Yamaha AV59 and Dolby Digital?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Sleeper, Dec 23, 2006.

Tags:
  1. Sleeper

    Sleeper
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    119
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2
    Right,

    I just purchased the Yamaha AV59, but seem to be having some issues coming to terms on whether DD is being played back from my DVDs.

    I have my Samsung HD860 connected to it via optical and have it, but when I play back a DVD with a Dolby Digital soundtrack the Yamaha doesnt seem to think it is Dolby Digital, and only represents it on its display as PCM Dolby Prologic II.

    Am I being a complete prat or am I missing something, I must of read the manual 30 times looking for an answer, but it just says if the Input type is set to Auto the reciever with choose the correct decoder.

    Would really appreciated some guidence.

    Cheers
     
  2. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,922
    Check what your player is outputting in the settings :smashin:
     
  3. Sleeper

    Sleeper
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    119
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2
    doh! it was set to PCM instead of Bitstream.. cheers!
     
  4. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,922
    :rotfl:

    You answered it yourself in your original post.

    Glad you're sorted. Enjoy :thumbsup:
     
  5. Horseus

    Horseus
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    240
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hartlepool
    Ratings:
    +9
    I was thinking of buying one of these after xmas...what do you think of its performance??

    Thanx
     
  6. Sleeper

    Sleeper
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    119
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2
    so far, ive been very impressed by it, well worth the 215notes I paid for it :D
     
  7. Darv

    Darv
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've also just got the same AV Reciever and am having a similar problem. I have it connected to my Philips 5960 DVD player with a coaxial cable. The DVD player is connected straight to the TV with an HDMI cable.

    When I set the Amp to the right input I get sound but not in Dolby Digital. If I change the TV from HDMI to any other source, the sound suddenly turns into DD. I've tried messing with the settings on the DVD player but can't seem to get it to work.

    Anyone got any ideas?? :confused:
     
  8. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,922
    It sounds like you need to assign the input on your amp when in the DVD setting.
     
  9. Darv

    Darv
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's set up for the coaxial input and the sound comes through. It's just not in DD.
     
  10. fizl

    fizl
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,164
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Not in London
    Ratings:
    +460
    CAn you tell the dvd player what to output? It may be doing the same as the guy at the start

    Shaz
     
  11. Darv

    Darv
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The only options are: Off, All and PCM. I only get sound when it's set to All but it's still not Dolby Digital.
     
  12. thetonyclifton

    thetonyclifton
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    61
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    I just got the av59 pack for christmas as my first surround system and have no idea whether I set it up properly or not. At the minute I have only connected my xbox360 via optical cable...(the 360 is connected to my tv via vga).

    What settings should I have the amp set to, everything seems to be working and sounds ok to me but I have nothing to compare it to :rolleyes:

    What is the difference between 'standard' (seems to be dolby digital) and '5ch stereo' as some of the games seem to sound better in the 5ch stereo setting.

    I have litearlly just set this thing up and am still fiddling around with it, but any guidance to a complete newcomer to surround would be greatly appreciated...this might be difficult as the poster (me) doesnt even know if they have a problem that needs a solution.....how embarassing!
     
  13. glumpers

    glumpers
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm in the same boat mate.Sometimes i love it,other times :eek:
     
  14. thetonyclifton

    thetonyclifton
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    61
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    Can anyone explain the difference between 'standard' and '5ch stereo'? And help with the best settings please.

    My room is small
    Front two speaker are right beside the tv,
    Centre speaker is below the tv
    Subwoofer is about 4 foot to the right
    Rear speakers are either side of the sofa at ear level
     
  15. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,922
    Standard will be either ProLogic II, if you're using a stereo input (normal telly etc) or Dolby Digital/DTS if you're using that type of input (DVD, SkyHD etc).

    5 Ch stereo is exactly what it sounds like, the rears are exactly the same as the fronts, as opposed to DD where all the channels are independent.

    Make sure in the setup that all speakers are set to small. and LFE is set to sub.
    TBH, it should tell you all this in the manual.
    Not sure if that amp has a test tone (I think it has) but use that to make sure all the speakers sound the same. You should consider getting a SPL meter, really, it's very difficult with your ears.
     
  16. thetonyclifton

    thetonyclifton
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    61
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    I have been fiddling around and managed to sort myself out I think.

    I figured thats what '5ch stereo' was, but cant think of a reason why you would want to use that setting (??)

    The right rear was a bit low but I have sorted that out now.

    Probably does say this in the manual, (which I always read), but I can just never concentrate on this type of information on a printed page, really need it in ordinary english....might be mild dyslexia.

    I presume LFE stands fot low frequency..something or other?

    Thanks for your help badger, much appreciated.


     
  17. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,922
    I know what you mean about the manual, it's very easy to get information overload. Best advice is to read a bit at a time, IMO, as there are tons of features you probably won't know about.
    I actually listen to my music in 5 Ch stereo, I love the more ambient sound, but most audiophiles would class me as a heathen :rotfl:

    I forgot to say, experiment with the crossover, it can make a massive difference.
    Also experiment where you place the sub if you can, even moving it a few inches can make a massive difference.

    Good luck :smashin:

    PS LFE = low frequency effects
     
  18. thetonyclifton

    thetonyclifton
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    61
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    With further fiddling, I do like 5 channel stereo for some sources, eg football/sports games, I think this may be because they havent really put much effort into the background noises (those playing through the rear speakers are limited to general crowd noises which arent really effected by onscreen activity).

    Obviously when compared to a game like FEAR with small evil children whispering in your ear, I wouldnt consider touching the 5ch stereo button.

    So far Pro logic doesnt really make much impact for normal television.

    Badger I dont know what crossover is.

    I have tried to move the sub a little, but in the this particular room my options are very limited.
     
  19. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,922
    The crossover is the frequency where the fronts and surrounds drop off and the sub takes over.
    In the setup, you should have the facility to change it. A good starting point is 80hz but you may find higher numbers work better.
    Again, it's all experimentation.
    Keep fiddling :smashin:
     
  20. Geege

    Geege
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,974
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +430
    Hi folks,

    I'm reading this thread with interest (see my thread on the AV59 too). I love the little speakers as my lounge room is small (4.5m x 3.5m)

    How has everyone got their AV sources connected? What is the best way (for sound and picture quality and/or convenience) to connect the amp up?? Where do all the cables go.

    I have a HDTV
    DVD recorder
    SKY HD
    and Sony PS2

    (intend to buy Sony PS3 next year)
     
  21. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,922
    I use my amp for sound only. Everything is directly connected. It's a pain, remote-wise, but the best way for me, minimal connections.
     
  22. warmy18

    warmy18
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just purchased one of these too and have to say that for the price it's the bomb.

    i'm not exactly a pro so would be nice to hear what setting you guys are using?

    mine =

    Bass +4
    treble +6

    Room = medium

    Sub volume nearly full

    Mark
     
  23. Steve-O 2007

    Steve-O 2007
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    198
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    Will be setting mine up on the weekend... cant wait :).. had a quick go it seems great for the price :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...