1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Yamaha AZ9 Update

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by russraff, Sep 6, 2003.

Tags:
  1. russraff

    russraff
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2000
    Messages:
    2,414
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +63
    Anyone looking for a high end amp may want to read the AVLand website (link below). They have an update, in addition to what they used to have posted, on the Yamaha AZ9. It includes internal components, and a PDF brochure. It seems to be getting better the more I hear about it.
    Anyway, just thought I'd mention it.
    AVLand Yamaha AZ9

    Russell
     
  2. Smurfin

    Smurfin
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    21,421
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,353
    £3300? Still better off buying a decent processor and power amp I would have thought?
     
  3. russraff

    russraff
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2000
    Messages:
    2,414
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +63
    As one box soloutions go, for those who can't or won't accept a pre/power soloution, the Yamaha seems to be the pick of the bunch. And unlike Denon, for example, Yamaha amps do seem to sell under their RRP. I would be surprised if you couldn't get the amp for £2800 or so. Which is still expensive, granted.
    Yes I see what you mean about the pre/power route, Matt. I think I would go for a processor and active speakers if I had ~£3300 to spend.

    Russell
     
  4. General Skanky

    General Skanky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,247
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +43
    Yamaha imho have managed to produce what looks like the very best spec integrated I've ever seen.

    Some of its gadgets are hugely impressive, you'd want for nothing.

    HDTV, DCDI, all the formats, big power, good DACs etc etc etc.

    Yamaha know how to make good sound. Forget DSP, this is an amp to worry all.

    For £3300, you get a processor section that will put most stand alone processors to shame.

    The internal amps will be far in excess of what most people would ever use bar the really high end stuff.

    The sheer convenience and practicalities of this amp being in one box is a major plus point.

    As long as it's got upgradable software, it's very tempting indeed.
     
  5. Jackass

    Jackass
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    3,393
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +806
    I think Yamaha have missed the boat with this one.
    Hopefully Denon will come along and trump it with DVI switching capabilities.
     
  6. russraff

    russraff
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2000
    Messages:
    2,414
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +63
    In what way has Yamaha missed the boat? I can't see any integrated out there with the spec of the AZ9, audio or video wise. To suggest that Denon might outdo Yamaha in the near future is somewhat confusing as Denon as yet don't have such a product (do you have a Denon, by the way?).

    Russell
     
  7. Jackass

    Jackass
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    3,393
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +806
    I agree that there's nothing available YET but with all the new display devices and dvd players coming out just now with DVI connectors, its only a matter of time before the amp\reciever manufacturers will follow.

    Now this is what i call an AMP! :D(another pic)
     
  8. Ettepet

    Ettepet
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    Messages:
    739
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +19
    Nice Amp! I doubt it will be better than the new 59TXi from pioneer though, but it seems a major upgrade from their current mid-range products.

    Did they make the step to have a variable subwoofer cut-off?
     
  9. Wasabi

    Wasabi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,188
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SBC (Swedish Born Chinese)/lived in UK since 96, C
    Ratings:
    +32
    I'm not sure if DSP-Z9 is the same as DSP-A9, but according to latest information from IFA Berlin 2003, the Z9 has 7x300W + 2x90W! It could be at 2 or 4 ohms, but if it was at 8ohms, then it is a true beast, although it is dissappointing that there is no DVI input and Audio Delay. source www.areadvd.de

    Wasabi
     
  10. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,507
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +263
    I wouldn't, it doesn't have any onboard amplification. ;)
     
  11. S H A D O

    S H A D O
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    10,369
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +1,737
    The Yamaha DSP-Z9 does have Audio Delay for Lip-Sync adjustment according to the PDF Brochure. Their power ratings are a bit sneaky though as they are using DIN (into 4 ohms) to get the quoted 300 watts per channel. The RMS Figures are 7 x 170 watts into 8 Ohms with 2 x 50 watts into 8 Ohms for the Front Effect Channels. Still potent enough for most though.
     
  12. Ettepet

    Ettepet
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    Messages:
    739
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +19
    Yeah, audio delay and 7x170W+2x50W sure (the AZ 1 got that too), but they never got rid of their fixed 90Hz cut-off.
     
  13. S H A D O

    S H A D O
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    10,369
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +1,737
    They've sorted that out on the DSP-Z9, finally!:)
     
  14. George74

    George74
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Messages:
    105
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cheshunt
    Ratings:
    +0
  15. S H A D O

    S H A D O
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    10,369
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +1,737
    According to the manufacturer list at Dolby HERE it should be getting it. :)
     
  16. inzaman

    inzaman
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    7,959
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Derby
    Ratings:
    +1,023
    I'd be very suprised if it didnt have DPL2x, especially knowing yamaha as they seem to put every dsp mode known to man on the rest of their amps. Not that i would be buying this as for this price point i would probably go the separate processor route. It does look awesome though :smashin:
     
  17. mr_blah

    mr_blah
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Messages:
    39
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    So is the yamaha dsp-z9 going to have Pro Logic IIx ?
     
