1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Yamaha DSP-AX750SE: Settings

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Tejstar, Dec 24, 2004.

Tags:
  1. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,496
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +995
    I have run the auto setup and got the following results:

    FR: +5.5
    FL: +4.5
    Centre: +4.0
    RR: +5.5
    RL: +5.0
    Sub:-6.0

    There is a slight difference between the rights and lefts as they are not equi-distant from the tv - rights are further away.

    I have also got the following tone settings:
    Treble: +3
    Bass: +1

    I was just wondering how these settings compare to other 750SE users and if there are other things I could change to improve the stereo performance?

    Plus dialogue through the Kef Q6c seems to be quite weak, is there anything I can do to improve this bar the midnight mode?
     
  2. Malky1903

    Malky1903
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,908
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +64
    I've had varying results with the auto set up. I think you'll find that no one will have the same settings when you take into consideration the size of speakers, room, soft furnishings, carpets etc etc. If it helps at all, here's my current settings using Q4's, Q6C and Flat Panel Speakers for rears. No sub

    Front L +0.5
    Centre +2.5
    Front R -0.5
    Surr R +6.5
    Surr L +6.5

    Tone settings are both at zero

    There's a difference between my fronts too and they are equal distance from the TV and my seating position. I always find, no matter what I do, the front right speaker seems to be louder than the left.
    I sometimes find I have to turn up the db on the centre speaker but I think it's mainly down to the way various DVD's are mixed. Generally, how I have it at the moment is fine.
    As for stereo, I listen in straight mode or 2ch with no adjustments and sounds just fine.

    Don't forget that I changed my front speaker wires around and now have black to red and red to black. No error messages from the amp and everything sounds great, probably better than the 'correct' way to connect the front speaker cable.

    To throw another angle on things, my last amp, a Pioneer VSX D912 used the front left speaker as a reference for set up. The front left speaker would always be set at 0db no matter what I did and all the other speakers were always + or - in one way or another.
     
  3. phils_wicked

    phils_wicked
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    545
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Luton (UK)
    Ratings:
    +16
    The auto setup is more of an approximate guide in my oppinion. Although it tends to be damn close.

    My autoset up on the yammy is:
    FR = 7.5 @ 9.5ft
    FL = 7.0 @ 9.5ft
    Centre = 5.5 @ 8.5ft
    RR = -1.5 @ 3.5ft
    RL = -1 @ 3.5ft
    SUB = -6 @ 10ft

    The minus figures for the surround speakers is due to them being on the sidewalls one foot higher than my head and 3ft from centre. It's not perfect but its the only way I can mount them.

    I tend to change the setting as I watch a movie, if I feel that the surrounds are too loud etc, so the auto setup levels are changed anyway lol

    The stereo performance sounds best to me with no adjustments made to the amp, but with the FR/FL pair toed in slightly.
     
  4. thfccambs

    thfccambs
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Messages:
    18,956
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    White Hart Lane
    Ratings:
    +5,009
    Tejstar,
    Sorry this is of topic,your mail box is full.I got it sorted don't know how but i have.Very impressed.Will do autoset up on my yam 750 later and put my setting in the thread.
    Thanks for your help have a good chrimbo.
     
  5. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,496
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +995
    Nice one Jeff, and just in time for xmas :clap:

    Looking forward to seeing what settings you have!
     
  6. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,496
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +995
    It's quite interesting that your centre is a lot louder than the FR & FL, is this because you found dialogue difficult to hear?

    I have the same problem, I may have to adjust mine to around +5.0.
     
  7. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,496
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +995
    I seem to change my surrounds depending on the movie I'm watching too. This gets annoying though, I'd like them to have one setting and just leave it. I wonder if I'll ever find the perfect setting...
     
  8. Malky1903

    Malky1903
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,908
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +64
    You think that's bad? I'm changing my settings just about every time I change channels on Sky :laugh:

    Re the centre speaker. Yes, I have it a little louder than the fronts but not because I have problems hearing dialogue, I just prefer it that way. It's probably down to the speaker having a single cone whereas most centre speakers have two. My last centre speaker, an MS905, had two cones and was set was -4.0db :eek:
     
  9. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,496
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +995
    At least I'm not the only one :D

    Makes me think I should have gone for the Q9c...
     
  10. Malky1903

    Malky1903
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,908
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +64
    That thought had crossed my mind for myself
     
  11. Malky1903

    Malky1903
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,908
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +64
    Yay! Got a sub now :clap:
    The amp has set it at -6.0 also as posted above
     
  12. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,496
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +995
    Nice one, what sub did you get?
     
  13. Malky1903

    Malky1903
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,908
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +64
    Got a Rel Quake in maple. Matches my other speakers well. For it's size, it sounds very good too. I've only a small room so the Quake is ideal.
     
  14. SILVERBACK

    SILVERBACK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    3,814
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    birkenhead
    Ratings:
    +73
    how do i get to tone settings ?
     
  15. SILVERBACK

    SILVERBACK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    3,814
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    birkenhead
    Ratings:
    +73
    anyone?
     
