Yamaha DSP A3090

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by bones`, Nov 10, 2002.

Tags:
  1. bones`

    bones`
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Messages:
    2,002
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Preston
    Ratings:
    +54
    Just found one of these 2nd hand in a local hi-fi shop for what seems a bargain price. I was just wondering, on the fascia it states DPL and AC-3. The salesman wasnt sure if the amp did DD but isn't AC3 DD? Basically wll this amp decode Dolby Digital?
     
  2. Ian J

    Ian J
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    25,628
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    Yes - AC3 was the "working name" for Dolby Digital before it was launched.
     
  3. bones`

    bones`
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Messages:
    2,002
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Preston
    Ratings:
    +54
    Great. Hopefully I won't get called in to work tomorrow i'll pop up and buy this. :)
     
  4. smallman28

    smallman28
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Out of interest how much is a bargain?
     
  5. Oli

    Oli
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2002
    Messages:
    286
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +5
    One went on ebay the other day for £300, if thats any indication, was supposedly a great amp in its day, the first DD to arrive in the UK
     
  6. bones`

    bones`
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Messages:
    2,002
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Preston
    Ratings:
    +54
    The price was £150 and it looked in mint condition but I didn't ask if it still had its remote or instuction book. I wish I had bought it now just needed to make sure it did DD. I hope its still there tomorrow.

    I used to have a DSP A1000 which was a superb amp with bags of current and clean dynamics. I guess thats why it cost £1000 in its day. I think the 3090 will have the same amp stages so fingers crossed :)
     
  7. sc1977

    sc1977
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Messages:
    616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    kent
    Ratings:
    +8
    sold mine for 270 a month or two ago which paid for the second hand a2 i bought for 250 miss it though! good amp:D
     
  8. Smurfin

    Smurfin
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    21,440
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,384
    I'll second that, the 3090 is a class product.

    I thought I was missing out on something with DTS, but to be honest its not worth the upgrade (now theres another famous debate!).

    I went:

    3090 ---> A2 ---> A1.

    The A1 is class, I bought it on this forum for £250.
     
  9. sc1977

    sc1977
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Messages:
    616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    kent
    Ratings:
    +8
    did you find much difference from upgrading the a2 t the a1 and was it worth the money?:cool:
     
  10. Smurfin

    Smurfin
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    21,440
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,384
    I made money on it so yes!

    Bought the A2 on these forums for £250, sold it on ebay for £300:D

    Bought the A1 from these forums for £250.

    In terms of performance, to my ears it was a big difference.

    Not big in "real" terms....but at higher volumes the A1 sounds smoother - it handles everything with much greater ease.

    And, of course...you have alot more inputs on the back:D
     
  11. bones`

    bones`
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Messages:
    2,002
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Preston
    Ratings:
    +54
    I got the amp :)

    Its boxed with remote and instructions and 30 days warranty. It powers up! All I need now is to choose some speakers and learn how to use the thing . The more I think about which speakers to buy the harder it becomes to choose :(
     
  12. Smurfin

    Smurfin
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    21,440
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,384
    LOL:D

    I won't suggest any.......[except the mission 7 series is a goodie if you buy a sub also;) ]
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice