Yam RX-V650 config

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by jaymz, Nov 8, 2005.

  1. jaymz

    jaymz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,015
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Sunny Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +60
    Before i started watching Return of the Sith i went through the THX audio setup. This ran through no problems and all speakers responded correctly, including my rears (MA BFXs) for surround and back speakers (e.g. 7.1).

    However when i go to play the movie the amp selects Dolby EX for a split second and all icons on the front panel light up for EX (L,R,C,LFE,SL,SB,SR) but it then goes to Dolby Std and the SB icon turns off.

    I am confused why the amp plays the THX test ok and selects EX but not when playing the movie?

    During my random button pressing to try and get this to work I turned on Speaker A (this is normally unselected) i got a distinct boast in sound quality and presence. Should this be normally selected (the speakers work with it selected but not when Speaker B is selected as there are no speakers connected)
     
  2. Cable Monkey

    Cable Monkey
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    3,494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +205
    My understanding is the Sith DVD does not have EX flagged? It needs to be switched on manually...
     
  3. jaymz

    jaymz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,015
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Sunny Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +60
    I assume this means there is no header in the bit stream to automatically tell the amp to change to this mode, interestingly when i cycled through the amp surround modes EX was not available (i think it is normally though)?
     
  4. Dfour

    Dfour
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4,091
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Bracknell
    Ratings:
    +86
    Just turn on pl2x and that will do it.
     
  5. jaymz

    jaymz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,015
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Sunny Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +60
    ok will try tonight but isnt pl2x different to DD EX?
     
  6. jaymz

    jaymz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,015
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Sunny Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +60
    Sorry was not able to try, my nephew had been round and "borrowed" the disks!

    Now that i have it back.......

    When i cycle through the input options i do not get pl, pl2x but i do when i put in a movie recorded in stereo?

    I have also tried Attack of the clones and the amp does not give me the DD EX option or pl or pl2x but i am not sure when the audio is on this disk.

    Any other ideas?
     

Share This Page

Loading...