Yamaha Amp cutting out HELP Please

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by veedubba, Mar 14, 2006.

Tags:
  1. veedubba

    veedubba
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    40
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Having upgraded my speakers to MS Genies when I now crank the volume up on the yamaha (above -15 db) the amp cuts out with a speaker cable error message. Is this an amp problem or a speaker problem. Just 2 DB lower cures the problem. Would an amp upgrade cure this as Im only running a slimline RX SL 80 Yamaha and am tempted to splash out on a 757 which seems to be excellently priced at the mo. By the way the speakers are rated 4 to 8 ohms so where should amp switch be and will this cause any such symptom?

    Thanks in anticipation

    Steve
     
  2. hermanmunster

    hermanmunster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Somewhere sunny and warm...I wish
    Ratings:
    +24
    The amp should be set at 4 Ohms, this ought to cure your problem too.
     
  3. clarky78

    clarky78
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,918
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    Ratings:
    +43
    I had this exact problem the other week with my new IQ7's.

    The amp switched back on straight away but 1 IQ7 was buggered and had to be warrantied..!
     
  4. veedubba

    veedubba
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    40
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    IQ7??? sorry to be ignorant but as a newbie Im lost.

    Cheers
     
  5. veedubba

    veedubba
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    40
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    sorry clarky wasnt with it there, it was a speaker fault. Same here the amp switches straight back on too.

    Chhers for the reply
     

Share This Page

Loading...