1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Yamaha DSP AX750 & 450

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by thackl, Feb 26, 2004.

Tags:
  1. thackl

    thackl
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    46
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ratings:
    +0
    The new DSP AX-750 & 450 have gone up in the news section of Yamaha's Japanese website.

    What were they thinking? The 750 seems to copy SONY's design for their digital AV amps and the 450 looks more like a Marantz. Not my cup of tea.

    Check out photos here (750 at the top and 450 at the very bottom)

    http://www.yamaha.co.jp/news/2004/04021801.html

    Cheers
    Tom
     
  2. zoolap

    zoolap
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    594
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Ratings:
    +7
    I've just seen the Yamaha DSP-AX750 advertised at AVland

    http://www.avland.co.uk/yamaha/dspax750/dsp-ax750.htm

    Sounds rather groovy for £500

    * Pro logic IIx

    * Audio Delay (I'm thinking of getting a Panasonic PTAE500 LCD projector)

    * 2 x coax input (I can plug in nforce gaming pc and htpc/dvd player)

    Auto calibration with mike (I was looking at pioneer 912 before as it's closer to my price range, but this Yamaha might be worth the stretch).

    Anyone have any experience with this yet.
     
  3. bobbypunk

    bobbypunk
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    surely the quality is much!!! more important than the look anyway?!?
     
  4. zoolap

    zoolap
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    594
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Ratings:
    +7
    Sorry not meaning literally "looking". I meant examining the available features.
     
  5. bobbypunk

    bobbypunk
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    sorry i was responding to the first post!
    it sounds like a bargain on paper
     
  6. shodan

    shodan
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    9,998
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    shoeburyness
    Ratings:
    +4,218
    I wonder if
    A) they will do a RX-V version (the same but has a tuner)
    B) it will be superior to my RXV 740?
     
  7. windfall

    windfall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,327
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    LFC Kop End
    Ratings:
    +57
    Theres nout on the yamaha uk web site about these!

    Isnt that a bit strange considering it's clearly available in the UK now??

    Tone
     
  8. thackl

    thackl
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    46
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ratings:
    +0
    Quality is important but looks are too. We make more decisions with our subconscious than we think and the look, which is often also the first impression, has very much to do with what we are feeling comfortable (think cars, clothes, other people etc.). Personally I have to like a look or design otherwise I won't buy no matter how good the quality. I also feel that silver looks 'cheap' on equipment so I won't purchase any silver versions.

    Cheers
    Tom
     
  9. windfall

    windfall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,327
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    LFC Kop End
    Ratings:
    +57
    I have just called AVLAND.
    They are getting just two of these late next week.

    I still prefer the minimalist design of the 1400RDS (IMHO) and will prob get one of those, although...would like to hear one!

    Cheers

    Tone
     
  10. zoolap

    zoolap
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    594
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Ratings:
    +7
    Well my NADs aren't that pretty, but I like what they do.
     
  11. andy121

    andy121
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    ...and the reason for not mentioning the new V650 is?

    I was enquiring about the V640 and was advised to wait for the V650 - 7.1 rather than 6.1, auto calibration, DTS 96/24 and ProLogic IIx support, 192kHz/24 bit DACs up from 96kHz/24 bit DACs on all channels, 95W/channel up from 85W/channel, on screen setup - in fact the only thing it doesn't seem to have is THX certification and a learning remote, but then for 330 quid, what do you expect?!

    Anyone know if there are any early reviews up yet?

    BTW, check out the US site here (including manuals)

    http://www.yamaha.com/yec/products/RECEIVER/REC_RX-V.htm
     
  12. Rickyj @ Kalibrate

    Rickyj @ Kalibrate
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Messages:
    5,675
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +1,686
  13. windfall

    windfall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,327
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    LFC Kop End
    Ratings:
    +57
    I just ordered one at that price I cannot grumble

    I will post my experience and order details when something comes through.

    Thanks for the update Ricky!
     
  14. Rickyj @ Kalibrate

    Rickyj @ Kalibrate
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Messages:
    5,675
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +1,686
    Which one did you go for? The 650 or 750? Please let us know how you get on, as the specs look amazing for the price.

    Cheers

    Ricky
     
  15. windfall

    windfall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,327
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    LFC Kop End
    Ratings:
    +57
    I went for the 750 - I need the component up conversion so that I can leave my PJ on component input all the time.

    I have had an order confirmation and they are saying about 2 weeks for delivery as they are on back order. Dunno how many others have ordered from there as well.

