1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

YAMAHA DSP-AX750SE - Opinions?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by MJeeves, Sep 13, 2004.

Tags:
  1. MJeeves

    MJeeves
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2001
    Messages:
    4,003
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Crayford
    Ratings:
    +218
  2. mepsipax

    mepsipax
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Messages:
    181
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +8
    Hi

    I have just purchased one of these amps (only set it up Friday).

    So far so good, it sounds amazing straight out of the box, and certainly a big improvement on my Sony STR-DB1080, which I found to be a bit bright for my liking.

    I used the auto setup microphone thingy to configure my speakers this was easy to do took about 10 minutes or so.

    Loads of different sound fields to mess around with, though I know most people on this forum will prefer to leave these well alone - nice to try out though!

    I have a digital cable running from my pc's audigy2 zs soundcard to the amp to play mp3s etc, and the quality is excellent.

    I have loads more to learn about when I have time - the manual is huge!

    Hopefully you will get some more responses from people who have owned thes for longer

    Regards
     
  3. CosmicOne

    CosmicOne
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    mepsipax

    plz dude can u reach the back of the AMP & tell me how much power it consumes??
    i think it might be 440W am i right????

    thanx in advance.
     
  4. MJeeves

    MJeeves
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2001
    Messages:
    4,003
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Crayford
    Ratings:
    +218
    Thanks for your feedback!

    Does it have I-Link?

    What is your fave setting for movies?
     
  5. Dave H

    Dave H
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    4,373
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Lots of different places!
    Ratings:
    +145
    anyone upgraded from a Yam A1 and how does it compare volume/sound quality wise.

    Dave.
     
  6. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,501
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +995
    It doesn't have i-link - it's only £400 :laugh:
     
  7. Colonel Burton

    Colonel Burton
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Messages:
    675
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +15
    Sorry to butt in here but i`m in the process of ordering my amp just don`t know weather to go with the RX-V2400 or the DSP-AX750 is it worth paying the extra for the 2400? cheers
     
  8. mepsipax

    mepsipax
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Messages:
    181
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +8
  9. windfall

    windfall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,329
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    LFC Kop End
    Ratings:
    +58
    Does anyone know wha the port on the top left is for?

    Tone
     
  10. CosmicOne

    CosmicOne
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    mepsipax;
    please dude if u can when u go home check it coz i also saw pics of the RXV550 & 650 with 370W & i saw pics of 750 with 440W & i want to know what's right & what's wrong in there.
    thanx.
     
  11. tykent

    tykent
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Messages:
    486
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Camberley, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +22
    CosmicOne

    Just had a look at the back of my 750 and it says 440 watts :)
     
  12. sapkan

    sapkan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    492
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    here in Bulgaria the 750 has got radio, weird eighh?
     
  13. sharper

    sharper
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    588
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    SW London
    Ratings:
    +11
    Had mine (2400) for a couple of weeks now and cant praise it enough. Some one will give you low down on (750) but I can find a bad thing to say about the RX-V2400 it is brilliant. My mate has the Denon 3508 which we recon are the two best amps for the money at the moment, he's got more money than me though.

    The 750 is no slouch though I heard one going in Staines the other day sound very beefy.
     
  14. CosmicOne

    CosmicOne
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    tykent
    thanx dude for the info. 440W is very good i hope the RXV-750 is also 440W & not less.

    sapkan
    we also have the RXV-750 ver with the radio here in Egypt,coz the DSP-AX750 is only avaialbe in UK.

    now the question is,is there any difference on power consumption from the AX-750 to the RXV750???
     
  15. Colonel Burton

    Colonel Burton
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Messages:
    675
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +15
    Cheers Steve, i`m just at that point of should i or shouldn`t i and the longer i leave it the more i can`t make me mind up but sod it i`m going for the 2400 it`s what i first picked and i`ll stick with it :)
     
  16. SILVERBACK

    SILVERBACK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    3,814
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    birkenhead
    Ratings:
    +73
    can the 750 1400 or 2400 handle bannana plugs ?
     
  17. Colonel Burton

    Colonel Burton
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Messages:
    675
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +15
    Well as for as i know the 2400 can
     
  18. mepsipax

    mepsipax
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Messages:
    181
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +8
    Hi

    You can use banana plugs with the 750. Just gently prise out the plastic covering the centres of the plugs.

    Regards
     
  19. sharper

    sharper
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    588
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    SW London
    Ratings:
    +11
    There will always be a "better new model" arriving its called sods law. Its a major piece of kit and at £650 its a no brainer. I'm looking to get at least 4 - 5 years out of the beast. Lottery not with-standing :smashin:
     
  20. SILVERBACK

    SILVERBACK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    3,814
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    birkenhead
    Ratings:
    +73
    cheers boys.must be my mates older amp that cant handle bannana`s :laugh:
     

Share This Page

Loading...