Yamaha A-S1100/2100 vs Marantz PM-KI Ruby

Lovechild59

Standard Member
Hello all, I’m after a bit of advice regarding upgrading my integrated amp.

Current set up is:

Yamaha RX-A3080
Cambridge Audio Topaz SR20
Monitor Audio RX2 - Fronts
Monitor Audio C350 - Centre
Monitor Audio RXFX - Rears
BK P12-300SB-PR

The SR20 powers the F/L/R RX2’s for films and runs independently for listening to music. It doesn’t have HT bypass or trigger, so I ran the calibration and have to turn on and set volume each time.

I have the sub connected to both the AVR (low level) for films and SR20 (high level Neutrik) for music.

Next on the upgrade list is the amp. I’ve been looking at Yamaha A-S1100/2100 (second hand) or an A-S1200 (new). It’s got HT bypass, trigger and spare channels so I can wire it up as per my current configuration. I have been keeping an eye on the second hand market for a couple of months and think I can get a decent second hand one at a reasonable price. I then saw the Marantz PM-KI Ruby is now discounted to £2kish and it’s thrown a spanner in the works.

Can anyone offer any feedback on the Marantz? Can I connect my sub to it for music? With no spare channels, can I connect to an in use channel? (sorry, this is probably a stupid question). I read somewhere that someone auditioned a PM8006, and switching between AVR and music use wasn’t as convenient as it could be. Does the Yamaha do anything that the Marantz doesn’t? No trigger on the Marantz, I believe.

I’m pretty sure the Yamaha will do everything I need, but needs scouring here and ebay for what I want. The Marantz will be an easy, brand new purchase. I won’t bother to audition either. My research seems to point that both are very good amps and not unsuited to my speakers……which will probably be next on the list.

Any help/feedback appreciated.

Geo2112