  18. George74

    George74
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Messages:
    105
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cheshunt
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, the launch has been delayed to allow Yamaha to update it. :clap:
     
  19. mr_blah

    mr_blah
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Messages:
    39
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    \o/ ol'e ol'e :clap:

    now where did you read this from?
     
  20. George74

    George74
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Messages:
    105
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cheshunt
    Ratings:
    +0
    Home Cinema choice of course. It was in an article/report from a recent Home cinema/trade show - can't remember exactly which edition but it has to be in the last couple.
     
  21. mr_blah

    mr_blah
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Messages:
    39
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thats reminds me i had a big collection of home cinema choice mags, i had about 100 copies from 1997-98-99 total and threw them all out, oh well.
     
  22. mr_blah

    mr_blah
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Messages:
    39
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
  23. mr_blah

    mr_blah
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Messages:
    39
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was reading the avland site for the dsp z9 and seen this picture of the, Gold-Plated-Extruded Gigantic Speaker terminals from the Yamaha DSP-AZ9, will the UK model have the choice of banana plugs?

    [​IMG]
     
  24. delta

    delta
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    469
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    North East Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep! It is listed in the latest Yamaha brochure. I have the A9 on order for delivery mid-December. All three new amps/receivers from Yamaha have PL2x.
     
  25. docsmith2k1

    docsmith2k1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    520
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +17
    The extruded plugs will fit banana plugs if required - as detailed in the PDF brochure
     
  26. Reiner

    Reiner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    3,316
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +13
    Seen the Z9 at an exhibition last week but couldn't listen to it due to lack of time.
    Will see if I can find it at the dealer who showed it and have an audition this weekend.

    Also the new Sony Digital amp was on display but only as a static model, with transparent cover though - looks a bit messy inside but it uses modules for the connectivity (i.e. boards you can change). Ugly as hell though and a smallish display ...
     
  27. mr_blah

    mr_blah
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Messages:
    39
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was told by a yamaha Rep two weeks ago, that the New Z9-amp is going to be flown in from japan & is due mid-december, he knew there was a delay but yamaha didn't give a reason to him, as to why.

    But it must have been the PL11x that held things up.
     
  28. mr_blah

    mr_blah
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Messages:
    39
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well just got the New DSP ( Christams Eve 12:00pm )- Z9 and it is really great, it has got extruded plugs but banana plugs don't fit has it is a european model, but the plugs are so big and basic i was able to birewire my speakers in to the Z9 no problem (QED 25th anniversary cable), the helpful tool to tighten the plugs comes in very handy, also this beast is heavy and much bigger than the A1 sitting the two beside each other the DSP - A1 looks basic and old and just fit on to the AV shelf with less than 2 cms to spare to let the heat out, compared to the A1 with a 1 inch and a half to spare, it also gets Very warm to the touch on top.

    Watched T3 for the first time and watched it in THX Ultra, me very happy with the sound. :D

    Sound is so much clearer and is a Big jump from the A1.

    Speakers btw are All KEF THX,

    Main - TDM23F -
    Center TDM23c -
    Surround TDM34DS -
    Surround Rear TDM23F -
    Front Presence TDM34DS
    Sub REL Stadium II -
     
  29. docsmith2k1

    docsmith2k1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    520
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +17
    I have also just unwrapped a Z9 - but I am still in the proccess of setting it all up reading the manual etc. I too am replacng an old A1 - so I can't wait to perform a comparisson on some of my old favourites.
     
  30. docsmith2k1

    docsmith2k1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    520
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +17
    Well I spent 3 happy hours cleaning, cabling, equalizing and calibrating, and I am still only scratching the surface of what this incredible amp can do. I then sat 'till 2am trying everything from vanilla CD's to DVD-A and top recordings of 7.1 channel DVD's. They all sounded superb! The power, control and richness of the sound are only surpassed by the amazing clarity and sense of space that is achieved.
    The parametric room equalizer takes 10 minutes or so to run through its test tones before giving you a report on its findings and the settings it has made. These are of course able to be over ridden manually - but the auto setup was spot on.
    The built in video scaler is excellent. It allows you to select how you want the output from the component sockets to be displayed for the various source components, irrespective of how they are connected to the amp. this varies from 480i through 480p, 720p, 1080i.
    I know this is just the "honeymoon" period but this bodes well for a long and happy marriage.:smashin:
     

Share This Page

Loading...