    Still nothing on the yamaha.co.uk about this though!!

    I am still a little confused as to the amps power 7x100 Watt to which speakers?

    I was under the impression that THX rated amps came with stereo rear centre, does this amp support "Presence and rear centre" at the same time? I doubt it! But the spec sheet says it has 9 speaker connections...we will see, for £363+postage its a bargain for sure.

    Will keep you up updated for sure

    Cheers

    Tone
     
  16. windfall

    windfall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,327
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    LFC Kop End
    Ratings:
    +57
    I just clicked on the link for these and the prices have gone up to 750 -£499 and 650- £469!!!!!
     
  17. windfall

    windfall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,327
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    LFC Kop End
    Ratings:
    +57
    Just to let you all know.

    Unbeatable shipped the amp today and I will receive it tomorrow. I will let you all know how it looks and sounds.

    Cheers
    Tone
     
  18. zoolap

    zoolap
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    594
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Ratings:
    +7
    Look forward to your comments - out of curiosity did you go for the black or titanium?
     
  19. shodan

    shodan
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    9,998
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    shoeburyness
    Ratings:
    +4,218
    :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :clap: :clap: :clap: :smashin:
     
  20. windfall

    windfall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,327
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    LFC Kop End
    Ratings:
    +57
    I got the amp yesterday.
    Having owned a DSP-A5 I found the mass of menus quite startling. I have owned in the past DSPA3090 & A1 and this is more like the A1 with on screen menu config, dimmer of the display on the amp etc.
    So far I have only managed to wire up 5+sub. Hopefully tonight I will wire up my rears (Centre) and the prescence speakers.

    I ran the auto setup having plugged the microphone in and let the amp do the basics of setup then went in and fine tuned some of the settings.

    I went for Titanium as I have started updating bits and they are mainly silver now. Its a big amp actually larger then I guessed it would be.
    The pure direct mode is nice,it turns on a blue light and turns off all other display and lit buttons. The remote is ok, but I have a pronto which controls most of the functions anyway.

    I will be doing some more tests over the coming days unf this weekend I am away so cant do much then.
    So far a good buy for £370 inc postage!
    Catch yer all later

    Tone
    Do these amps still need running in?
     
  21. windfall

    windfall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,327
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    LFC Kop End
    Ratings:
    +57
    Hi Guys
    Well I have connected the prsence nad the rear centre speakers now.
    I have 9 speakers connected excluding the sub. When using Yamaha DSP modes the front presence come on and it really adds depth to the front sound stage. However as I have not had time to play and read the manual I still havn't understood everything as yet.
    Tonight I watched Reign of Fire on Sky and watched it in PL IIx. Was pretty good. Sound is enveloping!

    Played a Supertramp album and in pure direc I notice the sound warm and smooth, turning the amp up sounded even better, much clearer and precise compared to my A5.

    I'll be playing a bit more over the next few days and will let you know how I get on.

    Cheers for now

    Tone
     
  22. windfall

    windfall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,327
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    LFC Kop End
    Ratings:
    +57
    Excuse the awful spelling in the last post!

    Just noticed it!

    Tone
     
  23. witters

    witters
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    11,861
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +238
    Does the 750 accept banana plugs please?
     
  24. zoolap

    zoolap
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    594
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Ratings:
    +7
    I downloaded the manual for the RX-V750 from the US site and that seems to show what looks like banana plug sockets, but I'd like to know this about the AX750 too.
     
  25. windfall

    windfall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,327
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    LFC Kop End
    Ratings:
    +57
    Hi

    It does, they have a sort of break away part, but I have used banana plugs in all speakers except the front presence which are spring clips.

    Tone
     
  26. witters

    witters
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    11,861
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +238
    Got the amp today. Sounds great, especially in pure direct with music.

    Only problem is that the auto setup tells me one of my front speakers is 12ft away and the other 19ft. Strange really - my room is only 16ft long in total:D
     
  27. windfall

    windfall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,327
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    LFC Kop End
    Ratings:
    +57
    Similar to the 1400 and 2400 Units, the auto setup is a bit hit and miss, and use of a Sound Pressure Meter is required, although auto setup does take som of the pain out of it!

    Is a nice amp, what price did you pay?

    Cheers

    Tone
     
  28. witters

    witters
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    11,861
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +238
    I paid £419.
     
  29. ktng

    ktng
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    171
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Where did you get it for that price - only seen it for £499 so far:(
     
  30. witters

    witters
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    11,861
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +238
    Have a look HERE
     

Share This Page

Loading...