1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Yamaha DSP-AX630SE - Newbie Questions

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by ComfortablyNumb, Apr 4, 2003.

Tags:
  1. ComfortablyNumb

ComfortablyNumb
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi

Newbie here so go easy :D apologies if this is in the wrong forum or if the questions are laughable.

I have just bought a Yamaha DSP-AX630SE which has replaced a Sony unit bought about 8 years ago, it was the surround of its time but only had Dolby, Simulate and Hall settings, so pretty basic compared to the Yam.
    Things have moved on somewhat so i finally went for the Yam after months of reading reviews and reading through many threads here.

So now ive got it home and all wired up I have a few questions

At the moment I have the following set up with the Yam
    Video - JVC HRS7500EK S-VHS
    TV - Panasonic Tau TX-36PF10
    AV Amp as above
    Sky Digital - Original Grundig box
    DVD - PS2 !! (DVD Player to come in the summer still deciding on which one to get)

Rears - Gale 3060 BiPolar
    Centre - Original Sony centre (crap and will be replaced in time)
    Fronts - a pair of Jamo's from the late 80's 150w, OK you can stop laughing now, one of my questions relates to the front speakers.

I am aware that the Yam is technically a far superior machine compared to a Sony manufactured 8 years ago but there are a few questions i have, here goes

1: My best option for fronts stick with the Jamos use one set of the missions from my Hi Fi set up (dont really want to do that) or go for a smaller less intrusive set of fronts, Ive noticed a lot of cinema set up's have small fronts, there is plenty of bass coming through those Jamo's, do I really need a sub or again does having a sub add to the whole package and improve the overall sound.