  16. reservoir51

    reservoir51
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Press 'Tone Control' on the front panel to access Treble, Bass or Bypass settings. To adjust the levels of Treble and Bass, turn the 'Program' knob.

    reservoir51
     
  17. SILVERBACK

    SILVERBACK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    3,814
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    birkenhead
    Ratings:
    +73
    :rolleyes: what a plank i am :laugh: been searching in the on screen menus for the last 40 minutes lol.cheers buddy :smashin: and merry christmas.
     
  18. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,496
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +995
    Rel are top quality, nice choice :thumbsup:
     
  19. dongagon

    dongagon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    Messages:
    581
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +7
    A Quicky

    I have mission M3's as my fronts (63Hz rolloff). The Auto setup sets these to Small, with a the crossover at 80Hz.

    The the Auto setup route the LFE/Bass to Both not just to the Sub. Does this sound right to you.

    Sound ok to me. I was just a bit unsure because i BFD'ed my BKXLS200 with all bass going to the Sub not to Both.
     
  20. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,496
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +995
    My Kef Q4 fronts are set to large with a crossover of 80.

    However the LFE/Bass is set to Both, not sure if it's right but it sounds ok to me :confused:
     
  21. Malky1903

    Malky1903
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,908
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +64
    My Q4's are set to small with crossover at 80hz and sub to both and sounds ok to me.

    Remember, your set up should suit your ears and not everyone else's :)
     
  22. Malky1903

    Malky1903
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,908
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +64
    Had a quiet hour or so this afternoon, so I had yet another play with the settings but this time armed with pen and paper. I ran the auto set up 3 times, twice with the grilles on and once without. Here's my findings based on a room that's 3.6m x 3.6m, 2.4m high, no curtains only blinds and a laminated floor.
    Speakers are Kef Q4 fronts, Kef Q6C centre, Wharfedale flat panel rears [picture frame speakers] and a Rel Quake sub.

    In all three tests, fronts and centre were automatically set to small, rears to large and sub to both and set at -7.0. Crossover was set at 80hz.

    Tests 1 and 2 with grilles on fronts and centre speakers. Rears don't have any.
    1) FL: -0.5; Centre: 0; FR: -0.5; SL: +6.0; SR: +6.5
    2) FL: 0; Centre : 0; FR: 0; SL: +6.5; SR: +6.5

    Test 3 without grilles on fronts and centre speakers
    3) FL: +0.5; Centre: +0.5; FR: +0.5; SL: +6.5; SR: +6.5

    So there you have it. Marginal differences all three times and surprisingly without the grilles, the amp upped the db by +0.5 on each of the fronts and the centre.

    To Tejstar,
    You must have quite a large room before your speaker settings are so high. Maybe you should've bought Q7's and a Q9 ;)
     
  23. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,496
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +995
    The thing is the part where I watch tv isn't that big, but the problem is that the room isn't enclosed. We have a through-lounge to the kitchen, so despite our viewing area not being big, the speakers are having to fill quite a large space. Tbh it seems to work ok, the only part where I feel there could be an improvement is with the centre speaker.

    But as you've been doing today, I'll twiddle with my settings before thinking about upgrading so soon :laugh:
     
  24. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,496
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +995
    That's quite interesting, do you think I should set my Q4's to small too? :confused:
     
  25. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,496
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +995
    Why are your rears so loud, are they quite far away?
     
  26. Malky1903

    Malky1903
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,908
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +64
    Yes. You should try it. Doesn't your amp automatically set them to small anyway or have you manually set them to large? I find putting all the LFE to the sub sounds better and let the amp deal with it too.

    My sofa is up against a wall, so my rears are immediately behind me above my head. As they are flat panel speakers, they actually work quite well where they are. I was going to upgrade them and have Q's for the rear too but accidentally bought Q1's instead of Compacts :oops:
    The Q1's are just a tad too big for my room and I have nowhere to put them. Got them relatively cheap off eBay and it looks like they may be going back there.
     
  27. Malky1903

    Malky1903
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,908
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +64
    I never picked it as such. I happened to mention it and the missus bought it for me :clap:
     
  28. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,496
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +995
    My amp has automatically set the fronts to large. I haven't tried setting them to small, I'll give that a try tomorrow. I felt they lack a bit of bass, maybe this will solve it!


    I was going to buy Q1's, but that was until I saw the size of them :eek: The Q-compacts go very nicely imo :)
     
  29. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,496
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +995
    Wow, that's some missus you have :smoke:
     
  30. Andy Dee

    Andy Dee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    197
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Just wanted to add my 2p's worth.

    I have the speaker sizes all set to small, seems to be tighter sounding that way.

    My only difference to the finding here is the crossover Freq. I have tried various settings and various audtion pieces. I am much happier sending the sub everything below 100Hz. I listen to alot of dance music and found something missing if i set the crossover to 80Hz.

    I also have to have the Subwoofer set at 0db for music an -4db for DVD.
     

Share This Page

Loading...