Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Yamaha AX-496

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by phalaris, Jun 22, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. phalaris

phalaris

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi everyone..

The hifi system I was going to get over the internet sadly fell through, and since I've saved up a bit more money since then I've decided to buy an amp. (You may remember my earlier thread about connecting speakers in series..well, basically I'm new to the forum and I'm a noob at hifi stuff so please be patient.. but I can assure you I am most grateful for any advice you can give me since you guys are practically my ONLY source of advice :) )

Anyway, I've been dwelling over a couple of questions:

1) Firstly, is the Yamaha AX-496 value for money? I am spending not more than 400 euro on an amp ALONE. (I'll talk about a CD player later). 400 euro is approx. 270GBP for all you folk in Britain. Is this a good investment?
    This system is for my bedroom. I have two sets of speakers at home already: a set of 80 watt, 8ohm floor-standing and a set of 80 watt, 6 ohm bookshelf ones. So basically I need an amp that will make optimum use of these speakers. And the guy at the hifi shop told me the AX-496 is perfect. It has A and B channels exactly for 4 speakers and he said the power is about perfect. What do you reckon?
    I've read some mediocre reviews about this amp and about the 596 too, so are there any other models that your personal experience would suggest are better value, keeping in mind the wattage dictated by my current speakers? Something in the Denon or Pioneer range, maybe?