1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Yamaha DSP A3090

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by bones`, Nov 10, 2002.

Tags:
  1. bones`

    bones`
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,835
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Preston
    Ratings:
    +40
    Just found one of these 2nd hand in a local hi-fi shop for what seems a bargain price. I was just wondering, on the fascia it states DPL and AC-3. The salesman wasnt sure if the amp did DD but isn't AC3 DD? Basically wll this amp decode Dolby Digital?
     
  2. Ian J

    Ian J
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    25,528
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    Yes - AC3 was the "working name" for Dolby Digital before it was launched.
     
  3. bones`

    bones`
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,835
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Preston
    Ratings:
    +40
    Great. Hopefully I won't get called in to work tomorrow i'll pop up and buy this. :)
     
  4. smallman28

    smallman28
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Out of interest how much is a bargain?
     
  5. Oli

    Oli
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2002
    Messages:
    274
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +3
    One went on ebay the other day for £300, if thats any indication, was supposedly a great amp in its day, the first DD to arrive in the UK
     
  6. bones`

    bones`
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,835
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Preston
    Ratings:
    +40
    The price was £150 and it looked in mint condition but I didn't ask if it still had its remote or instuction book. I wish I had bought it now just needed to make sure it did DD. I hope its still there tomorrow.

    I used to have a DSP A1000 which was a superb amp with bags of current and clean dynamics. I guess thats why it cost £1000 in its day. I think the 3090 will have the same amp stages so fingers crossed :)
     
  7. sc1977

    sc1977
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Messages:
    600
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    kent
    Ratings:
    +8
    sold mine for 270 a month or two ago which paid for the second hand a2 i bought for 250 miss it though! good amp:D
     
  8. Smurfin

    Smurfin
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    20,639
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,002
    I'll second that, the 3090 is a class product.

    I thought I was missing out on something with DTS, but to be honest its not worth the upgrade (now theres another famous debate!).

    I went:

    3090 ---> A2 ---> A1.

    The A1 is class, I bought it on this forum for £250.
     
  9. sc1977

    sc1977
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Messages:
    600
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    kent
    Ratings:
    +8
    did you find much difference from upgrading the a2 t the a1 and was it worth the money?:cool:
     
  10. Smurfin

    Smurfin
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    20,639
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,002
    I made money on it so yes!

    Bought the A2 on these forums for £250, sold it on ebay for £300:D

    Bought the A1 from these forums for £250.

    In terms of performance, to my ears it was a big difference.

    Not big in "real" terms....but at higher volumes the A1 sounds smoother - it handles everything with much greater ease.

    And, of course...you have alot more inputs on the back:D
     
  11. bones`

    bones`
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,835
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Preston
    Ratings:
    +40
    I got the amp :)

    Its boxed with remote and instructions and 30 days warranty. It powers up! All I need now is to choose some speakers and learn how to use the thing . The more I think about which speakers to buy the harder it becomes to choose :(
     
  12. Smurfin

    Smurfin
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    20,639
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,002
    LOL:D

    I won't suggest any.......[except the mission 7 series is a goodie if you buy a sub also;) ]
     

Share This Page

Loading...