Yamaha DSP-E800 being replaced?

Discussion in 'AV Pre-Amp/Processors & Power Amps' started by BigAde, Dec 31, 2002.

  1. BigAde

    BigAde
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,026
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    East Sussex
    Ratings:
    +30
    I've been toying with the idea of getting the Yamaha DSP-E800. But it seems this processor has been available for quite some time now and I was wondering if anyone knew if it was due to be replaced anytime soon with a newer model to support DLPII, 6.1 &c.???


    :confused:
     
  2. Nobber22

    Nobber22
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,982
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +111
    I read somewhere recently that Yamaha are not going to bother. Since todays budget amps like the DSP630 connect in the same way & have all the latest formats, there isn't really a market or so they say.
     
  3. Ian J

    Ian J
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    25,641
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    I would have thought it uneconomic to produce a processor which people would expect to be priced cheaper than a receiver now that receivers with all of the bells and whistles are so cheap anyway.
     
  4. Beddie

    Beddie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2000
    Messages:
    165
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +13
    If you want to use your existing hi-fi amp for main speakers, and a HC amp for the processing and amplification of surround channels, then most HC amps will do the job. Just check that they have pre-out for the main channel and you are sorted. I have a Yamaha A5 and I use it in this way.
     
  5. BigAde

    BigAde
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,026
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    East Sussex
    Ratings:
    +30
    Thanks for the feedback... :)

    May well have a re-think on that front then. I was only put off getting the DSP630 series by someone else on these forums a while back who said that the E800, being a stripped-down A2, was miles better (can't remember who it was).

    Anyway, no rush to replace the old E492, so will wait and see what bargains comes up in the next few weeks. :)
     
  6. deckard

    deckard
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    425
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    leicester
    Ratings:
    +0
    BigAde

    I've had a DSPE800 for a couple of years or so linked up to my Linn Magik/LK140 amps on the main channels and it's a cracking bit of kit.

    I was wondering myself if they were going to upgrade it in light of the new formats.

    IMO it'll blow your E492 away, see if you can get one on the cheap/SH as it would appear from these posts that Yamaha are going to put it out to grass.

    Cheers.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice