Yamaha DSP A2 - LipSync

P

PanikStation

I'm a newbie to this forum. I own a Yamaha DSP A2 and am looking to buy a plasma TV, but what I have heard is that my AV amp should have a audio delay facility to counteract lipsync problems common with plasma displays.
Does anyone know whether the DSP A2 has this feature or would I have to buy a new AV Amp? I couldn't find it in the references.
Would appreciate your help.
Thanks.

I'm not sure whether the A2 has this feature, but I would be suprised if it did as it's a feature that only started appearing on newer amps.
However, even if it doesn't have it I wouldn't rush out and buy a new amp as you may find that you might not even need it.
My amp has this but I don't use it as I don't have any sync problems.
My old Yamaha DSP-A3090 (it was the predecesser to the DSP-A1) didn't have it and was fine with a plasma.

I was told I should connect all my sources to my AV amp and then connect the AV amp to the plasma. The best connection I have is SVIDEO, but my VHS nor my Sky box does not have SVIDEO, how would you suggest connecting these or would you suggest buying new units?

It depends on whether you are after a better picture or ease of use.
If you want the best picture possible from your current equipment you should connect the RGB scart from your Sky box direct to your plasma. Alternatively you could connect all your visual devices to a scart switching unit & then plug the unit into your plasma. The switching unit will automatically send the picture of the last device you switched on to your plasma. This would mean that you have to select which source you want to listen to by selecting it in on your amp.
If you want an easy to use system then you should connect all your devices to your amp, & then amp to plasma using both S-video & composite. This means you have to switch channels on the plasma as well as the source on the amp when you want to go from DVD to Sky.