV/DBS Input = Auto

Am I doing something wrong with the settings?

I have tried moving the sub, and playing with the settings(on the sub), but cannot achieve that deep down bass. Is the A2 man enough?

Am I being too picky about this?, I'd be interested to hear from other members of the forum to see if I am really missing out on the Big Bass experince :confused: